We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Le Castellas

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Esperaza, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea264...
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This vila is amazing, the best we've stayed in. Recently refurbished to a very high standard with all mod cons including HD TV, Sky, WiFi and even a phone you can use to ring landlines back home, the owner really has thought of everything. Lovely pool too together with table tennis table which got plenty of use by our two teenagers. The area is fabulous also with many places of interest to visit, we were certainly never bored. I thoroughly recommend this villa and we will certainly be going back.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accommodation and pool
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This Villa is very tastefully furnished,and each room ticks all the boxes for a comfy carefree holiday. It is situated in a great area - not overlooked - with lovely large outside terraces together with sun beds, eating areas and of course a great pool.

Each bedroom has the comfiest of beds and they all have their own balcony.

Having recently spent a holiday here I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this property and in the words of Tina Turner ...........It is Simply the Best

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbieben...
Hingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in a lovely location”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had an amazing family holiday with nine of us staying at Le Castellas in Esperaza. The property was ideal for a large group with a two bedroom gite downstairs and three bedroom property above, with adjoining door if needed. The property had amazing facilities and lovely private pool area with great views and which was finished to a high standard. The weather was hot throughout our stay but shade was available around the pool with a covered pergola and parasols provided.

The sleepy village of Esperaza and had a relaxed atmosphere with everything we needed. The Sunday morning market is very good and not to be missed. Also the creperie in the village was very good value for money. We ate without the children at the Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse restaurant with its lovely courtyard which we highly recommend.

Cite de Carcassonne is a must and well worth visiting both during the day and night time with plenty of places to enjoy an evening meal. We were fortunate enough to spend an evening in Quillian, the next village watching an amazing show and concert by Jean Ribul Orchestra. The nearby village of Rennes-les-Baines is a breath taking village brimming with history and its natural hot springs are also well worth a visit. Days out included the waterpark at St Cyprien and nearby beach. We plan a return visit to Le Castellas in the future.

Date of stay: August 2013
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location of the villa for sightseeing and the facilities at the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well appointed for touring area”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We found a well appointed villa, well presented, very comfortable and to a high standard of renovation by owner. The villa has lovely views,being set on the hillside above the village.

We enjoyed Visits to Carcassonne, a fine medieval City with plenty of restaurants and shops, also surrounding towns and places of interest. There is a large Sunday market nearby where we were delighted to find crafts, local produce and antique/flea market.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday here and there is an option of additional rooms for larger groups.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Al fresco dining beside the pool
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABMDracht...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well renovated comfortable villa”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Le Castellas is a very complete villa with all of the home comforts. The pool was excellent and the bedrooms and living area aswell as the bathrom furnished to a high standard.
The only criticism is outside sitting area near the pool and pergola. The plastic chairs and loungers and chairs were not comfortable and there were not enough cushions or parasols to sit comfortably In the shade. The pergola was also not covered with a prroper auning which made it very hot to sit under.
Generally the villa is excellent for a family.
The neighbourshood was quite noisy due to teenages further up on mopeds and the road is audibke from the villa. We also had the bad fortune that the 2 weeks we were there the council decided to repair the road and out in new pipes, so we were awoken early in the morning by the sound of tipper trucks and neumatic drills.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimmimgpool.
Liked least: The garden furniture and lack of parasols.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing