We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Views Around!”
Review of Franey Mountain

Franey Mountain
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Dingwall
Attraction details
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the Best Views Around!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I liked the view at the top....but the hike was a bit tiring - all uphill and a bit rocky and steep in places, BUT SO WORTH IT!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_mace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“the view is great”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Franey Mountain is a very steep hike for the first hour , it starts out with a nice wide path and slowly gets narrow and steep . There are some bridges and steps at the steepest points . The hike is very trying at first but once you make the summit and see the view it is all worth while . The walk back down is great traveling on an old access road . We saw a family of 5 partridge which were nice . It is defiantly worth the effort . It's very easily accessible and a must do if you are in the area .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fishingpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice hike”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Franey is one of the best hikes in the Cape Breton Highlands National Park. On this hike one reaches one of the highest points in the park which offers a great view. Hike the trail clockwise!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Martin_ZH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great vistas......worth the walk”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Franey is one of the highest points in the Highlands National Park. It offers a great view of the island including the entire Keltic Lodge/Highlands Links Golf Course. The trail is well kept, but has steep sections where stairs have been erected. There is an old fire access road that can make the trek a little easier, but you miss out on some of the views. An excellent day of sight seeing and hiking.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Franey Mountain”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The trail up Franey Mountain was a moderate climb but very enjoyable. We were the first people on the trail and after seeing some coyote scat we watched the woods as we climbed. Did not see coyote but after ascending to the overlook (rock outcropping overlooking Middle Head), we passed a swampy area and we saying how it was perfect moose habitat. Not 5 mins. down the trail we saw and heard a mama moose and her almost full grown calf about 50 yards off the trail. They ran out of sight but stopped right away because we didn't hear them for long. Saw lots of moose scat on the back loop going down. A very enjoyable hike.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franey Mountain also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Ingonish, Cape Breton Island
Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Franey Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing