We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding on Every Level”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My parents were visiting from Illinois and I wanted to take them and the kids - aged 4 and 6 - to see the Fall Colours in Cape Breton. A friend had recommended The Markland so I though I'd give it a try. Boy, am I glad I did. The whole experience was perfect - from the scenery, to the accommodations, to the food and the staff. i really could go on and on, but suffice it to say our evening was one of the nicest evenings we've spent anywhere and we WILL return.

This place has it figured out. the cottage we stayed in was clean, well appointed, comfortable and just rustic enough to add to the aura without being uncomfortable. The beachfront is one of the nicest I've been to in Nova Scotia (I moved here 8 years ago). The dinner was top-rate: fresh, local ingredients, great service, and they were VERY great with the kids. We felt welcome and relaxed the whole time.

Don't think twice about booking a stay here. You will not be disappointed.

Thanks, Markland, for a great introduction to Cape Breton beauty and hospitality.

Room Tip: We found Cabin 9 (a two bedroom with a pull-out sofa) to be PERFECT for 3 adults (Dad, Grandma and G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Traveled 3600 miles in 8 days to see the sights of Nova Scotia. The Markland was the highlight of our overnight accommodations as we prepared to check out the Cabot Trail. Our Inn Keeper was so welcoming and the evening meal she provided was some of the best food we ate during our travels. When I asked if the Mussels were local, she replied they came from the bay just outside of your window. We awoke the next morning to one of the most spectacular sun rises. A very special place! Salem, OH

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place of beauty to get away from it all this is your stop. No TV's, limited internet or phone service this place takes youback to when travel was not a connected experience. Our cottage overlooked the bay and the Sunrise was spectacular to behold. The room was clean, spacious with a great shower. We enjoyed the casual continental breakfast but chose to eat elsewhere even though they serve dinner by reservation. Come here, get away, relax.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chip1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Markland and had one of the cabins closest to the beach. Although we did not book the kitchen area in the building, we were told by Patterson when we arrived that we could use it. He was very helpful at check in and very friendly. The rooms are cabin style rooms and are comfortable, with a king sized bed and sofa. Everything was clean and what we had expected from previous reviews. The weather was perfect and the views of the ocean and surrounding hills and beaches beautiful. Great place to walk, perhaps swim in the summer months, or just sit and relax. The mosquitos did get a bit bad in the early evening, but that was the only negative thing that happened. We made a reservation at the restaurant and had a delicious meal of local trout. I would definitely stay here again if I was travelling in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed them and our stay at the Markland.

Room Tip: If just staying one night and you don't require a kitchen, ask for a room in one of the double c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimDebH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In the middle of a month-long tour of eastern Canada and New England, we stopped for three nights to relax at the Markland. The resort is right off the Cabot Trail and is an ideal base from which to explore the region. But the property itself is so lovely that you may be satisfied staying there the whole time Our one bedroom cabin was charming and well kept. While somewhat secluded, it had a nice view of the ocean and a porch from which to enjoy it. The nearby beach was largely deserted, and perfect for long walks or just reading a book. The dinners at the Markland were extraordinary and not overly priced. Their chef is a real star and a great asset to the experience. Overall, this was one of the highlights of our travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back to the States after staying at the Markland resort in Nova Scotia. This place is a find! It has close up views of the ocean and its own very private beach. Plus it has a fine restaurant for dinner. The menu is limited but all the food is superbly prepared. We stayed in the "rooms" as opposed to the cabins. We liked the "rooms" selection because of their closer proximity to the ocean and well as the lower price. The room was on the rustic side, but very spacious and pleasant, complete with a king bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilSedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in a cottage at the Markland during the first week of September. The property is well-situated with a long stretch of beach and ocean running along it. The beach is deserted and peaceful, and beautiful. Our best meals were the dinners we enjoyed at the Markland. The chef is A plus! Our cottage was comfy, lots of comfy pillows on the beds, and warm linens. Lots of storage space in the bedrooms. Staff were friendly and always helpful. An added bonus was "Sketch", the cat that lives at the property. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Equarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
14.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
54.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
57.5 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.6 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
17.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range: $77 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages Dingwall, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing