We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
DENVER
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Loved this spot”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The location is spectacularly beautiful and our cabin was lovely...reminded me of the cabins at the summer camp when I was a kid, only much nicer. I really liked that in addition to a comfy king size bed we had a sofa...sat there drinking a bottle of wine looking out on the water. We had dinner there too and everything was yummy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    74
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
75
168
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Key, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent only one night at The Markland, but we will be back longer next year. The views are incredible and with only the guests on the beach it is very private, sometimes there was no one on the beach but us. We stayed in the log room. It was a large comfortable room, no phone, or TV which is just what we like in a getaway. The property is amazing. Huge grassy field, at least a couple of acres that leads to a trail to the beach. Our pup loved it there as much as we did. Lots of ball throwing space and a long lovely beach to stroll. No big ocean waves the day we were there, just a gentle chop and great for swimming. The breakfast (which is included) is more like very good B&B fare. Fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, home made muesli and much more. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent 5 nights in a two bedroom cabin at The Markland. Cabins were clean and well maintained, and the views from the property are awesome! The office staff was very helpful in anything we asked, including making calls for us when our US based cell phones didn't work.The Markland is a great place as home base when exploring the northern parts of Cape Breton. We did several day trips, kayaked, and took a whale tour in the area. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for either the one or two bedroom self-standing cabins as opposed to the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a spacious site. The cabins are around the perimeter of a large grassy area adjacent to the private beach with golden sand. We used a 1 bedroom cottage (#13), which comprised a bedroom, bathroom and kitchen/lounge, with a covered veranda. The kitchen included a full oven, fridge/freezer, microwave and a selection of cutlery, crockery and other kitchen utensils.
The bedroom was a good size and the bed was very comfy, with good quality bedding and linen. The whole cabin was very clean and tidy.
I personally prefer more volume in a shower but this shower over the bath was more than satisfactory.
The restaurant is lovely, the menu was interesting and not over-priced and the service was excellent. Likewise, the inclusive breakfast was very nice.
We didn't use the small pool but it looked very clean.
Overall, this is a splendid place to stay and is well managed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruneler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Cabins have a comfortable bedroom, bath, small kitchenette, couch and a porch. It's a short walk to the isolated beach. Very cozy and good value for the money. We had an excellent dinner here. (I've never seen a strip steak priced below the chicken breast, and the steak was quite good.) The breakfast choices were not so good, with only hard boiled eggs the only hot option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

They resort has great potential, beautiful setting, great beach, everything is set up well, however whoever they have hired to fix things, should be fired, everywhere you look you can see signs of neglect. We booked a one bedroom cabin, #4 cute cabin, with modern amenities, vaulted ceilings, living room area is really small, as is the dining area, table only has two chairs and then to make more room, one is located in the bedroom and one near the living area. You can literally see right thru to the outside from the exterior door of the cabin, a good two inches or more on the bottom left and an inch or more on top right , the door needs to be removed and properly installed, we stuffed beach towels under the door, so we could rest peacefully without the scare of creepy crawling visitors making their way into the cabin ( mice, snakes, bats, and bugs, etc) on top of that the bathroom door didn't properly lock, so with 2 adults and 2 children in the cabin, we had to constantly remind everyone that the washroom was in use. The pullout sofa was very uncomfortable and had sticky gluey stuff on the blankets, uncertain as to what it was but regardless, for what you pay ( $180/night) should not have had to deal with this. The bed was comfortable and overall the cottage was clean, and well equipped, the staff was friendly ,the complimentarty breakfast was actually good , so overall not the worst stay , but have definitely had better, room for improvement, but has the potential to be a great spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Recently my sister got married at the Markland Resort. It was an outdoor wedding and the views were second to none. I have travelled to many beautiful places in the world and this location would have been on the top of the list for its spectacular view. The staff were very accommodating. The rooms and cabins were very clean and the beds were amazing! Although there is a rustic feel to the rooms and cabins the linens make it feel luxurious. The food was catered by the restaurant and it was delicious. I can't imagine a more perfect place for a wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doncin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
57.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
632 reviews
54.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
55.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
36.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
14.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Property: The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages Dingwall, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing