We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, remote location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great, remote location”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Beautiful location literally at the end of the road near an isolated beach. We watched a bald eagle picking at a dead seal on the beach. Log room was fairly rustic, plumbing was a little anemic, hard to find someone at the front desk, breakfast was ok. Good place for a one night stop on a trip around the Cabot Trail, but I'm not sure I'd like to spend a lot of time there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    74
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
74
168
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I booked this sight unseen on the Internet, and was not sure what to expect. We were winners - the location was beautiful, the cottage immaculate, and the staff super friendly - no one could have asked for more. Towels and bedding were the equivalent of those in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Markland for 2 nights with our two kids ages 1 and 3. We can't express enough how satisfying our stay was. The staff were friendly and our kids had a great time playing on the beach and doing a scavenger hunt with the baby sitters on hand. My wife and I immensely enjoyed the food and servers in the rustic dinning room. Everything was done very professionally but maintained the personal touches expected in smaller resorts. The beds were very comfortable and our kids slept without problems, which is unusual in foreign environments, but it made for our sleeps to be great as well. We would highly recommend the Markland.

Room Tip: Stay in a 2 bedroom if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early July and were very pleased with this rustic resort. There are no tv's in the rooms, but we knew this going in and wern't suprised. New very comfortable beds made our stay that much more enjoyable. It's so quiet and peaceful up there that we slept really well. The cabins are very basic but all you need for a few days. The only annoyance was that the wifi that was promoised did not work in our cabin. The place is under new ownership and they said they are working on running cable to all the cabins, but it is a process. This is a special place since it is run by an extended family and the staff is extremely pleasant and welcoming. The food was excellent! My husband had the seafood chowder and seafood pasta which he said were very good. I am a vegetarian and though they didn't have any vegetarian main courses listed they were very accomodating and made me a delicious pasta dish. The second night we made our own meal in the tiny kitchen in our cabin, which worked well too. The pool was basic but very warm and our daughter enjoyed it. They did a kids activity with our daughter for an hour that she loved. All in all a great experience. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask when booking to have a room where the wifi works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanMaryScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of 4 recently stayed at the Markland during a 1 week tour of the Highlands National Park. Absolutely magnificent location and Kim was so wonderfully helpful and hospitable. We had a very challenging 2 days of travel to get there (closed airports, storms, flat tires) and when we arrived late, they kept the restaurant open for us so we could have dinner and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine to "take the edge off"! The cabins are well equipped and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in outside of my own (this includes all the expensive hotel chains!)! Brand new sofas, duvets, sheets, etc. Centrally located for exploring the National Park. They also have a close relationship with a local tour guide, Dennis Doyon with Sea Spray Outdoor Adventures, who I would highly recommend. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Visited in July 2012 for a couple of nights.The log cabin rooms are very nice with good quality linens and furniture. The revitalized kitchen has very good quality food and oh so fresh produce. But the views from the log cabins are fantastic. Marvelous seascapes - beach and pond in one direction, beach and cliffs in the other. We would have stayed longer if we could.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a couple of nights mid June in a cabin at Marklands on our way around the Cape. There is such a nice feel to this place that we wished we could have lingered longer. We ate at their restaurant on both nights and enjoyed superb fresh seafood.
Kym, the manager is a real gem. Her genuine cheery nature and friendliness made us feel so welcome and comfortable there.
The linen and beds are superb. It is a good base to explore surrounding areas and the beachfront location provides the option of some nice long walks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rousmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
57.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
631 reviews
54.1 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
55.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
36.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
14.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Property: The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages Dingwall, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing