We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Great!! The service was top notch. The food was excellent and the chefs went out of there way to make vegetarian food for my wife...which was absolutely awesome. The locationis stunning. The pricing was very reasonable. Highly recommended. Overall, very great experience. I did not come to Cape Breton to watch TV, so all the whinners about no TV...stay at home if you want to watch TV..Cape Breton is beautiful... no TV necessary.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funkycheesywhiteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    71
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
67
162
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We've been going to the Markland for 37 years and it has gone through ups and downs.
It was recently sold, and the new owners are making a serious attempt to maintain the high standards.
The new management is competent, friendly and efficient and the rooms are being renovated. They are very comfortable and well equipped.
The restaurant has re-opened after some years closure and the quality of the dinner and breakfast was very high. The menu is limited and the prices are low for the quality presented.
This is our favourite place in the world and we are very pleased that it is re-vitalized and as beautiful as ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XavierNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

If you do have the time an chance to stay there do not hesitate. We would have loved to stay not only for one night.
We had a Log Room with direct sea view. It was very quiet, the room was great and there was a wonderfull sunrise the next morning.
The dinner was very good.
Even if we are not the breakfast "people" unfortunately the breakfast was not the best we had. It was ok but nothing special.

Room Tip: log room, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pokeZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We did not stay at the Markland (we stayed at a B&B in
Dingwall) but had dinner twice at the restaurant here. The seafood was absoulutely fresh (local halibut) and expertly prepared. Pleasant wait staff and views of the ocean made it a relaxing time. There is a wine list with some acceptable wines for your dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bede2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked our trip last minute but the Markland was able to accomodate us. We booked a 1 bedroom log cabin. It did take us a bit to get to it since it is not right on the Cabot trail. However, it is clean with a complete kitchen with a fridge. The cabins are all nestled in the woods so they are private and quiet. You face the ocean every day and can walk to a pebbly beach. They serve a continental breakfast with fresh croissants. The restaurant is a gem for dinner and serve fresh and well thought out dishes. The wi-fi service is a bit spotty, but we manage to get our laptop working.

Room Tip: The log cabin will get you the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having read that the Markland was under new management, we decided to return to what used to be one of our favorite places (until the previous owner thought subdividing the ocean front land into condos was a good idea!). Returning reminded us of what an incredibly gorgeous piece of the planet the Markland occupies. Don't miss the short (20 mins) drive to Cabot's Landing Provinical Park where 4 miles of red sand, blue ocean and lush green hills awaits to restore your soul -- it's just as amazing as the photos. The Markland is a place to relax -- nothing fancy and at this point, no TV which provides a welcome break from the daily diet of doom and gloom. Rather, the rooms are simple pine walled and floored, the beaches devoid of anything nature does not put there, and the meals wonderfully fresh and straight from the land and the ocean. Our only negative was that they were out of the wine we wanted -- hardly a problem. So, if you like the combination of rugged natural beauty and casual gourmet dining, and you want to relax, this is the perfect spot. Enroute, enjoy a meal at the Main Street Bakery and Restaurant in Ingonish Beach -- fabulous food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Markland was a gem in the north of Cape Breton for years, but fell into steep
decline under the previous owner. Am delighted to say it was taken over in July and while
there is still much to be done to rehabilitate it, it's on the right track. The dining room is open again and the new chef is great - we had a seafood chowder that was maybe the best thing I've ever eaten anywhere. He's sourcing ingredients from the organic farm about 500 m away - so nice to see. The setting remains spectacular, our cabin was a bit worn down but spotlessly clean and comfortable and silent and had a lovely view. We took a long walk on the beach, saw the fog drift in, watched a heron fishing in the estuary, swam in the morning when the sun was up. The new management is friendly and hospitable and helpful. Our too-brief stay here was the highlight of a five-week trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
14.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
57.4 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
587 reviews
17.1 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Cottages and Motel
29.6 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
174 reviews
36.6 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Property: The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages Dingwall, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing