We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, skilled chef`” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, skilled chef`”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We did not stay at the Markland (we stayed at a B&B in
Dingwall) but had dinner twice at the restaurant here. The seafood was absoulutely fresh (local halibut) and expertly prepared. Pleasant wait staff and views of the ocean made it a relaxing time. There is a wine list with some acceptable wines for your dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bede2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    68
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
64
158
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We booked our trip last minute but the Markland was able to accomodate us. We booked a 1 bedroom log cabin. It did take us a bit to get to it since it is not right on the Cabot trail. However, it is clean with a complete kitchen with a fridge. The cabins are all nestled in the woods so they are private and quiet. You face the ocean every day and can walk to a pebbly beach. They serve a continental breakfast with fresh croissants. The restaurant is a gem for dinner and serve fresh and well thought out dishes. The wi-fi service is a bit spotty, but we manage to get our laptop working.

Room Tip: The log cabin will get you the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Having read that the Markland was under new management, we decided to return to what used to be one of our favorite places (until the previous owner thought subdividing the ocean front land into condos was a good idea!). Returning reminded us of what an incredibly gorgeous piece of the planet the Markland occupies. Don't miss the short (20 mins) drive to Cabot's Landing Provinical Park where 4 miles of red sand, blue ocean and lush green hills awaits to restore your soul -- it's just as amazing as the photos. The Markland is a place to relax -- nothing fancy and at this point, no TV which provides a welcome break from the daily diet of doom and gloom. Rather, the rooms are simple pine walled and floored, the beaches devoid of anything nature does not put there, and the meals wonderfully fresh and straight from the land and the ocean. Our only negative was that they were out of the wine we wanted -- hardly a problem. So, if you like the combination of rugged natural beauty and casual gourmet dining, and you want to relax, this is the perfect spot. Enroute, enjoy a meal at the Main Street Bakery and Restaurant in Ingonish Beach -- fabulous food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novascotiakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Markland was a gem in the north of Cape Breton for years, but fell into steep
decline under the previous owner. Am delighted to say it was taken over in July and while
there is still much to be done to rehabilitate it, it's on the right track. The dining room is open again and the new chef is great - we had a seafood chowder that was maybe the best thing I've ever eaten anywhere. He's sourcing ingredients from the organic farm about 500 m away - so nice to see. The setting remains spectacular, our cabin was a bit worn down but spotlessly clean and comfortable and silent and had a lovely view. We took a long walk on the beach, saw the fog drift in, watched a heron fishing in the estuary, swam in the morning when the sun was up. The new management is friendly and hospitable and helpful. Our too-brief stay here was the highlight of a five-week trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent a week at The Markland this summer. It was a wonderful experience. We found the cabins clean and comfortable, a lovely country inn right on the edge of the ocean. The resort served delicious dinners each evening and good continental breakfasts each morning. The grounds and beach were beautiful. Staff was knowledgeabe, friendly and courteous. We will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank windblowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed at Markland for one night as we were passing through the area in one of their hotel-type rooms. It was a beautiful room with a great view of the water with our own private deck partitioned off from our neighbors. It felt very private. The room was clean and it had a tub (great if you have kids who need a bath after playing on the beach). There was a king bed and a fold out sofa. Very comfortable.
There is a restaurant which I found to be a bit pricey and there was no lobster which is still readily available at other restaurants, but the meals we had were good. The continental breakfast was also good with toast, hard-boiled eggs croissants and muffins.
I enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We drove the Cabot Trail and decided to make our stop in Cape North. The resort looked nice on the internet. We were pleased to pull up to the lovely place we saw on line. Our cabin faced the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable. The manager, Kim, made us feel welcome and appeared to work hard to accomodate all the guests. The provided breakfasts were buffet style and pretty good. We ate dinner at the Markland resort on th last night, as we saw it was a recommended restaurent on where to dine in Nova Scotia. the meal was fantastic. We had halibut that was so fresh, and mussels from the Aspy Bay that we were looking at as we dined. We finished with a housemade chocolate cheese cake. We had a great time at this resort and would recommed this for both a stay and a great well prepared local meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
14.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
57.6 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
71.7 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
36.7 mi away
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages

Property: The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages
Address: 802 Dingwall Road | P.O. Box 47, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Markland Coastal Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dingwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
The Markland Coastal Hotel Dingwall
Markland Coastal Resort
The Markland Coastal Beach Cottages Dingwall, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing