We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Castellane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff were very helpful, rooms big with good bathroom. Nice balcony looking onto the pool although weather wasn't warm enough to test it out! Hotel is on main square and has its own private parking. Plenty of comfortable seating in public areas. Good location to explore the fabulous gorges du Verdon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodlover597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 232 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. The common areas are nicely furnished and the pool area has obviously just been completed as it is pristine. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and delicious. The bed was comfortable and the village is quiet so we slept very well. On the negative side, our room was a bit shabby. The carpet needed changing. Paint was peeling off the ceiling. Furniture was dated. It gave me the impression that they are in the process of upgrading, which is a plus. All in all, for the money it is a good hotel. The hike up to the little church on the top of the cliff is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had stayed here back in 2011 and we liked it then but now after the renovations made it deserves the best review, all the nice decorations, the comfortable rooms, the refreshing wonderful designed pool and the sitting area around it just can't be beaten, to top it up the breakfast was fantastic everything you can think of you want to eat in the morning, they had it but the best of all was Madame Patrice and all her staff always helpful and kind. Merci beaucoup! We will be back next year! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabriolaCycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed her for 2 nights when visiting the Gorge du Verdon and found it perfect in every way. For a reasonable price you get a lovely, quiet, clean, comfortable and spacious bedroom and bathroom. The breakfast is brilliant - much choice and all very good quality with more quantity that you could possibly eat. The location is ideal being just off the main square which is full of restaurants and has a lively market. The secure car park was appreciated. The garden is lovely and the pool area delightful. The owner is charming and the staff very helpful. We can thoroughly recommend it and will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the old part of the hotel and it was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueandaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place to stay in Castellane, very good location, nice hotel
Comfortable & clean with a good buffet breakfast. The buffet breakfast is well worth the 14 euro (if you like a big breakfast)
Castellane is a small village and this hotel is probably the best in town.
Very good place to visit Gorge du Verdon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dona-Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a lovely little provencal hotel. The decor was old-fashioned but charming and the rooms were spacious, clean, and the bathrooms looked newly renovated. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Also, do not be alarmed by the 7PM closed reception hours - they only list that as a "reference" hour and if you call and let them know that you'll be arriving later they will be open and waiting for you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We planned to spend 2 nights in castellane to visit the "gorges du verdon" river. we checked in at Nouvel Hotel du Commerce the 21st and got room Nr. 18. The entrance of the hotel is renovated and quite modern, proper and nice. Unfortunately, the back part of the hotel (dining room, lounge) is old, dirty and not up to date. However, after all, we got the keys to our hotel room and this is the worst and most disgusting thing we have ever seen (and smelled): the room smelled as people were smoking in it a lot. As my wife is pregnant, we went down to the reception to ask if we could get another room. The passenger list at the desk clearly showed that not all rooms were booked, so no big deal. After a few seconds, the directors lady showed up and we explained that we could not spend 2 nights in a smokey room for the reasons above. The only answer we got was: "this is a non-smoker hotel, if previous guests do not respect the law, this is not our (the hotels) problem". We tried again to explain (pregnancy and so on and so forth) but the lady was not even willing to listen and was very rude. She was also not willing to see the room to face the problem. To the questions if there might be another room, she only answered: "I don't think so". Finally, we took our luggage and drove back to côte d'azur where we had a blast the 10 days beforde and as well the 2 nights instead (see our other hotel comments, some where super-great).

Finally, we never, ever made such an experience and we highly DO NOT recommend this hotel. We would rather sleep outside or in the car.

cheers!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sahara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellane
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#5 of 8 in Castellane
140 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Auberge du Teillon
Auberge du Teillon
#2 of 8 in Castellane
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Ma Petite Auberge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Canyons du Verdon
6.8 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel du Commerce

Address: Place Marcel Sauvaire, 04120 Castellane, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Castellane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Castellane
Price Range: $111 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nouvel Hotel du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Castellane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing