We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent garden but otherwise a pass”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castellane
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent garden but otherwise a pass”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I'm a bit surprised at all the rave reviews.

The good: the hotel has a huge lounge area, both inside and outside, several lounge chairs outside by which to enjoy a summer evening. Free, secure parking, in the centre of town. Many (if not all) of the rooms have small balconies, with views of the hilltop towns surrounding. The room was spacious enough. The showers had good water pressure.

The bad: no air conditioning. Perhaps I should have read this in the fine print before booking, but I somehow missed it. When I inquired, the reception desk sternly stated that 'we don't need it.' She was wrong. We were quite warm in our room. We couldn't leave the shutters open too much because of the light, bugs, and early morning birds. I awoke at least twice in the night as teenagers were leaving the local bars, and loudly making their way homes. The beds were 'european firm'.

While it wasn't awful, there might be better out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_girl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    90
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel has check in up until 7pm which we hadn't realised so phoned ahead to say we'd be arriving at 815 - the lady waited for us and was very welcoming so this gave us a good impression of the hotel from the start. The room was very large and clean with shutters at the window - lots of character although some bits of furniture were a bit dated. The hotel has a nice reception and restaurant area although we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. The hotel is the most attractive looking one in the main square so its got a great location. Castellane is lovely and surrounded by beautiful scenery - good for visiting gorges du verdon. We had one night there and went on to Moustiers Saint Marie. Castellane was lively as they had entertainment on in the square plus there are several restaurants to choose from. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. It also has free parking which is a bonus too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedqueen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Charming hotel, seems slightly old fashioned at first. However rooms are comfortable and the restaurant serves very good food for dinner. Staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I feel that the Trip advisor rating is well underrated. we had an excellant experience in the hotel. Room was large, clean, great beds & wonderful staff.
The location is excellent, we had a view of the Notre Dame from our widow, high up on the cliff fsce above us. would definety recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mechman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt am Main
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed one night at the hotel. Overall, the experience was fine but not outstanding. The room was big and comfortable. However, while it was not overly dirty, it could stand a thorough cleaning. Especially the bathroom which had spots of mold.

Biggest plus was dinner in the restaurant. 25 - 35 euro for a menu, without wine for good quality French cuisine.

Biggest minus was NO HOT WATER by 9:30 in the morning. It was so cold that neither my husband nor I could shower especially given it was hovering around 0-degress C the morning in question. When we mentioned this to the front desk, she did not seemed surprised and said she would call a repairman. I had the feeling it was an on-going problem in the colder weather and probably a small hot water tank for hotel's size.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiinfffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2009

a water activity town(rafting canoe...) a nice touristic place and a great base for touring the verdon region.
The Hotel was excelent ,staff very helpfull and friendly.
Very nice room with flat screen and wireless connection
Corky elevator
well located and with a small parking

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisndg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Good, solid hotel. Not over the top fancy, but we felt comfortable and the hotel was in a great location. It is in the middle of the small downtown, and not far from hiking and all sorts of outdoor sports.
The woman at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. In fact, all the staff was very friendly.
There was free parking in the lot behind the hotel, which was a big plus.
We had breakfast here both mornings (9 euro pp) which was pretty big for a small place, and they had tons of fruit, which made me happy.
The only thing that bothered me is that there was no shower curtain. I might have given the place a higher rating if I could have showered comfortably. It was a nice bathroom, but I am american and I need my curtain.
Our lonely planet also recommended this hotel and said it had been renovated in 06, which I have to say was true. They also gave the restaurant good recommendations, but it was unfortunately closed both nights we were there (Tues and Wed).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellane
1.9 mi away
Auberge du Teillon
Auberge du Teillon
#1 of 8 in Castellane
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#3 of 8 in Castellane
126 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
Hotel des Gorges du Verdon
#1 of 3 in La Palud sur Verdon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Ma Petite Auberge
0.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Canyons du Verdon
6.8 mi away
Chateau de Trigance
Chateau de Trigance
#1 of 2 in Trigance
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel du Commerce

Property: Nouvel Hotel du Commerce
Address: Place Marcel Sauvaire, 04120 Castellane, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Castellane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castellane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nouvel Hotel du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Castellane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing