We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Yourself a Favor: Stop Here”
Review of Finca Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Buena Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Las Lajas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Do Yourself a Favor: Stop Here”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Finca Buena Vista for two nights, en route to Boquete from Panama City. I recommend this stop for everyone making this trip; it's a GREAT way to break up the travels. Had we known in advance what we would experience as guests, more time would have been budgeted.

During our stay in July, the husband and wife owners were back in Germany, so their 23-year-old son, Sebastian, was our host. He was fantastic, going way out of his way to shuttle us around, arrange fishing, and prepare us great cocktails and exquisite breakfasts (see “BuenaVista was our Buena Fortuna!” review for breakfast details). He spoke excellent English and it was an absolute pleasure to chat with him.

The place itself is very new and absolutely beautiful, both in the actual construction and the tasteful decor. Throw in a quiet location with stunning views and you have the recipe for success. Did I mention the hot showers? We couldn't believe the bang we got for our buck.

Sebastian had to leave for an appointment before our departure, so an employee, I think her name was Mila?, breakfasted us and arranged a taxi back to San Felix. She was also an engaging sweetheart and made a real effort to make us comfortable and to ensure that we understood the details of the bus system and how to get along to Boquete.

As borderline budget travelers, the room at Buena Vista was the nicest in which we've ever stayed. The service was impeccable and the locale was stunning and serene. We miss it already. Cheers to Finca Buena Vista.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TKH2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
154
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Beautiful boutique B&B/hotel! Uwe, Berit and Mila doted on us. Rooms are very clean and fresh. View is gorgeous! The breakfast is amazing...fresh fruit, moles and wonderful coffee. We had only planned to stay one night en route to Boquete. We disliked the bustling pace and tourist-feel of Boquete, once there; so, we canceled our reservation in Boquete and drove back to Finca Buena Vista for one more night or relaxing solitude.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed with friends - four adults in two rooms. We were very pleased with the clean accommodations. Wonderful breakfast on our patio. The owners were so gracious and hospitable. It is quiet and serene, with awesome views of mountain ranges and only 10 minutes from one of the world's most beautiful beaches. In town are Italian and German restaurants. The entire experience was enjoyable and well worth the price!

Room Tip: If in country, call the owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddyvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We are just back from a wonderful 16-day trip through Pacific Panama. One of our objectives was to perform due diligence on an investment in mixed hardwood forest land. We chose to work through a company named ForestFinance which owns plantations around the small town of Las Lajas, which is located just over an hour west of Santiago (Panama’s third largest city).

Las Lajas is just “down the road” (8 km.) from the longest beach in Central America, 20km. of wonderful sand which is well over 100 meters wide at low tide. This is ranching country; on every hand one sees low-stress Brahman cattle contentedly grazing on rich pasture land.

We had asked about a place to stay in Las Lajas, and boy, did we ever hit the jackpot! Our contacts directed us to the Finca BuenaVista, just a few hundred meters from the main street in town. When we arrived, we thought we had died and gone to Heaven. (www.finca-buenavista-laslajas.com).

BuenaVista opened its doors in January 2010. Built and owned by a lovely German couple, Uwe and Berit Nebel, the Finca is built on the shoulder of a hill and faces northeast across country so beautiful it takes your breath away. Sitting on our patio the first morning at breakfast, we looked across hills covered by mist to the mountains on the horizon; without thinking, both of us blurted out: “It’s just like watching Out of Africa” (without Streep and Redford, of course).

Uwe owned a construction company in Germany, which accounts for the five-star-quality of the buildings at the Finca. Attention to detail and craftsmanship of the highest order are hallmarks of German building in general, and Uwe and Berit took great pains to insure that the buildings of BuenaVista were constructed in this tradition.

The rooms are huge by Panama hotel or B&B standards, about 30 square meters each. Some have lofts where a couple of kids can sleep. Each room is beautifully and tastefully appointed and so clean one could eat off of the floor.

Each room opens in back to a covered porch with The View facing the mountains; breakfast is served here, and it is awesome! High-test Panama coffee (grown just up the road in Boquete), fresh OJ, a plate of mixed local fruit (pineapple, papaya with limes), home-baked dark German bread, local jam and cold cuts, eggs “a tu gusto” and homemade cheese spreads – can we do this again, PLEASE???

The innkeepers are happy to arrange for local tours (fishing, boat tours, visits to indigenous Indian settlements in the mountains) or to provide a light snack in the evening (small extra charge). All this, and the price is right….you get five-star value for a two-star cost. Even though they have only been open this year, they are already more than half booked for 2011, so get in touch early. Las Lajas makes a wonderful way to break a driving trip from Panama City to the mountain hideouts of Volcan or Boquete (or vice-versa), so plan to spend a couple of days there and you will see the real, un-touristy part of this lovely country.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torio, Panama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Finca Buena Vista was recommended by a friend. Unfortunately we could only stay for one night but we felt like at home at this beautiful place and with the friendly and helpful owners. This is our first choice in Lajas.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giselajud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this charming little hotel for 4 nights ( during the rainy season) and totally enjoyed the experience. The room was very pretty and clean. We also enjoyed the daily euro- breakfasts on the patio, served to us by the very kind and friendly owner. The scenery was also very lovely and scenic. The pool was nice to refresh yourself in or to start the morning. The price was very affordable especially for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monika1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

My wife and I were traveling from the beach near San Carlos up to Boquete for a few days break from the heat at the beach. We discovered this truly wonderful hotel at Las Lajas left off the Pan American Hwy. What a find! Absolutely stunning views (therfore the name Buena Vista) the valley and surrounding hills. While this hotel is approx. 8 km from the beach (a short drive on a fully paved road) it provides a quiet and comfortable retreat from the world. Our hosts were attentive (I appoligize, I've forgetten their names - a nice German couple) and perpared the best breakfast we have had in Panama to date. The quality of the food and abundance was a very pleasant surprise. I could not say enought about the cleaniness of the rooms and the solitude made for a very restful and relaxing sleep. This is a great place to spend a night on the way to David or Boquete.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjanderson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Lajas
23.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 4 in Boca Chica
483 reviews
23.4 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 4 in Boca Chica
192 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Las Lajas Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Naturalmente Boutique Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
84 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio Tropical las Lajas
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio ...
#3 of 3 in Playa Las Lajas
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Buena Vista

Property: Finca Buena Vista
Address: Calle 12 de Octubre, Las Lajas 0446, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Las Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Finca Buena Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is situated on the outskirt of Las Lajas overlooking a beautiful valley and the mountains surrounding it. We strive to provide you with an unforgettable stay in our area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Finca Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Buena Vista Panama/Las Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing