We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful pleasure and excellent food”
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After two weeks of exploring western Panama my family needed a good rest before flying back home. We fell upon Coconut Lodge and could not have made a better choice! Coconut lodge is a little peace of paradise that I highly recommend. The staff is very helpful and professional in every way. Rooms are extremely comfortable and well kept. The food and service for meals are excellent! We enjoyed the beautiful garden, swimming pool, and general environment of this peaceful B&B. Nancy is most effecient for organizing transfers from one place to another and is extremely helpful to recommend outings of all sorts depending on the needs of her guests. Mike is a great chef and loves to share his passion for cooking! I would definately recommend Coconut Lodge to anyone in need of a few nights rest or to anyone spending there stay in Panama City for there vacation. Merci beaucoup Nancy et Mike (de Montréal)!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Coconut Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of the description: a ‘peace’ of paradise, comfortable rooms, professional staff, beautiful garden, excellent food and service. It was a pleasure to host your family on such a special day of the year and from such a special place. We hope one day you will be back. In the mean time, thank you for the following statement: “Coconut lodge is a little ‘peace’ of paradise that I highly recommend.” Merci beaucoup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 371 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I and our two kids just spent the last two days of our Panama vacation at the Coconut Lodge before flying out, and I must say that we had an incredibly positive experience staying at Nancy and Mike's beautiful little B&B.

The rooms (we had the little separate casita by the pool (Casa Bambu), and the room off the front garden (Coral Sereno)) were super clean, furnished nicely, and well stocked (stuff in the minibar, towels for bath and pool, etc. We loved the salt water pool and the peacefulness of the garden; it's like a little oasis, which is pretty nice after you've been doing tourist stuff in hot and noisy Panama City. My daughter spent hours playing with the three really friendly little dogs. Service in general was great, including the really good breakfast that was included, and the dinner (extra cost) we opted for one night. The property is a little bit to the north of the main (aka crowded) part of the city. It is very accessible and easy to get to the city and all the stuff in the immediate vicinity (canal, causeway, lake Gaton, the two airports, etc.) as long as you take advantage of the freeways (some toll, some free). If you try to use some of the surface roads it is probably going to take you pretty much longer, but that is probably true of almost anywhere in Panama City; traffic in the city really sucks, and I guess especially so now with all the construction... Nancy and Mike were super friendly and helpful, and you can tell they really enjoy doing what they do.

This was our second trip to Panama, each time staying in 4-5 separate locations and hotels/B&Bs. Anybody who has been to the country knows it's very beautiful and diverse, but service and cleanliness can be a bit of a mixed bag. Definitely you have to do your homework, and sometimes it still doesn't work out, or there is not much choice. It's a really satisfying experience when you run into a place like Coconut Lodge where there's really nothing negative you can say about the place... Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a larger family bookig a couple of rooms, be aware that Coral Sereno is a little bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Coconut Lodge for 3 nights while in Panama City and found it to be so pleasant! It was very clean and well kept, and the grounds were lush with flowers. The staff were extremely helpful, and provided convenient transportation and private tours. We ended up eating all of our meals at the lodge because the food was excellent, served in a small intimate outdoor room outdoor. Family owned and run, the Coconut Lodge has a really nice atmosphere, and we would recommend staying there to anyone who visits Panama City. Thanks Nancy and Mike!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 278terryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with TripAdvisor users and travelers. We appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness of the property and the beauty of the exotic flowers that surround the grounds of Coconut Lodge. We also appreciate the mention for the quality of the meals as well complimentary services. Most importantly though, we are very grateful for your concluding descriptive statement: “Family owned and run, the Coconut Lodge has a really nice atmosphere, and we would recommend staying there to anyone who visits Panama City.” You finish your review by thanking us, but really, we thank you for choosing Coconut Lodge and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

even though this b and b is technically "in the city," you are up in the hills away from the hustle and bustle and surrounded by lush nature. nancy and mike take care of you as if you were a family member. they accommodated our food needs, arranged local tours, and transported us when needed. the pool area is surrounded by a beautiful garden and a peaceful place to relax after a full day. nancy and mike could not have been more friendly and inviting and were extremely gracious hosts. our room was very comfortable and had a nice outdoor seating area overlooking the garden/pool. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your description of Coconut Lodge’s is very accurate and reflective of who we are and what we offer (both from a host and location perspective). We were really pleased to read that you were greeted as a family member. That is the way it should be. From our perspective, you were. So it was again great to read. Thank you for the compliments with regards to the garden and the comfort of your room. Lastly, we wish you all the best in your travels until we meet again because based on your concluding statement: “we would definitely stay here again”. So until next time we hope soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you have just arrived in Panama or you simply want to escape the traffic jungle of Panama City, this is the place to stay. Nancy is taking care of you as it would be your mom, helps you in any kind of logistic issues or trip organisation. In Coconut Lounge you will find the safe home, with great breakfast and diner (thanks Mike!) in a familiar ambience. We enjoied our 5 nights stay and would higly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tucan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking precious time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. Your opinion is very reflective of the experience you live at Coconut Lodge. Thank you especially for the beautiful words with regards to the care, the organisation, the meals, the safety and the ambiance. Last but not least, thank you for summing up what we offer and what can be expected as at Coconut Lodge:
“If you have just arrived in Panama or you simply want to escape the traffic jungle of Panama City, this is the place to stay.” This is the best way to describe Coconut Lodge. Hope you will be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Home away from home feeling! Lush surroundings!! Staff was very nice & helpful! Location was really close to most sites that we chose to do. Transportation staff were extremely safe drivers & very nice. Terrific chef "MIKE" & great menu!! Nancy & Mike have a great little piece of Paradise!!

Room Tip: Very friendly & most helpful during our stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback on the services and the ambiance. Most importantly, thank you for your opening statement as that is the lasting impression of Coconut Lodge we wish guests to leave with ..:. a “Home away from home feeling!” We hope we will be able to greet you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I always check TripAdvisor for reviews before staying at a hotel or bed-and-breakfast. I chose the Coconut Lodge because it had excellent reviews. The reviews were correct. I found the food exceptional, the room large and very comfortable, the staff outstanding, and the owners very helpful.

The Lodge is in a very beautiful area with lush vegetation. Is a great place to relax. I will definitely stay at the coconut Lodge on my next trip to Panama City.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Casa Bambu which is a stand-alone building.by the pool. Although I didn't see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirdaleUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

First, we are pleased that you, as well as many travelers worldwide, have placed your trust in TripAdvisor as an objective source of travel information. We appreciate your reaffirmation of the opinions of our past guests and support for everyone at Coconut Lodge We are glad you found your room be be large and meals to be exceptional. We are glad you appreciated the quietness of the location and the beauty of the surroundings. Lastly, thank you for your last statement: “I will definitely stay at the coconut Lodge on my next trip to Panama City.” On behalf of everyone at Coconut Lodge we thank you. Until next time we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cumbres
7.7 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
656 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
7.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,202 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Panama Punta Pacifica
8.3 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#9 of 115 in Panama City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range: $108 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing