We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay at coconut lodge”
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coconut Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“excellent stay at coconut lodge”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Family of four stayed at Coconut Lodge for two nights in March as part of a Disneyworld,Cayman Islands,Panama tour over several weeks.

Our family stayed in a deluxe resort -Animal Kingdom lodge in Disneyworld as well as numerous other hotels in Miami,Grand Cayman and another B&B in Panama City and our kids without hesitation chose Coconut Lodge as their favorite hotel stay of our trip. We the adults also concur with their assessment.
This is impressive especially when going up against Disney so this alone says alot about Coconut Lodge.

Coconut Lodge has a very peaceful and homey atmosphere and very immaculate and comfortable rooms.
The three dogs that live on the premises are very friendly and the kids just loved them.The two little parrots that live by the hammock and the doves that live near the roof of the main house only added to the setting.
The pool is lovely and the kids enjoyed this tremendously in the panama heat.
The pool can be used late as long as you are quiet.

The breakfasts were very nicely done with eggs cooked to your request and served with fresh fruit and a tasty yogurt with granola and fruit.
Juice,milk,tea and coffee were available as was some dry cereal which was also good.
We ate dinner one night at the hotel and at our request the kids were served pasta which they liked and the adults were served a tender beef dish with mashed potatoes and veggies.salad and warm bread accompanied the meal as well as a shot of seco-the panamanian sugarcane drink and a pre dinner drink which we chose a refreshing rum punch.dessert was a chocolate drizzled banana cake.

For 15 dollars we felt it was a good value and the kids were charged less.we enjoyed our dinner with a nice couple from canada and spent the evening talking with them while the kids enjoyed the pool.

-Rooms were cleaned and refreshed expertly
-The room we had casa bambu had a small fridge stocked with panama beer and big bottles of water both for only 1.50.
-The pool is wonderful and just outside our door
-The a/c works well
-Enjoy the birds,hummingbirds,lizards,geckos around the house

-The staff is attentive and helpful
-Nancy and her husband and staff work very hard to make sure you have a wonderful stay
If there is anything that you need or want to do in Panama I am sure they can help you make it happen.

-The room has a safe
-Pool is open into the night as long as you are quiet

-Remember this hotel is on the outskirts of panama city and you will need either your own transportation or utilize the lodge transportation at a cost to get you to where you want to go.

The lodge offers a variety of tours and the ones we did were excellent.

We took the monkey island/jungle cruise tour recommended by the lodge and had a great time there.the lodge provided free transportation for this activity.
we were able to go fishing on the panama canal and our family caught a bunch of peacock bass which was great fun.this tour gives you the option of either kayaking or fishing after the monkey island tour. lunch provided as well as dollar beer and you can swim around the houseboat.


On our last day we did a day tour which we and Nancy the owner pieced together.
The guide who works for Coconut Lodge was a very very good guide and helped find and do the things we wanted in an unrushed and very informative and helpful way.
We really wanted to see a sloth in the wild and we were able to find one which was super amazing and when we visited the miraflores locks at the panama canal the guide knew the perfect time to see the ships transiting the canal-we arrived around 3 pm to see two ships passing one after the other

Overall a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel.Coconut Lodge deserves its 5 star rating and Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.

Room Tip: casa bambu is great for a small family. fits four comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
206
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Givers and Pleasers

Now I know why I don’t run a B&B, you have to be a true giver and pleaser, and Nancy and Mike are both!! Stayed four nights, did day trips to the Gamboa Forest and to Panama City. Best part was coming back after days in the upper 90's and swimming. Kids also enjoyed letting steam off on the tennis courts. Food amazing, and that's important, as there is are not many options close by. If you go birding on their hike from the house, be sure to ask about the path that connects the two roads or you will end up on top of mountain. Great view though!!

Room Tip: Room by the pool is large and is separate from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have never been sure I could rely on reviews but my wife chose Coconut Lodge for our
vacation based on the reviews found on TripAdvisor. We found the service and every detail
to exceed our expectations based on the reviews. Mike and Nancy the owners and staff were not only extremely helpful and friendly but also detail orentiated and very organized. The place is beautiful, quiet, well kept, modern with an adequate pool, tennis court, flowers, birds and an ocassional monkey in the trees behind the property. Coconut Lodge is far enough from
the city to have the feeling of the countryside and close enough to go into town if desired.
The breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. (try Mike's home cured bacon - a treat)
Lunch and dinner were offered at a reasonable price and was excellent so we just mostly vegitated at the lodge. We were so well taken care of we didn't worry about a thing.
Highly recommend this place. Norb W.

Room Tip: We were happy with the room and balcony overlooking the pool. There is a nice little bungalow seper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norb w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Again perfectly attended by the Coconut Lodge Staff! Also the way they looked after our friends was 100% satisfactory! With their "home drivers", they attended every single transportation request, at any hour (incl. middle of the night), be it to/from whatever destination. This has been a huge relieve.
Also whatever personal request asked for, it was met! :-)
Keep it up that way Mike and Nancy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AXG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Coconut Lodge. We had already been away from home at that time for almost 2 months and had slept in several hotels around Panama. The nice thing is that if you stay at the Coconut Lodge after staying in Panama City first, it is really as if you are in an different world. Las Cumbres is a very quiet area only about 30 minutes from the center of Panama City. We saw beautiful birds, and even little monkeys in the trees of the garden. An other good thing is the swimming pool that you can use even at night if you want. If you are looking for a place where you can sleep quietly, meet fellow travelers, have great diners together with new made friends, and enjoy the hospitality of Nancy and Mike (and all of their team), just travel a bit outside Panama City rather than stay in the city. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you like a King size bed, room Coral Serano
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granby
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a few nights at the Coconut Lodge in february and fell in love with the service, location, and with the dedication and passion of Nancy, Mike , Melissa and Jean. No need to repeat what many guests have extensively described: Coconut Lodge is OUTSTANDING. We have been touched by the human warmth, courtesy, grace and tactful welcoming of all who live at Coconut Lodge. We felt like family. They give so much to their guests that we really hope that they also take some time off for themselves. We will surely be back some time in the future. Thanks again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayzabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow at the Coconut lodge for 5 nights.
The bungalow was spacious en clean and the shower was the best of all showers we had during our trip to Panama.
The garden was nice and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very good en was made to order.
The owners were very helpful and friendly.
Diner was also very good en the prices of diner and drinks were very reasonable.
Especially the wine was excellent
It was definitely our best stay in Panama.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cumbres
11.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
7.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 114 in Panama City
631 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Westin Panama
The Westin Panama
#2 of 114 in Panama City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#8 of 114 in Panama City
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Anita
Casa Anita
#1 of 2 in Las Cumbres
248 reviews
6.6 mi away
Monkey Lodge Panama
Monkey Lodge Panama
#2 of 78 in Panama City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Property: Coconut Lodge
Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing