We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to start your trip to panama!”
Review of Coconut Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coconut Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Las Cumbres B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to start your trip to panama!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great place to stay. Perfect, large and clean rooms, excellent hosts, delicious food. Lunch is amazing. Dinner as well but little overprized.
Due to location the total cost of tranfers to airport and city (resp, 35 and 25) can add up to an unexpected high amount.
Nancy and mike are true hosts and give there best to optimize your stay.
Ask mike for a tour to the Baha'I temple ;)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
206
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The setup was perfect for us, a family with 2 small children. We stayed 4 nights in Casita Bambu. It is very spacious, very nicely decorated, with 2 big beds. The bathroom was particularly nice with double sink setup.
The pool was right in front of our casita and the kids loved it. The kids also loved to play with their dogs. The food was great. Nancy and Mike helped a lot with special food arrangements for our kids, driving directions (we had a car),tour arrangements, etc.
We also stayed for New Year's Eve, and it was wonderful. The special dinner was served later, after we put our kids to sleep, so we really enjoyed the night eating, drinking, and socializing with other guests and hosts' friends. We highly recommend it and we hope that we would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the prestigious Traveler’s website, TripAdvisor. We are very happy you enjoyed the Casa Bambu, appreciating its spaciousness, decor, and the double sinks in the bathroom. We are also glad you liked its location, poolside and that you found the home-made meals and desserts to be great and adapted for both yourselves and your children. We were thrilled that you enjoyed the special New Year’s meal and event we prepared for our guests. We were honored with your words. Thank you for your declaration: “Great B&B for a family.... We highly recommend it and we hope that we would come back again.” We too hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in the Cafe room for 3 nights in early January. The room is very spacious, has a fan, A/C, flat panel TV with cable, mini bar, safe, alarm clock, free wifi, a big bed with lots of pillows and a bathroom with a very nice shower. It also has it's own deck overlooking the pool.

Immediately upon arrival Nancy and Mike made me feel like family which was completely unexpected and very welcome! They're great hosts who will be sure that you're taken care of and completely happy during your stay.

The B&B is located in a suburb of Panama City so you'll need transportation to and from the city which they can provide.

Room Tip: The cafe room was lovely. Faces the pool and has it's own deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestlessRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
First, we thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We are especially happy to hear that we made you feel like family and that you felt very well taken care of during your whole stay. We are thrilled you appreciated all that Coconut Lodge has to offer from flat screen TVs to free cable, radio alarm clock, mini-bar and more. We are glad you also appreciated the location of your room Cafe con Leche and were able to lounge around on the deck overlooking the pool. Most importantly though, were your words to us and for this we thank you personally. Your statement was enlightening : “ The most attentive hosts EVER” Thank you for blessing us with this statement and giving us a good start to a new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro de El General, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Coconut Lodge is one of the best B&Bs I've stayed at and I've stayed at a lot. The owners, Nacy and Mike, as well as the staff is first rate. Complete personalized attention is given to thier guests. Mike is an exceptional chef. Nancy will attend to your every need. I could go on about all the positives of staying here but I'll just say that B&Bs don't come any better. Thanks Nancy and Mike!

Room Tip: Casita by the poll ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slickmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
What an absolute pleasure to have read your review. Thank you for the outstanding comments. We were truly humbled to read your words to us. We can only say THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! Even more importantly, however, thank you for the incredible statement you made : “I could go on about all the positives of staying here but I'll just say that B&Bs don't come any better.” Wow! Your comments do not get better than that for us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fantastic climate. Stayed 4 nights at this beautiful place, including the New Year Eve. The food was excellent. Enjoyed talking to Mike about Panama and had interesting conversations with other guest staying at the Lodge. The only disadvantage for us was not having a car to be able to visit surrounding neighborhoods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
What an honor that you choose to spend New Year’s Eve with everyone at Coconut Lodge. We are truly pleased that you found the food to be excellent and that you enjoyed the conversations with your host as well as with other guests. Thank you again for taking the time to share your opinion with the TripAdvisor community. Your contribution is greatly appreciated. We wish you the best in your travels for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent two nights at the beginning of our stay and our final night at the fabulous Coconut Lodge. Nancy and Mike are both very generous hosts who put the comfort and care of their guests before themselves. I had a stomach upset and couldn't get out to enjoy the city. Nancy went out of her way to be sure I had any medicines to help me through so I could enjoy the rest of the trip. Casita Bambu is spacious, tastefully decorated, and very peaceful. A refreshing swim in the pool before breakfast and at the end of the day was a blessing. Mike is a great cook whose meals are served on a terrace overlooking the pool. They even had their gardener wash our car for us as the rental agency wanted it returned clean. The help are all happy in their jobs, a good measure of the type of employers they have. The service was the best we encountered.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita Bambu, separate from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers and devoted followers of TripAdvisor. As you noted, we do strive to make our guests feel at home, taking care of them, to the best of our ability. We are really happy you enjoyed the Casa Bambu, its spaciousness, decor, and peacefulness. We are also glad you appreciated the salt-water pool and not to forget the meals served overlooking the pool. Thank you also for the feedback with regards to our dedicated staff. They are a blessing to our organization. Most importantly though, thank you for the following comment: “The service was the best we encountered.” Hoping we have the opportunity to greet you during a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Coconut Lodge is a true B & B, with specially designed accommodations for guests adjacent to the private home of the owners, Nancy and Mike. These folks have taste and work hard to provide top-notch service, quality and value. We stayed 3 nights in the Bambu Room, which is large, modern-feeling, attractive and comfortable. The pool and dining areas are also beautiful and have a great feeling to them. Mike makes the best breakfast in Panama and good dinners too (with free-flowing wine and Seco). A bunch of "this is Panama" stuff went wrong while we were there (flooding in Colon, roads out, water filtration plant overloaded, power out) and Nancy did an admirable job scrambling to reorganize activities for us and the other guests. She is amazing, I can't recommend her highly enough as a hostess. One caution: I assumed the out of town location would serve to avoid traffic to/from PTY, Gamboa, etc. - it does not, at least at rush hours. But the hosts have arrangements with a reliable and helpful cab driver as well as operating their own tours.

Room Tip: Bambu Suite is large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annyinwla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut L, Owner at Coconut Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with the TripAdvisor community. What a privilege and honor to have read your opinion; truly humbling. We can only say thank you from the bottom of our hearts for recognizing that our focus and attention is 100% on our guests. Your words truly blessed us: “These folks have taste and work hard to provide top-notch service, quality and value.” Thank you for that. We were privileged, touched, and blessed with your presence! Hoping we will have the opportunity to greet you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cumbres
7.7 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 113 in Panama City
627 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
9.7 mi away
Riande Aeropuerto
Riande Aeropuerto
#34 of 113 in Panama City
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 113 in Panama City
1,137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Anita
Casa Anita
#1 of 2 in Las Cumbres
247 reviews
6.6 mi away
Monkey Lodge Panama
Monkey Lodge Panama
#3 of 78 in Panama City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lodge

Property: Coconut Lodge
Address: Las Sauces, Las Cumbres, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cumbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of Coconut Lodge as a mini-resort without the crowds. With only four rooms, Coconut Lodge is an intimate and private Lodge designed to please and satisfy your every vacation need and want. Forget about work, stress, and an accelerated lifestyle. Enjoy the warm tropical breeze, laze in our pool while sipping a Pina Colada, challenge yourself to a game of tennis and enjoy life the way it is truly meant to be lived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lodge Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing