We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful golf hotel in the south of Sylt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hornum
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf hotel in the south of Sylt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you want to spend a week by the North Sea - especially to golf - this is an excellent choice! A beautiful family-owned hotel with spectacular views of the sea, impeccable service, beautiful rooms and suites and very good dining options (KAI3 and Strönholt). Mr. Brönnimann (GM) obviously does an amazing job!
In front of the hotel is a beautiful 18 holes links course and hotel guests get special deals on green fees. Get a car or bike to explore the island as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    30
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
148
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

One of the pleasures of traveling is being surprised and charmed by a unique property. We arrived with reasonable expectations: while prices are high, we have had diverse experiences at the island in hotels with similar rates, and knew that during Easter hotels would be at full capacity with many temporary employees. And we were wrong. The hotel's unremarkable architecture is more than compensated by a modern, agreeable indoor design. The rooms were the best and most spacious we have had in Sylt, the spa and pool area wonderful, the views - and the window design that allows them - unique, the buffet breakfast one of the most delicious we've had in any hotel in the world. What makes the Budersand stand out though is the service: no fake or automated smiles from the hotel personnel, only charm, humor and professionalism. We've finally found the hotel in Sylt where we will come back year after year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodolfoLara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Thinking of an exclusive retreat, Germany won't the be first country that comes to mind. The North of Germany will sound even less likely. Yet there's an island off of the coast of northern Germany next to the Danish border called: "Sylt". This is were rich Germans have their second house and this is were the nazi's enjoyed their time off during World War II.

To explain how exclusive Sylt is: there are only two ways to get there. The first is by airplane. The second option is by train (which also transports cars). To make matters even more interesting, the Budersand hotel is on the far south of the island. Arriving there feels like arriving at the end of the world. It is a very long drive from Hamburg and Sylt is windy, open and cold. The modern building is exposed to the elements, but that's all it's exposed to.

My room had a direct and undisturbed view of the ocean, making it feel unusually secluded. Rooms that face the golf course or the nearby fishing harbour are likely to be less enchanting. The rooms look modern and scandinavian. Everything seems brand new and wood is the building material of choice.

One dislike about the room is that the door cannot be locked from the inside. Another detail is that the television can be seen from the seating area, but not from the bed. Do mind that this place is mainly frequented by the Germans. This means that all signs are in German, the menu's and TV guide are in German and most TV stations are German. The staff addresses everyone in German, but will switch to English if required.

The Budersand Hotel has its own restaurant, but also maintains a close relationship with its neighbour: the Stronholt restaurant. I was there for a business dinner. When it was already beging served, I announced I am a vegan. In mere minutes they managed to serve me a decent vegan meal. Instead of "coping with me", I was waited on hand and foot and it felt like it was their pleasure to serve my special wishes. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just returned from a four night stay at the hotel. We had a wonderful time, helped obviously by the wonderful weather we had for the five days on the island. The hotel is perfectly located in the southernmost part of the island yet is not far from anything as most destinations are a short hop by car. We even went to Westerland by bicycle and it was an easy ride. The hotel itself is very modern and the rooms are well appropriated and clean. We lucked out when reserving and were given a room (336) with balcony facing the ocean and free standing bathtub in the bathroom area. We thoroughly enjoyed the room (except for one gripe below and the reason my review is only four stars!) Additionally the spa area is super clean, nicely designed and a real joy to use. One of the better things about the hotel is the bar and its bartender. He set up a bar specialised in gin (my favourite) and he really is a top notch bartender. Had a blast sitting and talking shop at the bar with him. Further, we loved the breakfast and everything that was available. Perfect selection of buffet items and anything else you could ask for, they were almost ready to take care of providing. The view is also spectacular when the weather fits it. Finally, the service is exceptional from everyone at the hotel, be it reception, spa, bar, breakfast or whatnot. Hats off to the team for caring and going the extra mile!

Now why only four stars? Well, I have a couple gripes which at many other hotels would of led to a 3 or ever 2 star rating. Not here...it was that good. What was wrong though?

1. Upon arriving, on the first day our bathtub had an issue. The drain wouldn't release and we couldn't drain it. It was repaired on the second day but as of that point the drains in the sinks and tub started to stink. Every time we closed the window, and the vent in the toilet went on, it created a vacuum, pulling up the sewer smell from the drains. It was quite disgusting. When housekeeping (and maintenance) came to "repair" it, the "excuse" was that depending on wind, this is an issue they know about. This, at the price point of this hotel, is actually inexcusable. There is obviously an issue with the drains airflow and properly built plumbing doesn't allow air to come back up the pipes and into the room. This is clearly a building problem and the contractors who built this place should be tasked with remedying this. Pouring chemicals down the drains to mask the smell is not the solution. Our room will definitely have this problem in the future and housekeeping told us other rooms were affected too. I would of expected management to offer us another room but they didn't. The problem is a known issue and we had it for three days. Again, service was awesome in the hotel and staff can't be blamed for this but management should immediately offer another room (and even an upgraded one if you ask me) for this. At this price point, you don't want to make up excuses that simply don't make sense and even if they did, you offer a solution (not just dumping chemicals down the drain....which then get pushed back into the room and airflow.....and into my lungs). This is clearly one star gone and would of had me destroying this hotel in my reviews were the rest of the experience not as good!

2. The Strönholt restaurant was horrible. No deduction for the hotel on this one as it's a separate entity (yet owned by hotel I presume). This review is not about the restaurant but it was a complete wash. From poorly arranged seating...almost empty and still we receive crap seats....to uneventful, poorly seasoned and cold food to being forgotten at our table by waitstaff. We unfortunately came here the last night hoping for a quiet, romantic dinner and couldn't get out fast enough, disgusted by the experience and the high prices. Beautifully designed and appropriated, service and food completely destroyed the experience. Really a shame!

In summary, this is a wonderful property and I highly recommend it. Just make sure to ask that you get a room that doesn't hopefully stink and pray for good weather. You can't go wrong otherwise.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room which doesn't stink and try to get a room with balcony facing the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joizee_HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballywalter County Down Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We travel by car from England to Denmark each year and try to vary some treats when we arrive.

This year, we crossed the border into Germany and went to the Island of Sylt. By car, it can only be reached via car ferry from the Danish island of Romo or else by train from Niebull on the autozug. This is a motorail service where you drive onto car carrying trucks and - if on the top deck - you have the slightly surreal experience of a 45 minute journey through countryside and over the sea causeway to the island of Sylt.

The Budersand Hotel is at Hornum, at the southern tip of the island and around a 25 minute drive from Westerland.

The hotel is modern - around five years old - check in was effortless and we were shown up to a superior double room on the second floor, overlooking the sea. In many hotels, this sort of room would be classed as a suite - it was wonderful with a sitting area with large balcony, a good-sized bedroom area with huge bed but the piece de resistance was the bathroom with a free-standing bath overlooking the sea and with a second balcony outside

Other amenities included a minibar with free beers and soft drinks, plenty of cupboard space and good complimentary Wi-Fi access.

We had dinner in the Michelin * KAI 3 restaurant which was first class. There was a choice of two seven course menus [you could choose how many courses as you wanted and pay accordingly] and could mix as you wished from the two. They showcased the finest fish meat vegetables and fruit that were in season. The wine list not surprisingly highlighted German wines [about which I know very little] so we sought advice from the charming sommelier. She recommended a Riesling 2011 from the Rheninhessen and a Spatburgunder 2009 from Pfalz. Both were superb and not expensive. A glass of Auslese accompanied the dessert.

Breakfast can often be a let down, even in the best of hotels. This was not the case here and the hotel provides probably the largest and tastiest buffet that we have seen in any hotel. There was something to suit all tastes and you could also order eggs etc to be cooked to order - the eggs benedict was really delicious. An added bonus that this was all included in the price of the room [€410.00].

By chance we had met a German couple in England three weeks before travelling to Sylt - They had told us that they thought that Budersand was the best hotel on the island - they were right.

A five star hotel usually delivers - some do not - but the Buderand hotel totally lives up to its classification in every way and KAI 3 certainly deserves its Michelin star.

Would we go back again - well, all one can add is that we have booked a further two nights at Budersand, before catching the ferry back to England - the ultimate compliment!

Room Tip: Our room - I think it was 262 - was on the second floor and overlooked the sea - we had asked for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwlunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budersand, Manager at Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest
First of all I would like to express my sincere thanks for having taken the time to let us know about our service. This is highly appreciated.
What to say after such an overwhelming compliment – I hope to see you again and be assured that we will spare no effort to exceed your expectation!
Very best regards
Rolf E. Brönnimann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week vacation there having see the Budersand Hotel briefly 4 years ago and vowed to return and give it a try. We had a very generous junior suite overlooking the 18th green on the golf course and huge swathes of course and dune beyond. Sylt is a classy destination and the Budersand Hotel enhances its image and overall experience. The Hotel project was and is a labour of love for the founder and owner and displays the kind of design, decor, facilities and staffing that only a labour of love can produce. everything about the hotel was a joy and under the charming control of Rolf Broennimann the hotel director the staff (without exception) were outstanding both in the Hotel and in the Golf Club which is part of the complex. This was not a chep trip of course but we left feeling we had received outstanding value for money. The hotel boasts an outstanding 5 * restaurant (KAI3) where we dined in sumptuous style on our last night and were attended to by two exceptional staff members in Janine and Sebastian. They could not have been better or more charming and attentive.

Room Tip: tell them what you would like when you book. Rooms overlooking the water and above the breakfast ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have been at Budersand in February 2010 with a friend of mine (girls only trip) and now came back with my husband.
The Hotel is still beautiful as a building, but we both were very disappointed in regard to the value you get for what you pay.
Our room was overlooking the golf course and only had a side view of the sea (which I think is not ok when you book the Deluxe room).
But what really made us angry is the lack of a senior staff. There are a lot of very young people working there and the even might try hard, but you miss somebody that really knows his job. E.g. when we had breakfast there was for quite some time nobody (staff) in the restaurant. At one time I even had to go to the kitchen to ask for a coffee (the same happened at the bar one evening). And then you can hear the staff talking about their private matters in the back. I am not interested in their hobbies, I just want to have breakfast.
At another occasion I was sitting in the entrance hall and waiting for my husband, when one of the girls at the concierge desk was speaking (very loudly) on the phone to make an appointment for herself for a Manicure.Excuse me, but she cannot do that during her work time in front of guests in the entrance hall. This is a 5 star Hotel!
So unfortunately I really have to say, that for the moment I will not come back. The hotel is far too expensive for what they are offering.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddala2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hornum
9.5 mi away
Severin's Resort & Spa
18.3 mi away
A-ROSA Sylt
A-ROSA Sylt
#1 of 2 in List
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
9.7 mi away
Landhaus Stricker
Landhaus Stricker
#1 of 4 in Tinnum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Dorfhotel Sylt
Dorfhotel Sylt
#2 of 6 in Rantum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Hamburg
Hotel Stadt Hamburg
#1 of 32 in Westerland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
11.4 mi away
Faehrhaus Sylt
Faehrhaus Sylt
#1 of 1 in Munkmarsch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa

Property: Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa
Address: Am Kai 3, 25997 Hornum, Sylt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > North Friesian Islands > Sylt > Hornum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hornum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budersand Hotel - Golf & Spa Hornum, Sylt, Germany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing