We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Canto del Sole
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Belvedere Agriturismo(Monteroni d'Arbia)
View Hotel
Hotel More Di Cuna(Monteroni d'Arbia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel 1000 Miglia(Monteroni d'Arbia)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Podere Renaccio(Taverne d'Arbia)
View Hotel
Borgo Antico(Monteroni d'Arbia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Montaperti Hotel(Casanova Pansarine)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveler rating
290
14
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
14
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwonderful hostsspent three nightstuscan countrysidetriple rooman arraytuscany areahighly recommend staying hereperfect place to staybeautiful propertydelicious breakfastlocal restaurantslucianotripsfarmmontepulcianoson
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 308 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Il Canto del Sole for 5 nights. The place is beautiful, clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The location is great - 6 miles outside of Siena (an amazing city!) among the farms and the vineyards. Recommend you have a car with GPS.

The best part are the people that own the place. Luciano and Laura were warm, friendly and very tolerant of our horrible Italian. Laura cooked us a wonderful meal and Luciano makes excellent wine. All in all, the best part of a 20 day trip to Europe. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try to book in the main house. Better views!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place was a gem of a find. We booked based on TripAdvisor reviews and so glad we found it. We had got married in Italy 2 weeks prior and had been touring around. When we arrived here on a Wednesday night it was meant to be for one night only and then continue on our hectic schedule of places to visit.
We were a little alarmed on the drive into this place as you go through a very small housing estate but this is just the edge of the town and soon you are on gravel roads for a while which brings you into the area with nothing but farms spread out in the distance.
Once we arrived we immediately wanted to stay longer and enjoy the surroundings. We originally came for one night but stayed three, thats how nice this place is.
Laura and Marco are genuinely beautifully friendly people and run a fantastic B&B. The building is over 400 years old and has been restored beautifully. It is located in the countryside and has several places to watch the sunset. A terrace beside the bedroom area with tables where you can eat dinner and have a glass of wine while the sun goes down or on the north side of the property there is a roof top terrace looking out onto a vineyard. On the west side there is a pool with a huge area dotted with different places to sit so you have plenty of space. There were several eagles hovering every night while the sun sets which was also very pleasant to watch.
The property has two dogs Luna and Alba, donkeys, horses, chickens and has a real country feel.
The rooms in the main house are quite spacious, quiet and have extremely high ceilings with AC and ceiling fans.
The breakfast is very generous and plenty of cappuccinos on offer!
You're only a 10-15 minute drive from Siena and can use this place as a base to visit Volterra and San Gimignano.
If Laura has made some of her delicious banana and kiwi cake I highly recommend a slice! I can't recommend this place highly enough and will hopefully be back there in the future.
Thank you Laura and Luciano!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed just one night at the lovely Il Canto del Sole and wished for longer. The surroundings are serene and just what we imagined Tuscany would be. The room was comfortable, bathroom adequate (we stayed in a room separate to the main house). We appreciated the laundry facilities after a week in Rome and Luciano even offered to do a second load of laundry in his personal washing machine. Next morning he handed me all of our laundry neatly folded, what service! Breakfast was a wonderful selection of breads, pastries, fruits, cold meats and eggs with which we enjoyed on the outdoor patio while getting to know some some other guests. Highly recommend Il Canto (a short drive outside Siena), you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you prefer to avoid stairs, request a room separate to the main house (4 rooms close to the pool).
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Headline: So fantastic, we didn’t want to leave

My husband and I planned our Siena/Tuscany leg of our trip at the end our crazy journey across Italy to hopefully allow us to unwind and prep us for our return back to reality. Il Canto del Sole did not disappoint! The location is ideal: it is only a 15 minute drive from Siena, yet still perfectly situated in the countryside. Luciano graciously picked us up from the Siena train station in his shuttle van and also took us into the city a few times, as we didn't have a car. The grounds are immaculately kept and true to what you'd expect a Tuscan farmhouse to look like. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by their friendly dogs, Luna (17 years old and doesn't look a day over 7!) and Alba (a bonafide chowhound and totally adorable).

Our room was in the main building and was wonderful. We were so happy to have a "full-sized" shower (we're tall people, 6'0" and 6'6", respectively) that would actually allow us to move comfortably in the shower. The bed was nice and large, but the mattress could have been a little better--the blissful silence in the evenings and inevitable food-coma you'll have from either Laura's food or the local dining suggestions made up for the so-so mattress.

There are several gathering places throughout the property: a beautiful rooftop terrace on an out-building with the most amazing panoramic views of the Tuscan countryside, another terrace upstairs in the main building, a common room outside the guest suites, a large patio for eating breakfast in the sunshine, a game room complete with pool table and piano, the large saltwater pool and surrounding chaise lounges and of course, the dining hall.

The food. One word, amazing. Laura puts out an amazing spread of homemade goodies each morning. Once or twice a week, Laura will make a traditional, Tuscan evening meal. Do not pass this up. It is approximately €25, per person, and is well worth it. Our meal consisted of an appetizer platter of that aforementioned amazing bruschetta paired with an assortment of cured meats, first course of a sausage and porcini risotto, main entree of sliced pork roast with herbed pan roasted potatoes, and finished with an array of desserts ranging from chocolate mousse smothered cream puffs, chocolate Bundt cake, moist marzipan yellow cake with chocolate chips, chocolate tart, and fresh fruit. An assortment of after-dinner liquors was offered during the dessert portion (included) and you have the option to order a glass of their house wine or a bottle from their collection, for an additional charge, during dinner. Simply put, the food is delicious, not to be missed. The evenings Laura isn't cooking, do ask for a recommendation. We had two recommended and both were fabulous. In fact, La Galera turned out to be our best meal of the trip!

Take a stroll around the property and you'll meet their animals: two horses, two donkeys, two dogs, and three cats, all of which are extremely friendly and love to be pet. There is a small vineyard and garden which is used to make the fabulous meals Laura prepares, as well as the chicken coop, where the fresh eggs are harvested daily.

If the food and fabulous surroundings don't get you, Luciano and Laura's hospitality surely will. They are the finest people who truly love what they do and want to make sure your stay is perfect. As my review headline states, my husband and I didn't want to leave and cannot wait to make it back to Il Canto del Sole.

Room Tip: Make sure you contact them the day before you arrive to confirm your reservation. They will assist with your arrival at the inn.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyyoginigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend, as part of a group of 14, at Il Canto del Sole. It is a truly wonderful place and ideal for touring the Tuscan countryside handy for Siena and Montalcino. Laura and Lucciano are such excellent hosts, nothing is a problem for them. Managing a large group such as ours would be a challenge, but one our hosts rose to, with Lucciano ferrying us around in is minibus, and Laura catering for a birthday dinner. Breakfasts are superb, there is a well sticked cellar and Laura's dinner should not be missed. When I next return I know where I want to be staying!

Room Tip: Our room was near the pool, which was handy as well as quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews