We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to our Home”
Review of Il Canto del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Canto del Sole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

When planning a trip the the Tuscany area we were trying to decide were to stay to be able to explore. On a previous trip to Southern France we had stayed a in another B&B and decided it was a good base and saw Il Canto as offering the same opportunity for the Tuscany area vs. staying in a hotel in Siena. The Il Canto is one of the Argo-tourism areas set up by the the Italians, finding Il Canto is relatively with good directions giving by the Il Canto, a Nav system and directional signs as you get close. Upon entry you feel it is "welcome to our home, you pull up along gravel roads and see the site in the distance. As you pull up an old brick building appears and then you enter and Luciano and Laura say "welcome to our home"! There are 10 rooms and apartments, each room has it's own unique character and furnishings, ours was a double bed queen room. The bathroom was recently redone and very comfortable, the rooms was a bit compact but well appointed and very comfortable, with a view or the gardens. The breakfast area was held outside on the patio with the selections maintained inside. The breakfast spread was bountiful with breads, cheeses, some egg dishes, meats and many other selections. It was a beautiful spread each morning, fresh and well appointed. Each morning we would go over with Luciano our planned trips for the day to explore the Tuscany area. He would give us suggestions of routes and towns to visit. For night, he would give us suggestions for dinner locations in Siena, each reasonable in price and excellent in quality. For one night they asked us about having a dinner at the location, we thought initially it would be informal, it turned out to be formal dinner where most of the guests staying at the B&B joined for dinner. The first course was prosciutto and panzonella salad, followed by stuffed ravioli with cheese, spinach and pesto then chicken, with grapes, zucchini and peppers. The finish was a cornucopia of multiple desserts that included cakes and fruits. It was an elegant dinner that was part of the overall ambiance of this wonderful B&B. It was a great decision for a place to use as our base to explore Siena and the Tuscany region. Laura & Luciano invited us into their home along with the other guests and made our trip to the Tuscany regions very special.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Il Canto del Sole
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We can't say enough good things about Il Canto del Sole. Right from the start our hosts, Laura and Luciano were accommodating, warm and friendly. We would go back there in a second. The most memorable part was the unbelievable meal that Laura prepared one night. It felt like a scene out of "Babette's Feast". We especially liked the fact that they are a very green villa, from the solar panels down to the garden for the produce to supply the meals. Our second floor room overlooking the Tuscan country side was spacious and appointed with interesting antiques. Our 4 day stay there was just what we needed to relax and enjoy the heart of Tuscany. By the time we left, we truly felt like one of the family.
Dick and Gail E

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We travelled around Italy for 10 days at the end of June/early July and spent our last 3 days at Il Canto del Sole. This was by far our favourite of the places we visited. Laura and Luciano make you feel very much at home. Laura's cooking lived up to our expectations, having read all of the glowing reviews. She cooked an amazing buffet meal for us, which included lasagna, panzanella, a big selection of cold meats and cheeses and Luciano's home made bread. Luciano's home made white wine was also delicious. Our bedroom was rustic and Italian and incredibly comfortable. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and they made our stay perfect. It was also ideally located, just 15 minutes from Sienna but also in the peaceful countryside. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I don't even know where to begin really. We've stayed at Il Canto Del Sole twice in 2010 and 2013, visiting our friends who spend at least one week at this place every summer. We sure do understand why they keep coming back. Laura and Luciano make the perfect hosts, they are very friendly, helpful and openhearted. The property has about 10 guest rooms, all very spacious and beautifully decorated, which includes bathroom with all amentities, TV, aircondition and plenty of closet space. This place is great if you travel as a family with more generations (with or without kids) - it has just the right setting and facilities to make the perfect family holiday. The property has a very large pool area in a garden surrounded by winefields, there is a guest room with a pool table, a ping pong table outside etc. On top of this, there are several animals living on the property (including two dogs, two cats, two horses and two mules) which are all good with children and which makes the place feel even more like a home away from home - just in the countryside. We would recommend this place to just about everybody we know.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kosmopolitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. The hosts Laura & Luciano are wonderful, nothing was a problem and the home cooked dinner night was spectacular. The location is fantastic for exploring the tuscan hilltop towns and is very close to Siena. We could not have asked for a more amazing and relaxing place to stay. Hope to come back some day and stay again. Highly recommend staying here if you want some peace and quiet not too far from the cities while visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

we stayed 4 nights. large, clean room. laura and Luciano were hospitable, helpful, downright generous. Great experience.

walls are a little thin but that was not a problem.

breakfast is good. if they are cooking dinner when you are there then be sure and attend. great food and fun to speak to other travelers.

You need a car. we were driving to different towns in Tuscany so it did not make sense to stay in one of the towns. this is in the country but easy to hit the highway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asIII41003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Luciano and Laura are fantastic hosts and the property is impeccable. Luciano and Laura's warmth and generosity will forever stay in our hearts and our stay at Canto was the highlight of our visit to Italy. The location of the B&B is ideal and is a great headquarters if you plan to visit Florence, Pisa and Rome. If you visit (and you must) ensure that Laura tells you the story behind the property.

1  Thank DorothyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteroni d'Arbia
1.1 mi away
Hotel More Di Cuna
Hotel More Di Cuna
#2 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
385 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Bagnaia Golf & Spa Resort Siena, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,304 reviews
9.4 mi away
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
333 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agriturismo San Giorgio
Agriturismo San Giorgio
#4 of 17 in Monteroni d'Arbia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Canto del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canto del Sole

Address: Via di Villa Canina 1292, 53014, Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range: $117 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"IL CANTO DEL SOLE" is an old 18 th century Tuscan farmhouse. We have recently restored it, preserving all its original features. The Farmhouse offers 10 rooms, each furnished with the simple furniture originally found in them, which has been carefully restored.The rooms are all very light and airy and offer a complete range of facilities: satellite TV, fridge, bathroom with shower and hair dryer. Both structures are surrounded by around one hectare of shady gardens, immersed in the heart of the crete senesi countryside. They are just 10 km from Siena (Porta Romana) and 1 km from the "Grancia di Cuna" (a 13 th century fortified farmhouse on the Via Francigena). We offer our guests: a salt water swimming pool (7 x 14), children's play areas, a barbecue area and a panoramic terrace above our wine cellar, with views over the Val d'Arbia. During the winter, breakfast and dinner are served in a large dining room with a central fireplace, while during the summer, they are served in the external courtyard.A pool table and a selection of games are available to guests in the lemon room, adjacent to the lounge. In addition to cooking, we (Luciano and Laura) are at your complete disposal for any information or suggestions for walks, mountain biking, horse riding and car excursions. In addition to the gardens, we also have around three hectares of land where you will find our horses' paddocks, a small vineyard and vegetable crops grown exclusively for use by our family and our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Canto del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Canto Del Sole Hotel Monteroni d`Arbia
Il Canto Del Sole Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing