We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo San Fabiano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Agriturismo San Fabiano
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the Forno Suite in August for 4 nights, and we will be back!
Our family of 5 arrived in Siena by train, and once we discovered that we were not going to figure out easily how to get to the villa via bus, we took a taxi, and it was a reasonable price of E35 to take us directly to our villa.
Rachel and Philipo warmly greeted us, and quickly got us settled, then ushered us to the pool to cool off.
The Villa has everything you will need, for a fun family vacation, or simply to relax.
Philipo took us into town for gelato, and to buy groceries as we did not have a car, however in future we rode the supplied bikes into town for more gelato, and to eat at the Amazing restaurant in Monteroni d'Arbia.
We cooked dinner only once because eating at the restaurant was so easy, and affordable. We could have cooked more should we chose as there was everything we needed to cook with.

Our apartment was comfortable for our family of 5. A master bedroom with a queen bed, and 3 single beds in the living room. There is a small kitchen equipped with a stove, fridge, and sink. A bottle of their wine was also given to us with some snacks as a nice welcome.
Next time we will get the apartment at ground level so that we can enjoy the outdoor space more for eating more conveniently.

One day I asked Philipo about the history of the villa and the area, and he sat our family down and told us the story of his family and many more stories, which was such a treat!
Another day we hired Philipo to take us to Montepulciano and the 2nd oldest Brunello winery in Tuscany. Both Philipo and David were a delight! We had one of the most wonderful days of our vacation with them. We were so appreciative!

Some tips:
It would be nice to have a car for part of the time, so that you can explore the many Tuscan towns as they each have something special to offer.
Also, there is a train station in Monteroni D'arbia, so if you are arriving via train, check out the schedule to Monteroni.
There are buses twice an hour that take you to Siena. The bus does take approx 30 minutes to Siena, but 1 hour for the return to Monteroni after the many stops.
Find out which stop to get off at once you get to Siena and directions for walking to the Duomo or Piazza.. It is easy, but not straight forward to figure out on your own.

Finally, you can not stay at a place where your hosts are nicer. Rachel and Philipo are genuinely warm people who want YOU to have the best vacation you can. We were honored to have met them!
Blessings to Rachel, Philipo and David!!!

I have many pictures of our adventure on my blog if you wish to see them, go to
www.bellasabroad.wordpress.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
85
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is my 2nd trip to Tuscany (the first place we stayed at being about an hour south of Florence). However, I must say traveling another 45 minutes south and you feel like this is the real Tuscany. The landscape is dotted with cypress trees, grape vines and wheat fields (photo opportunities abound). The San Fabiano embodies the area. It's a small villa that you felt was your own. Our apartment was clean, large and quite comfortable. We had several meals at "home". They also have a large, communal kitchen if you're with a larger group of people as well as a courtyard for outside dining. They have a pool that we used mostly at the end of the day that we were often the only ones using it. We chose the villa for its location to Siena (15 minutes) Montepulciano, Montalcino & Pienza (within 45 minutes), San Gimignano & Volterra (within 1 hour) not to mention a billion small tuscan towns. However, what truly made our 7 day stay unforgettable were Suzannah and Peter (pinch-hitting for Fillipo and Rachel) and Fabiana. It's amazing how friendly and helpful people can make all the difference in your stay. They made recommendations for places to see, restaurants and even parking all geared to help you experience the area as locals would. Can't say enough good things about the villa and the people except TRY IT-YOU'LL LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandSBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzeliya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We’ve stated in Agriturismo San Fabiano for ~10 days – we were 5 people (adults) and it was amazing. (great place for kids for sure: they have a pool and games in the public garden area)
Rachel and Filippo along with their sweet son were the perfect hosts.
The surroundings are Beautiful and relaxing.
The villa (Le Tortore) was lovely and very well kept.
We hope to get back really soon and visit again – it’s the perfect gateway to rest and relaxation – yet very close to the center of Sienna (very short drive).
The atmosphere, the Fiorentini family and their crew were all lovely, the view, everything – couldn’t ask for more.

Thank you so much – hope to come again.

Pushinsky & Moshkovich Family

Room Tip: Call the place directly - the price you get directly can be even better then via a travel agent or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

travelled recently family with four older children. were welcomed by peter and susan who were looking after the estate and were friendly and helpful in every way! not to mention fabianna who is also friendly warm and efficient. we thank them also for their efforts and concern in locating one of our suitcases that got lost on the way.
the apartments are very clean and very well equipped. there is a little wear and tear, the bathrooms are a little outdated and the shower is not easy to access without getting wet.floor flooded during showering. the interior design is pleasant but not luxurious. the sofa beds that the older children slept on were uncomfortable.
The common areas are a little cluttered. the grounds are pleasant as is the pool!

we really enjoyed our stay and especially the welcome feeling given to us by our hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanaq s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently returned from our trip to Italy which included several days at San Fabiano. It was a lovely, quiet escape surrounded by breathtaking scenery. Our two teenage daughters loved lounging by the pool at the end of our busy sight seeing days. We were able to accompany Filippo and Rachel to an outdoor jazz concert in Chianti, which we would not have known about other than through our hosts. It was a surreal evening, listening to soothing music in an outdoor ampitheatre surrounded by the hills in Chianti. The accomodations and amenities were more than we expected and the treats that greeted us in our room, after a drive from Rome, were most welcome.

Thank you Filippo and Rachel for your wonderful hospitality and we will be sure to come back again. Missing Italy already

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyandChrisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a great time at San Fabiano. We went there for a week-long trip during the middle of July. We were pleasantly surprised to find not one, but two bicycles with kiddies seats and also several children's bicycles. We went there without a car and just wanted to relax, so the bikes allowed us the mobility required for errands such as shopping for evening meals and fun family outings such as visits to the fantastic ice cream shop and Galera restaurant. The enjoyed Monteroni d'Arbia a lot - it has a lot to offer for such a small town. The ice cream shop and the restaurant is on par with the quality one would expect from the best places in Rome and Siena. (Do try the seafood risotto at Galera and the pear and ricotta flavour at the ice cream shop.)

Additionally, San Fabiano was a dream for our toddler with a large swimming pool and playground with slides, swings and a treehouse. We also spent a few days in other cities in Italy afterwards and our daughter often asked whether we could rather go back to the farm with the pool.

In addition the set up was also very convenient. The room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was amazingly well equipped with two hobs, a refrigerator, many pots and pans and two cafetieres and everything required to cook a good meal. We arrived on a Saturday night late and Rachel thoughtfully provided us with milk, croissants, orange juice and the basics for the next day (because the shops were closed on the Sunday). We also received a fabulous complimentary bottle of Chianti from the farm. Additionally, Rachel collected and dropped us at the train station. After dropping us off, Rachel discovered that we had left some items behind and raced back to the station to bring this to us before our train had arrived.

We had a traditional homecooked dinner with Rachel, Fillipo and the other families on the Tuesday, which was perhaps the highlight of the trip and ended with musical contributions from the guests. I add a few pictures of the meal here.

Rachel and Filippo were always friendly and approachable, yet gave our family the privacy and quiet that we wanted to relax during our time at the farm. We can recommend San Fabiano with our whole hearts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family of four just finished a week stay in San Fabiano. The vacation was great. We enjoyed the small town of Monteroni and the agriturismo. Filippo is probably the friendliest count you will ever meet. Our "il vino" accommodation was perfect. We appreciated the little touches like olive oil, balsamico and your first breakfast that most places don't have for you as well as the screen on the bedroom window to let in the cool night air.

My son and I enjoyed the lovely pool every day. Nice setting for exploring the towns of Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza, and Montereggoni but then returning to a quiet town away from the crowds, Monteregoni had a couple nice restaurants and a killer gelateria.

The hosts Filippo, Rachel and son David were just lovely. would recommend and return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteroni d'Arbia
1.0 mi away
Hotel More Di Cuna
Hotel More Di Cuna
#2 of 7 in Monteroni d'Arbia
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
20.5 mi away
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
Villa San Lucchese Hotel
#1 of 11 in Poggibonsi
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
1.8 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 7 in Monteroni d'Arbia
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Il Canto del Sole
Il Canto del Sole
#1 of 3 in Monteroni d'Arbia
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castello di San Fabiano
Castello di San Fabiano
#2 of 17 in Monteroni d'Arbia
5.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Il Pozzo di Radi
Il Pozzo di Radi
#2 of 3 in Monteroni d'Arbia
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo San Fabiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo San Fabiano

Property: Agriturismo San Fabiano
Address: Via San Martino 168, 53014, Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy (Formerly Tenuta San Fabiano)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo San Fabiano 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Climatized with heated pool villa! Romantic place where to enjoy music, good food, long walks on top of the rolling hills watching the nature and Siena skyline. Filippo will guide you touring the area, with bikes, horses, golfing, tennis and cruising the Tirrenian sea! You may rent one suite or the entire villa with 4 suites plus one cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Agriturismo San Fabiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo San Fabiano Hotel Monteroni d`Arbia
Agriturismo San Fabiano Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing