We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Getaway spot in Tuscany”
Review of Casa Bolsinina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Bolsinina
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights/three days on during our 11 day trip through Italy; October 20-22, 2011. This was a WONDERFUL place! The location is perfect-centered enough to where we ventured out one day and saw the towns of Pienza, Montepulciano, and Siena, took the most scenic routes and still made it home just after sunset. The room (we had the "Jill") was spotless, furnishings were excellent, we had a small TV that we never used (!) and a small fridge that was perfect for our needs. Though it was just us two they have plenty of areas for families to wine, dine, play pool, etc... The grounds and surrounding landscapes are postcard epic-in fact some of our pictures from the patio balcony would make a great Tuscan Calendar! Marcello and Maria were the perfect hosts-we had dinner with them one of our two evenings there and the food was among the best we had in all of Italy-from Florence to Ravello to Rome! They were very helpful in suggesting places to visit, even knowing where the best parking and such were in surrounding towns like Siena-which doesn't sound like much till you drive the Italian roads for 1500 miles like we did and get lost a few times even with GPS and maps! If there is a drawback, and for us it wasn't, there is no built in internet/wi-fi-most places out here don't, but US cell phones work- And the whole point of going to the Tuscan hills is GETTING AWAY FOR A WHILE, RIGHT?! We wholeheartedly recommend this place and would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captmark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at this beautiful farm house in September. Encouraged to book by all the excellent reviews, we soon realised both Marcello and Maria Pia deserved the accolade they receive. I genuinely believe this couple love their job, treating you like visiting friends rather just guests, always polite and ready to help, nothing is too much trouble, they go out their way to get to know you and help plan your day trips. The casa is in perfect position to visit the stunning Tuscan villages and return in time to relax in the beautiful gardens and swimming pool. It is situated in a quiet area away from any noise from roads. The house is very elegant with lovely furniture and becomes a romantic setting at night where you can indulge in a feast cooked by Maria Pia with wonderful restaurant standard food presented with detail by Marcello. Please do not miss the opportunity to stay here, it may be expensive to many people (Tuscany in general is not cheap) but it worth it, I can honestly say it is one of the best holidays we have been on, staying here was a major contributing factor, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanafcdons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at Bolsinina in August and had a wonderful time. The appartment and the surroundings are very clean and well looked after by Marchello. Bolsinina lies between 16 and 20 kilometers south of Sienna. Just perfect to make day trips in the Tuscan country side. Marchello is very helpful with information about what to see and the best way to get there.
In the morning Maria hangs her menu plan for the evening by the kitchen door. Then you can decide if you want all four courses or just two. The evening meal is the high point of the day. I have never eaten such good food as I have here. Typical tuscan. Marchello has a great selection of wine, and between the two of them they organise a fantastic evening .
There is also a pool at Bolsinina and after a day out sightseeing it is just great to relax in the tranquility of the garden.
My family and I have been in many hotels , but Bolsinina is certainly the best.
Marchello and Maria are a super team and do all that is possible to make your stay a perfect one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalzburgVroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Incredible food, welcome, warmth, pool, views...a perfect stay.
Marcelo and Maria do everything to make your stay perfect, advice on travel, the region, wine (he is a specialist).
A very classy place, beautiful pool area, lovely views of the Tuscan hills. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hager530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family of Five just returned from a four day stay at the beautiful Casa Bolsinina.From the moment we arrived were so warmly received by our hosts .The "agriturismo" is actually a sprawling villa high in the Tuscan Hills. It is beautifully appointed with antique furnishings and lovely paintings,. a pool and air conditioning.The rooms are spotless and are so comfortable. Everything you need is provided.The views from our rooms were spectacular. Each morning we were served a most delicious breakfast buffet,complete with cured meats ,cheeses,fruit ,home baked goods and many more delicious items.Marcello is very helpful with driving directions and sight seeing suggestions. DO NOT MISS THE DINNERS HERE.They are lovingly and expertly prepared with such attention to detail by Marcello and his wife. You can choose to have a 2,3,or 4 course meal.We always choose the 4 course--and you will too!! .,They were the best meals we had eaten in Tuscany! This beautiful place is a very ,very good value. I loved it so much I cried when we left last week! I hope to return here someday.Thank you to everyone at Casa Bolsinina It was our best vacation stay EVER !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skibunny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We loved Casa Bolsinina. It was the perfect setting and the perfect location. The owners did everything possible to make our stay a joy and they succeeded. All the rooms have beautiful views and the public rooms are inviting. It was so hard to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn60726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We spent one week at Casa Bolsinina - and it was just perfect. Marcello and Maria Pia try everything to make you happy. We've rented one of the two apartments to be a bit more independent. The apartment was spacious, and we had two sunlounges, a table and chairs for us to sit outside.
After a couple of hours spent sightseeing, the pool is the perfect cool-down. :)
Casa Bolsinina is perfect for either just staying there and relax or for touring the most famous spots of Tuscany (Montalcino, Montepulciano, Siena,...).
You can have dinner there, too. It is a fixed menu and a bit pricey, but we'd definitely recommend it: the food is delicious!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatef80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteroni d'Arbia
4.6 mi away
Hotel More Di Cuna
Hotel More Di Cuna
#2 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Borgo Antico
Borgo Antico
#1 of 6 in Monteroni d'Arbia
387 reviews
15.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Castello di San Fabiano
Castello di San Fabiano
#2 of 18 in Monteroni d'Arbia
170 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo San Fabiano
Agriturismo San Fabiano
#2 of 3 in Monteroni d'Arbia
191 reviews
6.9 mi away
Agriturismo San Giorgio
Agriturismo San Giorgio
#4 of 18 in Monteroni d'Arbia
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bolsinina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bolsinina

Address: Localita' Caggiolo, 53014, Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range: $100 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bolsinina 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bolsinina is located in a marvellous panoramic position,about 20 km far from Siena and Montalcino. The Main House,which is a great old building from the end of 18th century, is divided in two floors : the ground floor is a common open space,with billiard table and fireplace.At the first floor,there are 6 rooms (all with bathroom with shower and air conditioned), an elegant dinner room and a balcony,where the Guests can enjoy the magnificent surroundings. A great garden, a courtyard full of flowers,the outdoor swimming pool complete the 12 ectars property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Bolsinina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bolsinina Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing