We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very beautiful place to stay in Siena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castello di San Fabiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I was there for two days. The place is marvelous and the surroundings also are. Is a castle placed in the middle of crops, surrounded by nature - hills, trees, crops - ideal to breath pure air.
The food is excellent and the service is also great. The family that owns the house are very gentle and kind. Really good housekeeping.
Is not a "hotel", so you will find yourself more like in a family house. The place is very quiet so you can have time for meditation and reflection.
It is not far away from Siena (only 15 min. by car) so getting downtown is not that difficult.
Once you are there I would strongly recommend to visit the Museum of the "Duomo di Siena" is spectacular, you can't miss also the "Duomo" or Cathedral itself, a marvelous building full of history. Also the "Baptisterio" is very beautiful and you shouldn't miss it.
If you have the fortune to be there during the feast of "Palio di Siena" then there is an excellent opportunity to understand better italian culture, specially that of the Toscan region.
I hope this description helps for your future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfsardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying this great not over traveled gem of a place. The hospitality was unsurpassed, with our hosts taking the time to explain the history of both the Villa, as well as the region. My only compliant is I did not allow more time to stay here. The 360 views of the rolling Tuscan hills are un-interupted. The breakfast was wonderful, and as home made as it gets, with whole grained breads, and tasty cake. The castle with its outlying buildings, artist studio, gallery, and private family chapel was like strolling through something from an idealized movie. If you want the experience of being welcomed into a one of a kind retreat this is for you. If you are a needy tourist, Just try not spoil it, because I will be returning here my next visit.
-CDM

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorway65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Of all of the places we visited in Italy, we would have liked to have spent a lot more time at Castello di San Fabiano.

First of all, the countryside setting of this "Castle" is unbelievable. The architecture of the actual building and the surrounding buildings was magnificent. On the property there is a large castle with a tower. This is where most of the rooms are located. Also, there is a small chapel (we were told that portions of this structure date back to 800), a converted barn (at the time this space was being used for a artist's installation), and another barn/warehouse used for larger functions and gatherings. What struck me was that all of these spaces are like an artist's/designer's dream. Simply beautiful. The views out of every window were amazing as well.

The location was great (about an hour from a lot of different things). We originally booked to stay here as a base for visiting Siena but we quickly found out that we were centrally located to do a number of things. We visited San Gimignano as well as several other medieval hill top towns in the area.

The owners of the property were just as interesting as the buildings and could not have been any friendlier. I highly recommend this B&B for any type of traveler. We hope to return here soon!!! Thank you so much Beatrice!

Note: Breakfast was great. Homemade bread and jam (from organic garden on the property)!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank structo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarkaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 1903karine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pirata64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leandro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteroni d'Arbia
17.8 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Bagnaia Golf & Spa Resort Siena, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.0 mi away
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
Villa Armena Luxury Relais
#1 of 4 in Buonconvento
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
677 reviews
13.2 mi away
Castello di Tornano
Castello di Tornano
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo San Fabiano
Agriturismo San Fabiano
#2 of 3 in Monteroni d'Arbia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di San Fabiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di San Fabiano

Address: Via di San Martino, 1000, 53014, Monteroni d'Arbia, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteroni d'Arbia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Monteroni d'Arbia
Price Range: $150 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family castle with pool in Tuscany, 15 minutes drive from Siena, immersed in the quiet of the countryside in the heart of the Crete Senesi, halfway between the Chianti and Val d'Orcia. Great base to reach in less than 1 hour the major points of interest in art, culture, food and wine of Tuscany. In the morning we will welcome you with a rich buffet breakfast prepared personally by us with homemade cakes, breads,jams while cheeses and meats comes from local producers. The Castle of San Fabiano is 1 hour and 30 minutes from Florence's airport and 2 and a half hours from Rome and Pisa' airport. Near the castle you can enjoy golf, polo, tennis, horseback riding, hiking, biking, balloon rides, driving go-karts, thermal baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castello di San Fabiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di San Fabiano Italy/Province Of Siena - Monteroni D'Arbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing