We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view but you will leave hungry”
Review of Le Mesclun

Le Mesclun
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Seguret
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $54
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great view but you will leave hungry”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

After many visits to this area of France, I finally took someone up on their recommendation to eat at Le Mesclun in Seguret. My husband and I went for lunch and had a wonderful table overlooking one of the most wonderful views in all of France. The food was very creatively presented in a 4 star manner, however the portions (even for lunch) were way too small for the price charged. I have no problem with paying $$$$$$ for a wonderful meal but I would suggest having that extra pain du chocolate for breakfast before setting out to have lunch here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkjfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    110
    45
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“How do you say "boring and overpriced" in French?”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Seguret is a beautiful ancient village on a hill. What better place for views and great food? Well, we got the great views but the food was overpriced, tiny on the plate, and even worse, the main course was bland and tiny. Bland! We did the 48 Euro Prix Fix and felt ripped off -- eat in Vaison, or at Blue or Cabasse. Skip this rip off, pretentious waste of time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Outspokentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very Good Main Courses--Service Mixed”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had lunch at Le Mesclun. Our main courses were very good. My wife's starter included a terrine that was semi-frozen. I enjoyed reviewing the fine wine list. Some of the service was very warm and some of the service was a little cold. The reservationist with whom we dealt was wonderful. Because our initial contacts via email were so positive and there are so many good reviews, we may have just been there on a bad day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The terrace lunch with a view and fun food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Seguret is one of the beautiful villages of France so to eat a lovely lunch in the center of town is indeed a pleasure. The setting of Le Mesclun is relaxing, the service nice and the food is imaginative and tasty. The kids who own the place next door offer the usual French bistro fair at a decent price. You will be welcomed as a regular if you show up more than once.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank InternationalKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Artist food- expensive”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed lunch on the terrace with a fabulous view today. One prix fix was 95 euros, one was 48 euros one was 35 euros and the one we selected was 29 euros. The starter was a beautiful salad with a lovely balsamic dressing and a butttery piece of provencal bread with duck. It was excellent. The main course was monk fish with shrimp, potatoes, peas and salmon wrapped in angel hair. It was delicious but minimal in serving size. The baskets full of wonderful homemade bread were delightful. The dessert was billed as a surprise and indeed it was. So beautifully artistic...strawberries with lemon tart, raspberry sorbet and a deliciously rich mini chocolate milk shake served in a loved angled dessert glass. For 29 euros each with tap water and no wine our meal was worth it. I'm glad we avoided the far more expensive choices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlctlc49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mesclun also viewed

Seguret, Vaucluse
Gigondas, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to Le Mesclun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing