We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for tea and Krumpets!”
Review of Kitsch Kafe

Kitsch Kafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Excideuil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Kitsch Kafé is a boutique coffee house in the medieval town of Excideuil, France. Dedicated to serving the perfect cup of coffee and becoming a daily necessity for local coffee addicts, it provides a cosy, intimate space to meet friends, read a book, get online, or just ‘be’. With the worldwide growing demand and expectation for high-quality gourmet coffee and great service, Kitsch Kafé offers an artisanal coffee experience, complimented by select savoury and sweet delights. As an added attraction, a mini emporium of products and services are available to browse and purchase.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you are in Excideuil or close by, this is the place to meet or just chill out alone with a good book (from the 2nd hand 'book shop' behind) and try some of Vicki's now infamous carrot cake or home made crumpets or cup cakes or soup... lots of choice and all delicious and home made. Cappuccino made properly, not French style and tea the same! No wonder the French love it too.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mbfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsheadcase, Owner at Kitsch Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, it is much appreciated! The Karrot Kake has definitely become a hit following its appearance on 'Little England' and it looks like it will become a staple offering. Very handy that from a marketing perspective it links so well with the 'k'rumpets, 'k'offee, 'k'up 'k'akes and general 'k'itschness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Kitsch Kafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 71 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Vicki, the owner, works very hard and serves delicious savory or sweet crumpets. Funky little cafe with a lovely atmosphere that is frequented by Brits and French. Great spot for a cup of tea. Best attraction is the gorgeous dog!

Thank lepeyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsheadcase, Owner at Kitsch Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your review! Our dog Puck loves coming into the cafe too, as he is always assured plenty of pats and of course liver treats that I keep behind the counter for any canine visitors :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited this cafe twice during our recent holiday and really enjoyed both visits. Cafe owner Victoria has created a warm, welcoming place for residents and visitors to meet, chat and use the internet. It has been decorated with creative flair, featuring original paintings and collectables. The tea, Krumpets and kup kakes are really delicious and clearly a hit with the locals. A great addition to Excideuil!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fairlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsheadcase, Owner at Kitsch Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you so much for you taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated! We love meeting and chatting with new (and of course existing) customers and we hope to see you next time you are in Excideuil :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visiting friends who live in nearby Payzac we stopped in here for a late lunch after fun on the nearby velorail.

It was highly recommended by our friends children, but didn't know what to expect. Kids and adults alike are treated to a friendly welcome and superb crumpets (savoury and sweet).

Service was first class and the prices are very reasonable too.

As others have said, the only downside is it gets very busy...whilst we were there several people were turned away due to no free tables.

We will definitely be visiting again.....probably during our current visit as well as future visits to the area.

Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsheadcase, Owner at Kitsch Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Ohhhh, so that's why you were all so hungry, you'd just done the Velorail!!!

Thank you thank you thank you for your excellent review, I am so glad you enjoyed your trip to Kitsch Kafe. The thing however that makes my job so much easier is that pretty much every customer who comes in is absolutely lovely and a pleasure to serve!

Hope to see you again sometime soon :-)

Vicki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The owner is a lovely lady with a big smile and warm welcome. She is always buzzing around and seems busy all the time! But everything is efficient and served in timely fashion and although the offering is limited to tasty snacks and so on it suits a quick bite and a cup of coffee.

The main problem with this place is that it is too popular! The tables are often full especially at 'rush hour' lunch time etc. We couldn't even get a seat outside when the weather was hot - and we had 2 weeks of 35C plus whilst we were there recently! Excideuil is yet another of these painfully pretty little French towns of which we have so few left in England. You can walk around the tiny cobbles streets enjoying the the medieval architecture and there is a 'history' walk which explains the past - although in French of course! Thursday mornings there is a wonderful street market to buy cheese, olives, seafood, veggies - even a live duck if you fancy it! As well as clothing and household goods. Sunday morning a 'brocante' or flea market takes over the town! We bought some beautiful plates at 50c each and there are some real bargains.

The region is achingly beautiful too with places of interest such as The Château de Hautefort nearby and plenty of other activities like visiting a 'grotte; or cave, and river canoeing (safe for children) and so on: all in easy reach. A good base for any holiday would be Camping de la Base de Loisirs de Rouffiac (about 15 minutes drive from Excideuil) which has a Teleski lake where you can waterski, and a fantastic lakeside beach with safe swimming areas. A real hidden gem of a place! Even if you don't stay here you can have a day's visit and it's free if you just want to swim and sunbathe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JumpinJackFlash60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsheadcase, Owner at Kitsch Kafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and also for the great write-up you have given Excideuil itself! It truly is a wonderful town and hopefully upon reading your fabulous description of it and its environs, more visitors will stop by to appreciate it. Should you come back for another visit - please do stop and say hi. Hopefully it won't be as busy and we can actually chat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitsch Kafe also viewed

 
Cherveix Cubas, Dordogne
Cherveix Cubas, Dordogne
 

Been to Kitsch Kafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing