We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place friendly hosts we were at a wedding and it was perfect for us”
Review of Home Sweet Home

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Excideuil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Home Sweet Home
Ranked #2 of 3 Excideuil B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place friendly hosts we were at a wedding and it was perfect for us”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had our first b&b cancelled 24 hours before we left the uk and they arranged for us to stay here and im glad they did they were so warm and friendly towards us the village is a lovely quite place with a market on thursdays the perfect place to relax and explore,told us great places to eat and the secret man made beach 10mins away made our stay perfect lovely and relaxing & was a pleasure to meet ron & sylvia

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, Owner at Home Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
It's very easy to get a bit blase about the reviews we get,but we do appreciate every one of them.
The hard work Sylvia puts into it makes our B & B the success it is.
Like any other enterprise we only succeed by treating our guests with respect and kindness.

Thanks for the lovely review,lets hope we meet again
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Thanks to Ron & Sylvia for their warm welcome to Home Sweet Home. Booking arrangements were so easy and Ron was really helpful advising how best to make our way from London. Tea and coffee or a cool drink on arrival. A perfect place to relax in our spacious and clean room, or in Sylvia's lovely garden. We wandered into the village (Excideuil) for a wonderful meal and Saturday's market at nearby Perigueux is a must. Ron & Sylvia really looked after us to make our stay special. They also kindly arranged a local taxi / transfer to and from Chateau La Durantie where friends were married. David & Keith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushtiecook, Owner at Home Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We really enjoyed having you as guests and are so pleased that you had time to look around the area.Thank you fur such a good review any time you fancy a break you know where we are and you will always be welcome.
Once again thank you for the appreciation.

Ron & Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very warm welcome and a real French residence to remind me of my younger days living in France. Kitchen had all we needed for self-catering, large room, and all very clean, and all facilities available in the apartment, and so quiet. I slept well, and woke to sun shining though large and light rooms. Large lounge with tv, music system, and games/books to use if enough time and energy...... Enjoyed the stay and would recommend the apartment for a couple or two friends wanting a base to roam the lovely countryside. Very independant place with own entrance, but lovely to sit in the garden with the hosts for a drink and chat on return from a long day out.
Will definately go back to Home Sweet Home when I visit Excideuil again next year.
Glad we found you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushtiecook, Owner at Home Sweet Home, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
How charming of you,we enjoy making our guests as comfortable as possible and it's nice to know we succeed.
Meeting you and your mother, a quite astonishing lady of 98, was a pleasure for both of us.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks

Ron & ylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went to The Dordogne region for a wedding and we weren’t sure what to expect in this part of the France but were extremely pleased in everything it had to offer. The beauty and culture were breath taking.
What really made this stay extra especial was the hospitality of Silvia and Ron. The care, the warmth and attention they showed made us feel right at home. Especially for our 3 year old son who was extremely happy with his stay and all of his chats with Silvia.
We recommend Home Sweet Home, 100%
We have already told all of our friends about it.
D, R & C

Room Tip: Can’t seem to get rid of the Fitness centre and room service as obviously being a B & B this isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushtiecook, Owner at Home Sweet Home, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Many thanks for the good review,it's comforting to know that our efforts are appreciated by our guests ,particularly those that are as pleasant as you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed with Sylvia and Ron for 3 nights but so wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms were very tastefully decorated and were very very clean. We stayed in the family room, which was fantastic. The breakfast was lovely. Sylvia and Ron are very knowledgable about he area and recommended some lovely places for families in the area. We are going back on 20th August for a week, 3 nights was never going to be enough. Cant wait :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are so quiet, you will never have a better nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

An amazing stay with lovely rooms and amenities. The owners, Ron & Sylvia made us feel really welcome and gave some great tips of things to do in and around the Dordogne. We would definitely come back to the town again and would choose Home Sweet Home every time.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Attending a wedding in the local area we were looking for nearby accomodation that would offer a tranquil and relaxing break from all the partying and we could not have done any better than Home Sweet Home! We received a very warm and friendly welcome from Ron, Sylvia and Scruffy, who went out of their way to help us navigate the local area and make our stay feel as we were were staying with friends. The room was clean and bright with the added comfort of chilled water on arrival as well as fresh milk for our tea - it was perfect after a long journey! Would recommend in an instant and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Excideuil
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Fin Chapon
Hostellerie du Fin Chapon
#1 of 1 in Excideuil
41 reviews
9.0 mi away
Auberge de la Truffe - Hotel de la Mairie
2.3 mi away
Domaine D'essendieras
Domaine D'essendieras
#1 of 1 in Excideuil
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aux Delices d'Excideuil
Aux Delices d'Excideuil
#1 of 3 in Excideuil
121 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home

Property: Home Sweet Home
Address: 11 avenue du Docteur Tocheport, 24160 Excideuil, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Excideuil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Excideuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Perigord Vert,the home of the truffle and foie gras,we are approximately halfway between Limoges (famous for it's porcelain)and Bergerac (renowned for it's wines)Within 1 hrs driving distance to the tourist hot spots on the Dordogne river, but with the advantages of tranquility. Famous for it's breathtaking walks, good fishing and safe cycling. Make Excideuil your pied a terre in the Dordogne. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing