We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
44
13
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
13
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadspeaks perfect englishstayed hereyogurtfluent in englishan easy driveother gueststhe perfect hostperfect locationhome away from hometwo nightseach morningfront lineb and bcommunal kitchennext morningchristine makes
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 60 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

Ah it was lovely! Easy to find and after driving for a long time from England to here it was lovely to be greeted by Christine. What an absolute gem she is she speaks perfect English and was so accommodating and helpful. We went into Albert which was a good recommendation from her and found fabulous food there. Also very close to all WW1 sites and Somme memorials.
It was lovely to hear the cows at night and in morning. Our room was a double which was perfectly comfortable and clean. I did bang my head on the beam when got out of bed but I coped! The bathroom was clean and functional. Christine made a super substantial breakfast for us in morning with homemade bread and yogurt which were delicious.
She is a very interesting lady and very open and honest. We were going to take her with us to Italy as a stowaway but I think her family would miss her!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

After a busy trip around Europe, we wanted to end our holiday in the Somme, so stayed here for our last 2 nights. On arrival, we were greeted by Christine, who was very warm and welcoming. She showed us our room, which was beautiful and homely. There was a communal kitchen, which had everything we needed inc a high chair for our toddler. Our stay was peaceful and was the perfect location for us. Christine prepared beautiful breakfasts for us each morning and was the perfect host. We were very sad to leave and if we are ever visiting the Somme again, we would not hesitate in staying here again,

Many thanks again Christine xx

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank williamsO4952OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017

This is a very interesting place to stay. Christine, the host, is a very warm and engaging person. She stresses her place is supposed to be a home away from home, and treats her guests that way. She is also very knowledgeable about the area's WW1 history. The premise is a converted stable with three bedrooms. We stayed in the one on the main floor. It is equipped with an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen facilities are across the hall. The kitchen was outfitted with everything we needed. Christine makes her guests welcome to prepare other meals beside the breakfast she provides. We took advantage of this. We stayed 4 nights and when we come to the area again, we will return to her wonderful place. She also charges very reasonable rates. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

We stayed 4 nights with Christine playing the perfect hostess. She was very personable, speaking to us each morning over breakfast and was eager to tell us about the areas to visit as well as great recommendations for dinner each night. It is perfectly located to see Amiens, Arras and all of the WWI sites in the Somme area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

L'Martinierre is a great base if you are exploring The Somme. We had a twin room which was very clean and tidy and great value.

We received a very warm welcome from the owner - Christine - who could not be more helpful.

Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

Would definitely recommend and will almost certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Kevin1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews