We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back there again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Courcelles-au-Bois
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were back here again for the second time in October. This is a wonderful French farm b&b in a small village in the middle of the rural Somme area. It is our accommodation of choice in this area. There is a kitchen which is great as we can do our evening meal when we come back (if you don't use a restaurant in Albert). Christine speaks totally fluent English and has lots of local information at her finger tips. It's great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very relieved to arrive in Courcelles, having limped there several kilometres on a dodgy tyre! In all honesty our first impressions were not of unbounded delight, but we are not seasoned visitors to France so probably had rather rose-tinted glasses. The villages were not as picturesque as we'd imagined, and Courcelles was no exception to this: a bit run down and ramshackle, as was our first impression of L'Amartinierre as we drove in though the enormous waggon gates into the courtyard. The yard was not a sweep of deep crunchy gravel, the garden not bedecked with roses and no neat rows of veg in a potager. What there was instead was a very warm welcome from Cristine Pecourt, our hostess, who spoke perfect English, and is one of the kindest and most good-humoured people you will ever be likely to meet. She doesn't come in a pack of one either: there are three charming and very well mannered junior Pecourts, a delightful and equally well-mannered family dog, Fiji, and a Mr Pecourt who we didn't meet as, being a farmer, he was taken up with the wheat harvest working all the hours God sends. Christine gave up a considerable amount of her time and directed all her efforts in helping us find a solution to the car problem, which included hours of her time on the telephone, driving my husband to the nearest supermarket (two villages away) for us to buy provisions to sustain us in the absence of a car to get us to nearby restaurants, and entertaining us with quizzes when we were getting despondent about ever being able to return to the UK. All this over a week-end in August when most of France seemed to have shut up shop and gone on holiday!

Now to practicalities: L'Armartinierre is very conveniently situated for the Somme, so if this is your primary aim you are in the right place. It only does B&B, so make sure you carry a spare wheel, don't trust 'run-flat' tyres or have plenty of other provisions if you can't make it to a restaurant. Having said this, Christine's breakfasts will set you up for the day: fruit juice, her own home-made (and best ever tasted) yoghourt, her own home-made bread and brioche, her own home-made jams (strawberry, rhubarb and blackcurrant), pain au chocolat and coffee. Bedrooms were large and airy, beds very comfortable and the whole place very quiet. Decor is quaintly 'country'. Breakfast is taken with other guests around one farmhouse-style table in the guest annexe, so either book the whole place out for your party (three rooms totalling 6 to 8 guests) or muck in with others as you find them. We had the pleasure of sharing it with a very congenial French couple with next-to-no English. It was amazing how well we all got on considering we had next-to-no French. The kitchen is not exactly in the first flush of youth, but there is a kettle, fridge, microwave, hob and small electric oven if you really do want to self-cater or if, like us, you find yourself stranded on an August week-end with no restaurant for miles!

We get the impression that as funds become available the Pecourts have a programme of continuous improvement: of the three bedrooms, Melody (downstairs) and Neptune (upstairs) had fresh decor and updated shower rooms. Orca (also upstairs) was a bit tired looking with a rather small shower room that was sulking that it was last in line for the sprucing-up programme. But everything was clean and functioned fine. The hall and kitchen could do with a make-over but again, everything worked. And one important point: lashings of hot water!

Any of you worried about us, we did make it back in the end and are immensely grateful to Christine for making our stay with her, in rather difficult circumstances, such a pleasure. If any of you are a bit nifty on the football front, you could follow my husband's lead and have a penalty shoot-out competition with Axel, the eldest of the junior Pecourts. My husband really enjoyed it, despite losing.

I hope this will give you an accurate flavour of what to expect. And if you go there, please pass on a big kiss to Christine; she really is one of life's 'good eggs'.

Room Tip: Neptune and Melody have updated decor and more spacious shower rooms than Orca. Orca and Neptune ar...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NowVoyager56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamartinierre, Owner at Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

To all my dear guests,

I try another time to post a response ( lots of bugs) to all your so kind reviews and to thank everyone for the time taken.

As for the guest house, after the floods of snow through the first floor's ceilings in march, the painters have made a good job during the second week of July and I am on my way to change the wall paper in the stairwell (on my spare time so that is going slowly but surely) ;-) ...
We hope to change also the wall paper in Orca's bedroom this winter.

You are all in my heart and I will be delighted to see you again one day, whenever you come in our moving region, "where people have in the heart the sunshine they don't get outside " (that is from a french song about the people here)

best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend with my partner, Christine was so helpful and could not do enough for us. The accommodation was amazing, it is a very quiet area which is just what we wanted. The surrounding area is beautiful. You will need a car to get around but that's not a problem. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Thank you once again to Christine and her family for making our stay such a nice one.
Ross & Charlotte

Room Tip: Neptune room was a very nice room
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We, two couples, came to visit the battlefields and attend the Memorial Service at Villers Bretonneux. We were hoping for a quiet little village stay and we were not disappointed. Christine greeted us with her bright cheery personality and we immediately knew this was for us. We occupied the two upstairs bedrooms, Neptune and Orca which were large and airy and very comfortable. The kitchen was great - although we did not actually cook much, it was so good to come home after a busy day and relax over a bowl of soup or similar simple meal. Breakfast was really good, just loved the home made yoghurt.
Being only 20 mins from Albert and close to many of the sites we were interested in made this an ideal base for us. We travelled to Albert to catch the shuttle bus to the service at Villers Bretonneux which was an easy drive even at that early hour.
Christine was there to offer help and being non French speaking we appreciated this. It was also delightful to see the children playing in the yard, so homely. This was the perfect spot for us and we would like to thank Christine and her family for a very memorable stay in the Somme.
Nancy, her husband Cliff, brother Doug and his wife Deirdre
from Brisbane and Mulgowie, Queensland, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were met by Christine, who was very jovial despite us not arriving until 20:00, and shown to our room. The room was perfect for what we needed (a shower and a good nights sleep) followed in the morning by a simple but ample breakfast that set us up for the morning. Albert is the nearest town - 10 miles so either eat before you arrive or bring dinner and prepare in the kitchen/dining area.
If you're looking for peace and quiet you'll do a lot worse than staying here. We'll definitely stay again when we're back in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stumpy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Would just like to say a big thank you to Christine our host, Myself and my son completed yet another Battlefield tour of the Somme which we do on a regular basis. We have stayed in many different establishments over the years but now we have found the best and we intend to return again next year.We recieved a warm welcome and were then shown our accomodation which was perfect for our trip, (The most comforable beds ever in our twin room), We had use of the kitchen which was perfect for our needs.Continental style breakfast was provided at whichever time suited us.The courtyard is ideal for off street parking and security. Fantastic value for money, a real bargain.The area is ideal for seeing the Somme battlefields. Choose this one, as we think its great and we will return. Thanks again Christine see you again next year !!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed here twice this year and will be going back there again in February.The rooms are beautiful and clean with lovely comfortable beds.The place is so peaceful and quiet you can really relax and enjoy a wonderful nights sleep.Christine is delightful and speaks perfect English - nothing is too much trouble for her and she always comes across to have a chat and make sure everything is ok.Having the dining room and self catering option is great and if you want breakfast Christine will provide this.As a base for exploring the Somme it is excellent and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme

Address: 1 rue de Mailly Maillet | Albert, 80560 Courcelles-au-Bois, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Courcelles-au-Bois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Courcelles-au-Bois
Price Range: $48 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly welcome in our lovely typical farm-house in WW1 battlefields area; 10km from THIEPVAL, 14 km from ALBERT & POZIERES, 25km from Villers Bretonneux.Independant guest house with 3 romantic en-suite bedrooms + KITCHEN/living room. FREE WIFI. Fluent English spoken. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chambres D'hotes L'Amartinierre- Somme Courcelles-Au-Bois, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing