We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High up in the Andes” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Termas de Papallacta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Termas de Papallacta
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papallacta
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High up in the Andes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at the unique hotel during a trip across the Andes, where it is located. Apart from the 10,000 ft + elevation, what distinguishes it from many others is its thermal pools, where guests can lounge after a day on the road (before taking a cold dip if they literally have the heart). The rooms are in thatched covered bungalows spread around the well maintained garden where the pools are. Comfort is basic. Heat is supposed to come from hot water circulating under the floor, but we don't think our room was so equipped. In spite of the elevation, however, we were not cold during the night. Food was served in a very nice dining room. But, as in most places where we stayed in Ecuador, while perfectly adequate, it was not gourmet (potatoes, potatoes!). This being said, I recommend the experience.
I cannot comment on "value" since we were on a tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELAQUERIERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    252
    76
    28
    12
See reviews for
178
308
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston VA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hot springs are wonderful. There is a choice of pools to share or be alone in. They even include a polar pool for cooling off. They allowed us champagne and glasses at the springs. The food in the restaurant is delightful. The owners also own a trout farm and raise their own seafood. Worth a taste. The rooms, however, are spartan. Space heaters provide warmth in the cold mountain night. Ours only worked partially. They say that the floors are heated by the hot springs underneath but ours was freezing. Beds were a strange mix. Our room had a double bed and bunk beds. However, since the room was so cold, we were happy to sleep close together. The wireless internet connection would not allow me to remain online. But overall, the water is worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Love the mood there, with the hot water spring pools and the mist flowing over, hot and cold at once... the sound of the river next to some cabins, and the fog falling at night make it terribly romantic, even with kids. The quaint old fashioned rooms, with the chimneys inside, keeps everybody warm. The kids slept in a loft area upstairs, and my husband and I in a room, with the door closed!
My only complaint is this terrible way of paying they have here, where you must pay ahead, or your reservation is cancelled. Even though I called more than once to have the information (total, duedate, etc) sent to my email, they never did. Then call me an hour before my deadline demanding I pay. Used to American way, where credit cards will do, or you pay when you check out, this was terribly uncomfortable and weird, not to say rude in the way they called. The staff in the Quito office have absolutely no people skills whatsoever, being rude and selfrighteous. They have no costumer policies and since they are pretty much the only fancy hotel in that area, they feel they can treat tourists like crap.
Once in the hotel, the people there are absolutely enchanting, kind and attentive. They all strive to make your stay perfect.
Would definitely recommend, but beware of the payment.

Room Tip: North cabins are for families, but even if it's just you and a partner, they are extremely affor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Beautiful drive from Quito! All about tranquility, relaxation and healing...soaking in hot thermal pools scattered through the landscaped courtyards and breathing the cool fresh mountain air. The rooms are all on ground level, facing into the various courtyards and pools - so a pool is literally steps from your door. Rooms are basic but comfortable with space heaters, purified water (drink lots!) and extra towels for the pools. The Spa is very nice with many service options - our masseuses were very good. You can use thermal pools in the spa area between treatments; they serve light snacks here as well. The main restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found the food to be adequate, but not great except my fresh grilled trout was delicious! Enjoyed too the short (one mile round trip?) hike past the llamas and along a pretty mountain stream. **Termas is in a high altitude cloudforest - it is frequently damp and cold...but do watch for the Volcano on a clearer day - it is right up close and spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCouple82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Been here twice. Love the hot springs right outside your door! Rooms, showers, etc. very nice. Beautiful location!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaykay48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

loved the thermal springs... literally right outside your door! Don't forget to take advantage of the terrific hikes that originate on the Termas de Papallacta property. Amazing views of the volcano Antisana which is the fourth highest volcano in Ecuador, at 5,753 metres (18,875 ft). Fresh trout farmed on the property is on the menu. The rooms have no TV or phone... and the lighting could be better. There is a TV in the lounge area (Bar), and internet service above the lobby area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Catch your breath.... literary.... sitting on more then 10.000 ft elevation this place is really the place to relax. The road by bus is long and slow going up and down the mountainous area (road tops over 13.000 ft) and some dirt road that makes you wonder where it would lead to....But when you get there all is well and beautiful....After a rapid check in for our group of over 50 we went to our rooms; Some in wood log cabins or some in side by side brick cabins across the dirt road and a rapid flowing stream. The rooms were nice and clean with natural thermal heated floors and firm beds. Each cabin had a semi individual thermal pools in front of it. But walk a little up hill and enjoy the larger and nicer thermal pools. Some are hotter then the others and there are also cold water dunk pools.The steam grotto is also unique.....look for the hidden wooden door. Then there is the Spa...MAN.. fabulous!! and inexpensive in comparison with similar treatments. The area is nice and peaceful and a great eco-tourism location. The food was ok nothing wild and staff was very nice. The Front office manager I think his name is Brion was very friendly and helpful. The front office and surrounding architecture are fabulous. The surrounding grounds could get some more completion and attention (entrance road) Beware of altitude sickness above 10.000 feet symptoms are headache, nausea and shortness of breath. There is a doctor at the resort and the staff will recommend some herbal (coca leaf) tea used for centuries by the indigenous people.
All n all a one night stay was way to short. I hope to return some day for an extended stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singingcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papallacta
16.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
21.6 mi away
Wyndham Quito Airport
Wyndham Quito Airport
#14 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hotel Tababela Resort
Hotel Tababela Resort
#94 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hosteria San Carlos Tababela
0.0 mi away
Cotococha Amazon Lodge
18.2 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Viajero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Termas de Papallacta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Papallacta

Property: Termas de Papallacta
Address: Km 65 via Baeza, Papallacta 150753, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Papallacta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papallacta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Termas de Papallacta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Termas de Papallacta is a Hot Springs SPA, Resort & Convention Center nestled in a majestic valley of the high Andes only 45 minutes driving distance, 31 miles (50 kilometers) from the new Quito Airport. We are located at Km 65 on the way to Baeza following the Interoceanic road. Our resort is on the "Cinnamon Trail", the same route that the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Orellana took in 1542 when he crossed the Andean mountain range searching for gold and other treasures, and which unexpectedly led him to discover the Amazon River. Papallacta is the doorway to the Ecuadorian Amazon region, despite being in the Ecuadorian Highlands at an altitude of 10.827 feet (3.300 meters) above sea level and of an average daytime temperature of 14°C (57°F). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Termas de Papallacta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Termas De Papallacta Hotel Quito
Termas De Papallacta Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing