We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PERFECT resort for lazy travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Termas de Papallacta
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papallacta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We live in Otavalo, Ecuador and were having friends from the States come visit us. We picked them up in Quito and took a bus from the station to Papallacta the next day. I think the bus said Baeza on the side and it was just a few dollars. The road to Papallacta is beautiful, but at some parts not for the faint of heart. (dirt roads, curvy, steep drop-offs with no guardrails...) We got off at the fork of the road just before the bus continues on to Baeza and had some cold beers at the La Choza Don Wilson before hailing down a truck that all seven of us road up the hill for 60 cents. It drops you right at the door of Termas de Papallacta. We got a large, 2-story cabin with kitchenette and fireplace. Several private hot pools were right outside our door. The staff was pretty friendly (but not overly) and the maids let us peek inside the other non-cabin rooms. They were very clean and cheery, but not near as awesome as our cabin. The grounds are full of huge heated thermal pools and you can swim all day in a different pool of different temps and depths. Our group ranged from age 6 to 56 and we all had a GREAT time, however this town and resort is in the middle of NOWHERE and there's not much to do but relax, which was PERFECT for our group. We did a self-guided hiking tour which you can discover lot of flora and fauna including llamas that let you pet them. For a fee there were also longer hikes and horse-back riding, but not much else, so bring a book if you bore easily. We ate at the restaurant once, but the prices are "Americanized" and food wasn't special, so we instead walked down the road out of the resort to the other small hostels which also had restaurants with great, cheap, authentic food. And since they don't get much business, they bent over backwards to make our meals extra special. Another thing to keep in mind is the weather. I brought a terry-cloth robe to wear when walking from pool to pool because the altitude there is still quite high making for chilly and cloudy days. I saw other wet guests shivering and running to hurry and get into the next hot pool. All in all, this resort is worth the price we paid for the cabin and I WILL be back!

Room Tip: Cabins have their own fireplace and private pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chelseaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 836 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

The hotel is a quaint place, extremely cozy and the hot springs are AWESOME!!!! The rooms are OK (nothing fancy) but less than 10 feet from your door is a pool of hot spring water, then adjacent to that - another pool, and another, all with varying temperatures. This is one of the most relaxing experiences I have had in quite a while.

I love spas and have a spa treatments once each month. I must say this ranks at the top of the list for spas. The spa at Papallacta was awesome! I don’t think I have ever been so relaxed in my life, the lighting, sound, scent, temperature and of course the massage sent me into a celestial coma. You must try the Andean Mud wrap and the thermal cave.....both AMAZING. My husband and I also enjoyed the couples massage and the facial.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Making our plans to travel through Ecuador this was our plan to escape the busy life, a relax between our travels.
We never would have wanted to miss this, wow everything we wanted and more!
Top quality service by staff, the best food and nobody running after you... This is your time and they make you feel like that.
We had special moments plan and would advise this to everybody, and that massage... really can't find anything unconfortable about this.
So take a stop at papallacta on your way from quito to baños, it's highly recommended.
Erwin and Cristina ( from holanda and Ecuador )

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erwinnercmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Aside of the magnificent hot springs in the middle of the Andes, you will enjoy the great kitchen at the restaurante, combined with excellent service. We took the "Momentos Especiales" package, for a couple. The massages included in the package were pretty disappointing; the SPA is run separately from the hotel. It was a busy time of the year (Carnaval) and the public pools were crowded. The hot springs near the rooms were not that hot and they were cleaning some of them (bad timing!) but the hot springs at the SPA location were really good.

Room Tip: Hotel is better than cabins if you are just two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed at this wonderful place while on Friendly Planet Exotic Ecuador tour. Aaaaahhh! Loved the thermal waters right outside the room. Food was delicious -try the wonderful fruit juices- guanabana or blackberries yum! My only complaint is that the wifi did not work with iPhone or itouch you have to have the connection page open while you surf the net ( not able to do this on mobile device ) but they did have a pc for public use on the second floor which I was too tired to use.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Nothing like driving through the spectacular scenes of the Ecuadorian Andes and getting to this peaceful place. Nice rooms, private hot spring pools, fireplace, wine....what else do you need.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Hotel Spa Termas de Papallacta sits in the shadow of 4,500 metre Antisana, right next to the public spas in the tiny town of Papallacta. The public spas are great, but for a reasonable amount of privacy and super easy access – check in to Termas de Papallacta.

The hotel is a quaint place, extremely cosy and kind of wraps around you in a relaxing glow. The rooms are basic and my bathroom was perhaps a bit cold, but less than three metres from my door was a pool of hot spring water, then adjacent to that - another pool, and another, all with varying temperatures. From my door it looked like a crazy-golf course of hot springs.

The restaurant serves fantastic Ecuadorian cuisine and the restaurant staff were kind of loco, in an entertaining way of course. The front desk was manned by Byron, the nicest man in Ecuador and possibly the whole of South America.

I’m not a spa kind of a guy normally (although there has been a significant amount of spa activity this trip) so don’t have much to compare with, but the spa at Papallacta – awesome! I don’t think I have ever been so relaxed in my life, the lighting, sound, scent, temperature and of course the massage sent me into a celestial coma.

Hotel Spa Termas de Papallacta will be a highlight on your itinerary.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papallacta
16.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
20.6 mi away
Quito Polo Club Airport Boutique Hotel
18.4 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palmar del Rio Premium Hotel
21.6 mi away
Wyndham Quito Airport
Wyndham Quito Airport
#12 of 113 in Quito
907 reviews
13 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria Guaytara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Termas de Papallacta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Papallacta

Address: Km 65 via Baeza, Papallacta 150753, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Papallacta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Papallacta
Price Range: $156 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Termas de Papallacta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Termas de Papallacta is a Hot Springs SPA, Resort & Convention Center nestled in a majestic valley of the high Andes only 45 minutes driving from the new Quito Airport and 1 hour from Quito city. We are located at Km 65 on the way to Baeza following the Interoceanic road. Our resort is on the "Cinnamon Trail", the same route that the Spanish conquistador Francisco de Orellana took in 1542 when he crossed the Andean mountain range searching for gold and other treasures, and which unexpectedly led him to discover the Amazon River. Papallacta is the doorway to the Ecuadorian Amazon region, despite being in the Ecuadorian Highlands at an altitude of 10.827 feet (3.300 meters) above sea level and of an average daytime temperature of 14°C (57°F). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Termas de Papallacta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Termas De Papallacta Hotel Quito
Termas De Papallacta Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing