We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time at Quercia Rossa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Manciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a great time at your place. Good hospitality and perfect diners. Special thanks to Maria who prepared the diners.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 352 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

If you are interested in a few days escape from Rome or simply are driving North, but have gone up the A1 too many times, stop at the Quercia Rossa 2 hours up the Via Aurelia and just over the boundary into Tuscany. The last 15 minutes will be up a dusty road (you will not pass anyone else) to the top of a hill with a view a Medici would appreciate. You will be greeted by Alex or Roberto who will show you your room, if they can tear you away from looking at the view to the West to Porto SanStefano and the sea 20 km in the distance. Your room will be large and furnished with 19th century antiques.
The pool, quiet and out of sight of the house, has a similar view. Dinner on a communal table will have a printed menu with each guest's name and a kind introduction to everyone will be presented by Alex. The food will be from the garden on the left and the wine from the next village make the trip worth itself. Alex is trying to have as much local produce as possible and to have a zero carbon footprint for this very quiet and peaceful location. The sheep on the next hillside, will I am sure, agree with me. Having now sung praises for Quercia Rossa I will ask Alex that he might stretch his carbon footprint and seek wine from a little further distance. Altogether a wonderful place to return to.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
Thank siravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Quercia Rossa is far more than an average Agriturismo.It is an exquisitely situated small country in,beautifuly furnished and presided over by Alessandro.an attentive,enthusiastic,helpful host..The views are extraordinary,he rooms very chic;the bathrooms great.Dinner around a large table as delicious,and great fun as well,since we were blessed with very interesting guests to chat with.Coffee and vin Santo in the lounge created a further sense o warmth and sharing.AND......breakfast......an extraordinary treat.All these riches were part of our introduction to this most special part of Italy,creating delicious moments for us to savor for a long time.We are "Italianophiles,and give Quercia Rossaour highest praise....5***** at least !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at the Quercia Rossa based on the positive reviews and absolutely loved the place. We had a very spacious, clean and comfortable room. Great hospitality and delicious food. If you like the countryside and you need a break from the hectic city life this is what you are looking for. We will definitively come back to this lovely little rural house.
By the way, if you decide to go to the nearby thermal baths (terme di saturnia), I would avoid the private facility and go directly to the waterfalls open to the public. For sure, a much better and more enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

the road to arrive is not well asphalted, but I assure you that it deserves to take some hole to reach the great oak: quercia rossa. This great tree welcomes you and it seems that it tell yourself: you will see that when you will return home you will remember well where you have been. Alessandro, the landlord, welcomes you furnishing you all the necessary information for the stay. it is possible to remain to the rural house using the beautiful swimming pool in calm, enjoying some splendid Tuscan panorama, or to go to visit the near countries. it is also possible to go to the famous thermal baths of saturnia dipping himself the warm waters solfuree. The special moment reaches the evening to the 8,30 pm when all the guests sit him around the same table to taste the dinner. In this moment all the tastes of the Italian cuisine you can be tasted with the Tuscan specialties. drinking the famous wine morellino, at the end of the dinner you are guests in the living room to drink the coffee or tuscan liqueur (vin santo) with the famous Tuscan biscuits: cantuccini. and you can make to exchange words with the guests coming from every part of the world.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank claudiobologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We are traveling Europe and italy on our honeymoon and have been searching mostly for budget hotels and this one as a last minute deal was just a gem to find!

The hotel was just outside of the main town and about a 15 minute drive from the thermal springs. If you are looking for a wonderful retreat with spacious clean and nice rooms in a beautiful setting this is the place for you. The furniture in our room was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable and large, the bathroom was a good size (although shower is small it has good pressure) and there is a TV in your room and DVDs available. The owner speak excellent English and is friendly, very helpful and happy to give advice for traveling around the toscana region. As we arrived late we opted for the dinner which was a lovely experience, introduced to all the other guests and table is like a big family dinner table with all you can eat local food (about 50 euro for 2) for 4 courses. There is a pool (which was closed for us as it wasn’t summer) with a beautiful view of the countryside and plenty of places to sit around the property and outside your room. The breakfast which was included in the price was a good spread with fresh bread and local honey etc.

Yes the pictures do look like the website.

It is a fairly windy treck up the hill to get here but is very well signposted once you get off the main roads and we had no problems with our GPS/signpost combination.

My only complaint is that the toilet to flush was very loud which you could hear from next door in the night but that is about all I could complain about!

We would definitely stay here again and recommend staying just out of town for this one!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gray81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We travelled to the Quercia Rossa Farmhouse after visiting Florence, expecting mediocre rooms and service in the the country but were pleasently surprised. We were dumb-struck by the astounding views we had at the house and after being show to our beautiful rooms were sat outside on the porch and given classes of their home-ade wine. At dinner we were greeted by a 4 course traditional italian meal, complete with home-ade carpucci, proscutti, salami, riccota, mozzarella and home-ade pastas and meats. For dessert we then were given fresh fruit salad, chocolate tart and limoncello.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolphinreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manciano
2.9 mi away
Bio Agriturismo Podere Santa Croce
6.4 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
885 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Il Borgonuovo
Il Borgonuovo
#14 of 15 in Manciano
160 reviews
7.1 mi away
Il Cantuccio
Il Cantuccio
#2 of 15 in Manciano
232 reviews
8.0 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quercia Rossa Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quercia Rossa Farmhouse

Address: Frazione Montemerano Localita del Santarello 89 | MANCIANO (Grosseto), 58014, Manciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manciano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manciano
Price Range: $93 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quercia Rossa Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Maremma, between Siena and Rome and close to the Saturnia's Thermal Baths, Quercia Rossa is a charming Rural House with an elegant atmosphere, surrounded by hills of olive groves and vineyards.The location at the center of Maremma makes the Quercia Rossa a privileged base for discovering the charm of the wooded Grosseto countryside: Capalbio, Monte Argentario, Pitigliano, Sovana, Montemerano and the natural cascades of Saturnia, a highly desirable tourist destination where to relax with massages and thermal baths.Every morning Quercia Rossa offers breakfast in the main hall, opened on the beautiful garden with lawns, roses and cypresses, and a magic swimming pool overlooking unspoilt tuscan hills. Guests can also reserve for an intimate dinner based on the tipical flavours of Tuscany as fresh home made pasta, local meat, delicate cheese and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quercia Rossa Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Manciano
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Hotel Manciano
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Italy/Tuscany - Manciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing