We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, amazing view, in the very middle of maremma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Manciano
Certificate of Excellence
Italy, rome
1 review
“Wonderful location, amazing view, in the very middle of maremma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2009

The location is amazing, in the middle of sweet hills of Maremma, out of traditional travelling paths but, at the same time, very close to Saturnia and other places of interest. The house has all comforts, rooms are few, clean and very nice, the swimming pool dominates the valley....the view is simply wonderfull.
The dinner is traditional tuscunian and very very good; breakfast is simple but genuine.
The owners are very kind.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarabidoni73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    64
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
68
187
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay in this well run B&B/hotel. It is within easy driving distance of medieval villages, hotsprings and the beach. The character filled room we stayed in had beautiful views over the rolling hills, antique furniture, high ceiling and even a small loft with a spare bed. We had car trouble and Paul and Alessander bent over backwards to help us out and arrange everything when we were in a difficult situation.

It is nice that dinner is served for all guests at once in a long table - hearty country food and tasty wine. Unfortunately was too chilly when we stayed to use the pool. We would recommend this place on many fronts - great value for money, good location for interesting day trips, peaceful and secluded( maybe too secluded for some) and with owners who are efficient, don't smother the guests but as we found out when help is needed they do everything they can do to help.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterOHara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

it is good to relax yourself because is located in beautiful green fields but near touristic places. breakfast is excellent with local food.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ostrichetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

Finding a place to stay in Italy is not easy, in particular if you do not have personal recommendations and you want to escape mass tourism searching the property on the internet. Thus, we arrived at Quercia Rossa with high hopes but ready for anything. Once there we discovered an excellent place, located in south Tuscany, an ideal starting point to visit Maremma and the hill towns further South and East in Lazio and Umbria. Many good reasons to stay at agriturismo B&B Quercia Rossa. The property is not far from Pitigliano and about 8 km outside of Montemerano: it is a little bit of a drive (about 5 minutes: the right distance to experience the countryside, otherwise look for a front road hotel) and overlooking a beautiful valley, - just far out enough to feel the peace and tranquility of being in the country, but close enough to villages that you don't have to drive far to i.e. after bathing at Saturnia. The room was very spacious, clean, with great views and the décor was tasteful, whimsical, inviting to relax without being too ‘classic-old-tuscany’. Maria-the-cook served an organic breakfast (cereals, eggs, home made breads, fresh fruit, local fruit jams and composte, fresh yogurt, coffee) and cooked excellent dinner every evening. The hosts, Alex and Paolo, were full of great ideas for touring around (lot of unexpected places to visit: Tarochs’ Garden of Nicky de Saint-Phalle at Capalbio, or Pitigliano, or vie cave at Sovana or Saturnia Cascades or …), made reservations at any restaurant or museum, and catered to us in every way. All I can say is that this bed and breakfast exceeded our expectations in every way and if you want a comfortable, relaxing, peaceful vacation, add this to your itinerary. Highly recommended!!! (visit their website)

  • Liked — The owners are very friendly the food excellent and the location amazingly beautiful
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Etruscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2008

Located in southern Tuscany, Quercia Rossa Farmhouse, provides a quiet retreat amongst rolling green hills and panoramic views. We were please that we chose this part of Tuscany as it provided some wonderful experiences as we visited the many charming towns in easy reach of Quercia Rossa. We appreciated the comfortable surroundings at Quercia Rossa and the assistance of our helpful host Alex.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TimOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA 98801
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Everything was perfect. Our room was spacious and clean. We were welcomed with a carafe of red wine. The setting is world class. The property looks out over rolling hills covered with a variety of crops. We enjoyed dinner both nights at the property. The food was excellent and more than enough to eat. Complimentary wine was included. Breakfast was exceptional for a European location. More than enough of most everything. The owners are very nice people and are most knowledgeable about the area and helpful in arranging day trips. Marvelous sight seeing opportunities within minutes of the property. I highly recommend this low key, well maintained and operated facility.

  • Liked — Location, scenery, food and owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guadalcanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, SA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

I took my Mum to Quercia Rossa a couple of weeks ago for a 3 nights stay. We had a lovely time but just be aware that if you are staying at this house as a non-couple you need to double check that you will be given two beds! I didn't mind sharing with my Mum but we had expected to have our own beds.
The property is quite large and is very peaceful. The weather was terrible when we were there but we were ready for some relaxing after some fast paced travelling for the last two weeks.
The owners were lovely and made us feel very welcome! They gave us lots of information on the local area.
Just be aware that the property is quite rural so if you want to be close to restaurants and shops then this is not the place for you..its about 25mins from the nearest town.. but the drives to the surrounding towns are amazing! There is some beautiful ancient villages nearby Quercia Rossa. Plus the breakfast that the house provides is lovely!

  • Liked — It's friendly staff and queit location
  • Disliked — It was too far away from everything
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manciano
2.5 mi away
Relais Ciavatta
Relais Ciavatta
#3 of 4 in Montemerano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.4 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Saturno Fonte Pura
3.5 mi away
Il Borgonuovo
Il Borgonuovo
#12 of 15 in Manciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
8.0 mi away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quercia Rossa Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quercia Rossa Farmhouse

Property: Quercia Rossa Farmhouse
Address: Frazione Montemerano Localita del Santarello 89 | MANCIANO (Grosseto), 58014, Manciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manciano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quercia Rossa Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Maremma, between Siena and Rome and close to the Saturnia's Thermal Baths, Quercia Rossa is a charming Rural House with an elegant atmosphere, surrounded by hills of olive groves and vineyards.The location at the center of Maremma makes the Quercia Rossa a privileged base for discovering the charm of the wooded Grosseto countryside: Capalbio, Monte Argentario, Pitigliano, Sovana, Montemerano and the natural cascades of Saturnia, a highly desirable tourist destination where to relax with massages and thermal baths.Every morning Quercia Rossa offers breakfast in the main hall, opened on the beautiful garden with lawns, roses and cypresses, and a magic swimming pool overlooking unspoilt tuscan hills. Guests can also reserve for an intimate dinner based on the tipical flavours of Tuscany as fresh home made pasta, local meat, delicate cheese and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quercia Rossa Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Manciano
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Hotel Manciano
Quercia Rossa Farmhouse Italy/Tuscany - Manciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing