We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In serious need of refurbishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Putra Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Putra Palace
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kangar
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In serious need of refurbishment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business.
This seems to be one of the flagship hotels in Kangar, so it's a shame the upkeep is so wanting. Almost everything in the room is falling apart and worn. Safety latch on the door was broken, vanity mirror was broken, cupboard plywood was showing, towels were old, metal lining of shower floor was exposed and rusted. TV was old CRT (with NICAM! Now there's a blast from the 1990s). Only terrestrial channels available - what was frustrating was that certain Astro channels were tuned in, but all were displaying an error message: "Please insert smartcard".
Breakfast buffet was so-so. Nasi lemak and noodles were offered. There was an egg station but the omelettes and sunny side up was poorly cooked.
Room had the smell of old socks. I will say one thing good: the air-con was cold.
Stay in Alor Setar and drive up to Kangar instead, it's only a 45 min drive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
3
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Serendah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms wt connecting door (1 std & 1 family. Room are spacious,comfortable. Actually i've read & heard bad reviews about tis hotel but still i wanna giv it a try. Although our family room is not ready until we went out for Padang Besar at 3.15pm but we're ok coz we still checked in to out std room. The swimpool is enjoyable...but the women's shower room is a bit dirty. We had our dinner at the coffee house & it was good... The breakfast also is ok...not bad.
So overall for me (maybe im not that fussy)...the hotel is ok. Maybe they improved! But still have more to improve. Good luck Putra Palace. I will definitely repeat my stay...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdilaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

First time since my last visit 2 decades ago when it was known as Pens Hotel. At that time, no tower yet, only low rise which seems not used for guests anymore...

1. Location - strategic for those with own transportation. Near main roundabout in town. Not a busy street (in fact the whole town is not busy). If you are looking for shops within walking distance, avoid this hotel.

2. Room - very old furniture but clean. Stayed in twin rooms. No problem with anything except the TV. It was a bulky TV and only few channels are good i.e., TV1, TV2, TV3, TV8 and TV9. Supposed to receive Astro as well, but those channels are blurred. The door is a traditional lock with key. Sometimes, you need a bit of tweaking to open it. The bathroom door squeaks everytime you opened it... so beware those who wake-up at night to go to bathroom :-)

3. Breakfast - serve between 7am - 10 am. Very basic and I guess they don't have enough staff. Very slow in clearing up the used plates and setting up tables. Food also are not replenish on time.

Would I stay there again? well, wold love to try other hotels down the road.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel has clearly aged but they're definitely trying hard to refurbish it as much as possible. The rooms are spacious but has the old hotel smell but it's not too bad though. The rooms are carpeted so it makes the room a bit dusty, it irritated my sinuses. The beds are comfy, they could do better with the pillow. There's wifi in the room so that's a plus. The shower is pretty decent. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. There's a hotel cafe and a cafe very nearby so food is not a big issue. Generally there's food all around Kangar but public transport is scarce so if you're coming to Kangar, be prepared to walk!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The pillows are harder than rock and the matteress is so soft that you can practically sink into the bed. The carpet is stained and dusty and the wall paper is peeling off the wall. The air con is leaking in the room and to overcome this problem, I had to increase the temperature to make it like a heater. The bathroom wall and floor are stained and dirty. In short, the room gave me a nausea feeling through out my one night stay.

I hardly have any rest or sleep in the room. On the bed I felt "things" crawling all over my body. True, the next morning, I noticed that I have bites probably by bed bugs all over my body and my face. Imagine having a bloody swollen face to attend my meeting! The breakfast spread is horrible.

This hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the town. There isn't any shop nearby. The nearest are the Police HQ and Tax Office, unless these are the places you would like to go!

Advoidance is the best solution.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clchin96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kangar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Unfortunately, it is a far cry from the grand hotel it probably was 20 years ago. Was supposed to stay here with my family for two nights but hastily checked out after one. The musty odour in the corridor leading to our room was almost unbearable, the room and bathroom unabashedly filthy, and the reception staff apathetic. The lack of maintenance was utterly shocking, and the rates even more so considering the state the hotel was in and the service provided. Didn't get to try the breakfast but it was just as well (Food served in sets, not in a buffet, due to the low occupancy rate, which I'd say was.. 20%? And that was on Hari Raya eve. Go figure). Apparently the breakfast was a nightmare as well. You'd think that the management of the "premier" hotel in Kangar would put in a bit more effort to uphold its reputation.

Word of advice: Stay in the new Seri Malaysia Hotel! A little out of town but it's well worth it. Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice pool and ok breakfast! And if you need to ask for directions, do mention that it's near the Jabatan Kerja Raya and Dewan 2020 (right beside it in fact).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Well, I think the other reviewers made it pretty clear as to what kind of hotel this is. The problem is that there is not much more in town, so if you really need to stay in Kangar- the Putra Palace is probably where you'll end up. Brace yourself, get through it and leave the next morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangar
0.4 mi away
Federal Hotel Kangar Perlis
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sri Garden
Hotel Sri Garden
#4 of 5 in Kangar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
T Hotel Kuala Perlis
T Hotel Kuala Perlis
#2 of 2 in Kuala Perlis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Kangar
0.0 mi away
Motel Fyna
Motel Fyna
#1 of 5 in Kangar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Putra Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Putra Palace

Property: Putra Palace
Address: 135 Persiaran Jubli Emas, Kangar 01000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perlis > Kangar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kangar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Putra Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Putra Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Putra Palace Kangar, Perlis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing