We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Gite and pool in the country with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Garipiere

La Garipiere overall view of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Garipiere overall view of the house
The house viewed from the pool Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
La Garipiere overall view of the house
The house viewed from the pool
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining and sitting room
Downstairs bedroom
An upstairs bedroom
Living room
A view of the pool
The garden in Spring
A view of the coutryside in Autumn
Looking west at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Belves, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TriciaDK
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Gite and pool in the country with outstanding views”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived early on a saturday moring and were greeted by the onwers who live in the adjacent farm. We dropped off our luggage and went to the nearest village which has a huge supermarket and a hotel where we had lunch.
The gite has a variety of double and single beds and several en-suite bathrooms all with plenty of room. Sheets and towels can also be provided. Downstairs there are sofas and chairs and a large dining table and a bedroom suitable for a disabled person with an en-suite wet room. Outside there is a large shaded patio with another table. There is a large grass area which leads to the pool.
It is all immaculately clean, but you may have to buy extra bin bags and dish washer tablets.
The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and there is a washing machine, dryer and iron.
It was really quiet and the view from the pool over to Belves was superb.
It is easy to travel to several medieval villages and castles and the river is near for kayaking which we arranged in Baynac. We were also able to visit caves with cave paintings and engravings. To round off the holiday we took a ballon flight over the river.
Overall it was really enjoyable and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Having to pay by bank transfer
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
Winscom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A superb property for family get togethers.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have passed a marvelous 2 weeks in Marie-Pierre`s and Garry`s property, certainly one of the best holiday homes for a large family get together in the Dordogne. Lots of room for 6 adults and 6 children with an inside living area large enough for everyone to feel at ease and a huge terrace with a barbecue for outside dining. With 5 bedrooms and 4 baths there was no waiting in the morning for showers etc.
A truly fully equipped kitchen with the lovely products from local markets made cooking a pleasure.
Tastefully decorated and equipped with wi-fi internet connection, board games, DVD player, the children were occupied even if the weather was bad ( just 2 days). The rest of the time the pool with its superb view over the countryside and visits to nearby tourist sites took up all of our time and energy. The property is ideally situated for visiting the sites in the Black Perigord ( Sarlat, Monpazier, Castelnaud ).
A special word of thanks to Marie-Pierre and Garry for their constant help and advice in choosing shops, vineyards and everything else that makes a holiday memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmlacheze
dordogne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a perfect stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Staying in this gite was a fabulous experience for us all. Situated on top of a hill with a breathtaking view, the accommodation was perfect and the welcome outstanding. In the heart of the Périgord, it is within easy reach of all the attractions and yet is well away from the crowds and a haven of peace and comfort after a day's sightseeing.
We were very pleased to find that there were so many toilets and bathrooms as well as a pool looking out over the surrounding hills and valleys.The rooms are comfortable and really spacious.
The owners were attentive and although they live on the site were not at all intrusive and made us feel very much at home. Even their dog Bradley gave us a warm welcome! We can recommend this gite with no reservations.the

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: the drive, although a short one, to get to any shops
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D D
L'Etang-la-Ville, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2018
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié la maison et son environnement, et allons remédier a l'absence de machine expresso, qui n'a apparemment pas manqué aux hôtes précédents.

Notre espace de vie, dans une autre aile des bâtiments, est assez éloigné du gite,et l'isolation entre les chambres est très poussée, mais il est vrai, et nous en sommes désolés, que nous avons pendant deux ou trois heures un jour dû effectuer des travaux imprévus que vous avez pu entendre..

Quant à l'accueil, nous sommes désolés que vous ayez ce ressenti. Nous pensons que notre rôle n'est pas seulement de fournir un lieu de vacances aussi agréable que possible, mais aussi d'échanger avec nos hôtes s'ils le souhaitent, et jusqu'à présent nous avons toujours eu des contacts très agréables avec les personnes qui ont séjourné chez nous - comme tous les autres avis en témoignent -, et qui souvent y reviennent, autant, nous l'espérons ,pour la qualité de l’accueil que pour celle du lieu.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence...
Saint-omer, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2018 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2018
Merci de votre commentaire. Nous ne savons pas ce qu'il faudrait faire pour mériter quelques étoiles de plus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
synaspe
Verrieres-le-Buisson, France
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardingP...
2 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing