We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Truly magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a week here on a walking holiday. The hotel is in the heart of the village and close to all amenities including an excellent gelateria. The village is very friendly and, considering its size, surprisingly vibrant. Ercole is a very genial host and makes you feel really welcome, his wife Roberta, cooks the most amazing food and there is plenty of it! Roberta uses a lot of fruit and veg from their own garden which Ercole tends with infinite care. Each course was carefully explained and Ercole was very adept at choosing an appropriate wine to accompany it. We ate breakfast and the evening meal on the lovely terrace surrounded by Ercole's well tended borders and climbing plants. We had an apartment style room which was fab, very traditional, very clean and well equipped with espresso machine and fridge. The area is wonderful for walking, very scenic and the hotel pool was a welcome treat on return from the walks. We also took the train to Florence one day, which was cheap and efficient. It all made for a very memorable and magical holiday.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an apartment room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinnieLou42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
119
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were based here during a weeklong walking holiday. The walking was terrific, but it was the accommodations that made the trip magical. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and (thanks to thick stone walls and careful shutter management) cool in spite of the fairly intense July heat during our stay. The staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. Among the efforts that helped us to more fully appreciate the amazing place we were in were Ercole's wine and olive oil tastings, his pasta-making demonstration (we got to eat the upshot!), and the hotel mini-bus, which on three occasions drove us off to some remote spot connected to the Locanda by a beautiful walk along ridges and past ruined Medici forts. Roberta remains a theoretical entity, but the cooking attributed to her was delicious, remarkable both in its variety and its quantity, and rich in terroir. Finally, the cani of the Locanda were enchantingly hospitable, and made it clear the morning we left that they were sad to see us go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torpified_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fantastic weekend at Locanda Senio. The place had been recommended to me by a friend and I can not say enough good things about it. When we arrivedon saturday afternoon we were given a very warm welcome by the staff and taken to our room, which I must say was beautiful, very, very clean and charming, with everything you would need. We relaxed in their lovely pool area, and experienced the cooking demonstration and wine tasting which was lovely, Erecole (who runs the show and is front of house) taught us how to make a lovely pasta dish (from scratch) with local ingredients accompined by some lovely local, wine and oil, he was very charming, great fun and made us feel so welcome. Later we had the nicest dinner I have had in a long time, a personalised menu, amazing food, lovely atmosphere and service, Roberta (Erecoles wife and the chef) devised a really unique and tasty menu that was made of local produce the herbs even grown on site. I would reccomend this place to anyone wanting to feel relaxed, comfortable and spoilt, the town is beautiful and you must visit!! Thank you for making us so welcome we will return soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Beautiful place, great food, great hiking in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Contrary to most of the reviews, I did not enjoy stay at Locanda Senio. The main reason for it was the rooms, which I completely disliked. First, it was December, and we had gas (?!) heating in the room that was shut down automatically around 22h or 23h. Secondly, the floors are from stone, and not a single carpet (as I came in already ill, this fact caused me to strengthen all negative affects of cold) is present. The room was really small, barely giving enough space to walk around bed, and TV did not work either. Thirdly, the bathroom was something I could not expect in Europe: you have to enter the shower in order to reach the toilet. Yes, shower does not have a cabin, and is basically market by curtains while you stand on the floor for the shower. After you shower, there is no way to enter toilet without getting your feet wet - unless you enjoy wearing shoes in bathroom. And water-closet does not have lid - seems to be some kind of antique structure.
The whole situation was saved by extreme friendliness and hospitality of hosts, who tried to provide personalized and highest quality service ever. And the food is truly amazing there - don't eat there if you are on diet...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icetealemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

A charming hotel in a lovely location. Greeted by name! Lovely room with antique furniture. Would we like use of the sauna and jacuzzi after our walks? asked Emanuel on reception (we were on a walking holiday with Headwater Holidays), yes please! We really enjoyed the Italian food cooking demonstration, wine and olive oil tasting and pasta making by Ercole. He really is a fantastic host, warm, friendly and always with a smile on his face. Roberta's food was absolutely divine, creative, home cooked and using local ingredients; it was a good job only the cases were weighed on the way home...We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelandSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have now stayed with Ercole and his team twice and will do again. The reception we had was like long lost members of the family in true Italian style. The rooms, in our case a suite, but the others are also very good are cool and equipped with everyting you need to make your stay comfortable . The dinner ---- , well don't stay here if you want to lose weight or are a fussy eater. It really is as it says, high class local cuisine, all five courses of it, and they catered well for my wife as a non meat eater. Ercole and his wife Roberta make a great team. Emanuele, also part of the team, will ensure you have everything you desire and is very efficient. Stay for a week to enjoy all the walks and get rid of the stiff joints in the pool or jacuzzi. Visit Florence by train ( the best way) and then go home and diet! See you next year Ercole.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the extra .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palazzuolo Sul Senio
2.6 mi away
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancelli
Residence Antico Borgo I Cancell...
#3 of 4 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Marrani
Hotel Marrani
#1 of 1 in Ronta
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Gli Orzali
Hotel Gli Orzali
#1 of 2 in Firenzuola
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
Agriturismo Prato degli Angeli
#1 of 1 in Villa di Sassonero
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
4.1 mi away
Torriani Palace
Torriani Palace
#1 of 8 in Marradi
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
B&B Ca Scheta
B&B Ca Scheta
#1 of 2 in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio

Property: Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio
Address: Via Borgo Dell Ore 1 | Palazuolo sul Senio, 50035 Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palazzuolo Sul Senio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Senio: where stay is fine In this medieval town, Ercole and Roberta created a jewel of Tuscany hospitality: Locanda Senio. An hotel of a refined and searched style, itimate with perfume of peace, mirth and carefree in each season: in front of a lighted fireplace, toastig chestnuts and sip a good red wine, oder at the edges of the swimming pool with hot water immerse in the garden with rare herbs. The bedrooms 6 peaceful and beautiful rooms and 2 suites, these with fireplace, are all furnished with some local antiquarian pieces and each corner passes on owners’ care and attention. Family furnish and old mobiles repropose guests all the memory and the sentiments of the old time without forgetting modern conforts. All the rooms has a indipendent bathroom , lot of fresh and good air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul
Albergo Diffuso - Locanda Senio Palazzuolo Sul Senio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing