We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Disappointment: Appalling Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our stay here was a complete NIGHTMARE. On arrival we were told that the spa was booked out for the entire weekend (we chose this hotel for the spa) when we expressed our disappointment the receptionist was in no way helpful. The room we were given was ridiculously small with barely enough room to step around the double bed. Given its tiny size there was no space for any other furniture in the room (no where to put anything!!) and a small seat was awkwardly positioned between the bed and the wall-blocking the space on one side of the bed. The bathroom was even worse and not very clean! After seeing the floor plan and the obvious size difference of the same standard rooms on the same floor we complained and asked to be moved considering the prior disappointment of the spa. After much wasted time the receptionist eventually agreed to change our room (if we hadn’t insisted he had no intention of being helpful) we were then moved to an apartment which was freezing cold. Presuming that the heating would come on later in the evening we went for dinner...returned to find the inside of the apartment colder than outside! We asked the receptionist if there was a problem with the heating and we were told that by law they could not put the heating on until the 1st of November (it was the 1st of Nov!!) obviously we couldn't sleep as it was FREEZING, we might aswell have slept outside under a bridge! I went to the reception AGAIN at 7am to complain (obviously the reception area was lovely and warm and the heating was on there!) The lady gave me the same excuse about some law of the 1st of Nov (at this stage it was Nov 2nd) Again she was not helpful and told me it was too early and to come back. We complained AGAIN at 9am and the receptionists were in no way helpful to begin with, they eventually offered to change our room. Weary to stay a second night I asked reassurance that the heating would actually work-I was told that it would come on later that evening at around 9pm. I stupidly trusted them and surprise surprise no heating came on and I spent my second night in a freezing room. We weren’t even offered breakfast to excuse the unacceptable service. On our departure a different gentleman dealt with us at reception who was very helpful and understanding when we expressed our disappointment of the entire experience. He was honest with us (after being mislead by four individual receptionists) and told us that the entire hotel experienced technical problems and the heating system was down and they were waiting to have it fixed!!! He was willing to give us a discount (seen as the problem was theirs and we weren’t given the service that we paid for!!) and one of the female receptionists from the day before stopped him and we had to pay the full price to stay in a freezing room due to the hotel having "technical problems". Our stay consisted of being moved around different rooms, receiving zero customer service from the reception staff (excluding the young guy on the morning we left) and (not) sleeping in an ice cold room! DISASTER! Worst customer service I have ever witnessed!!! Such a pity because the actual structure is magnificent but it is poorly kept and destroyed by the reception staff and lack of customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OGVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Casagrande
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 865 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was probably one of the best hotels I have ever been to. Stuff is very friendly and always at hand. Rooms are spacious and furnished in old style. The breakfast had variety and was tasty. Dinner had many classical tuscan options you should definitely try. Location of this hotel is excellent if you wish to explore near by cities and attractions with car or train.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went through groupon for our stay at Villa Casagrande. The small castle with updated ammenites was lovely. Our room was comfortable, the outside gardens lovely, breakfast was good, the front staff was really helpful. The town of Figline Valdarno was very small but very charming and the people there were very warm. You are steps away from the train station. We had a car so driving to Sienna, Pisa, and Greve was not a problem. You can also take a 30 minute train trip to Florence. We also went in October so lines were small. We did take a over night train trip to Cinque Terra....bellisima!
The only thing that I would comment on regarding the Villa is the cooking class let by Paola and Daniela. Don't get me wrong both women are warm and lovely. However, Paola is a cook not a chef. Her foods are very heavy...lots of salt, oil, and butter and did I
mention salt! The best part of the cooking class was meeting lovely people from around the world. Again hotel was lovely, the town charming but small, the people were all wonderful.
Final note on in town places to eat: If you want great pizza, go to Stroncapane...all the locals go there and order the Stroncapane pizza. If you want a fine dining experience go to Li Amici Mia and let the owner, Bob, lead you to a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FriedaLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The staff and facilities were fantastic. The breakfast had variety and was tasty. There is not a lot to do in figline itself, but we had hired a car prior to going there. There are plenty of towns to drive to if you want to explore. We did spend a day in figline itself, we walked around and looked at the shops and church, it didn't take long but it was a relaxing day rather than running around to see everything.
We loved the stay here and would go back without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank The_tuckerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Villa Cassagrande was everything we could have wished for our daughter's wedding. A beautiful historic hotel full of Italian character. The moment we arrived we felt comfortable in its serene atmosphere. The rooms were immaculately kept and the wedding facilities were second to none. We cannot praise it enough and will certainly be expecting to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaisluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent three days at this property.
The room was great but the high point was the cooking class with Paola and Daniela!
It was a fabuolas five hours!
Can't wait to try thr recipes when we get home.
We felt the reception staff were not very helpful,.
We also found three days here too long.
We walked the town on a couple hours, not many resturants and no tours we could take to the local vineyards.
If you want to sit and read it would be fine but we didn't come to Italy to read.
I would recommend one day here to take the cooking class. Definitely the hi light of our stay here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this charming property, built at the end of the 15th Century. Excellent cuisine, charming staff and perfect location near to Figline Valdarno. A must is the historical tour with Luca followed by wine tasting and cookery demonstration in the original kitchen with Paola and Danielle. Swimming pool, 5 minutes up the hill, enjoys glorious fews of Tuscany with delicious light lunches. Recommend perfect for a short break. Maggi N

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancasterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
428 reviews
21.9 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
139 reviews
10.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
548 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Casagrande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Casagrande

Address: Via Giovan Battista del Puglia 61 | Figline Valdarno, 50063, Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range: $65 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Casagrande 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Casagrande is an elegant, superior category hotel, located in the old town centre of Figline Valdarno, a little town strategically located in a central position between the cities of Florence, Arezzo and Siena. It is a large, distinctive building with a spacious, austere enclosure in pure Tuscan style. Ideal both for business trips and for tourism, the Staff of Villa Casagrande will welcome you with their willingness to satisfy your every need and, by giving you specific advice, they will help you discover the beauty and the flavours of our "Tuscan Land". Free parking and free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Casagrande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Casagrande Hotel Figline Valdarno
Hotel Villa Casagrande Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing