We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super sun holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norcenni Girasole Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

booked a four day stay through sun holidays stayed with kelair camphotel found their staff on site to be very helpful and friendly the campsite was very clean and quiet, the views were stunning . The mobile home we stayed was nice and tidy as we stayed late in the season not a lot of the restaurants were open but what was there was open was clean and friendly the gelati was a nice way to end the evening watching the sun go down already booked for this year

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Through Booking.com we booked at Norcenni Girasole in the period 4 to 18 August 2012. It seemed a mistake: the site suggested we had booked a room of 25 m2 for 5 people, but it turned out to be an entire caravan, as we had hoped.
I contacted Norcenni. We should have a Giotto home in the old part. Upon arrival we found that we were in a Botticelli in the new part from Elle Vacance. In our caravan, but this varies, towels and linens, soaps, toilet rolls were included. The beds were even made up every day. The beds are changed 1x a week.
In a Botticelli there is plenty of storage space. There are many earthed power points (a south-europe plug does not fit, a Dutch flat plug will fit, but not a round plug) The space to walk is limited, especially the doors are narrow (53 cm).
The large windows have mosquito screens, the small windows in the kitchen and bathrooms and the door have no screens.
On the large veranda are 2 large closets ( with a mop and bucket, broom and dustpan, clothes horse), a huge table with 6 small chairs, 2 sunbeds and 2 adjustable chairs.
This type has 2 bedrooms, both with its own bathrooms:
-A bedroom with 2 soft beds together, 2 narrow hanging wardrobes, 2 small cabinets above the bed and some shelves, there are 2 sockets. The bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet. Under the sink is a cabinet and there are plenty of shelves and hooks.
-In the other bedroom has a bunk bed and a single one. These beds are pretty hard, there are 2 small hanging wardrobes upstairs 1 bed has a reading light. The bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet. Under the sink is a cabinet and there are plenty of shelves and hooks.
The doors of the two bedrooms can be locked with a lock like in a toilet.
The living area has a sofa, a table and 2 folding chairs.
The kitchen has plenty of cupboard space, a cooker with 4 hobs, large fridge with separate freezer circa 30 liters, there is a microwave and a coffee maker.
You can park the car close to your home. After 23:00 the reception is closed and you have to park outside the campsite.
There are three restaurants on site, there is a takeaway. To 19.00 you can order takeaway in several places. You can buy ice cream in several places
There are playgrounds everywhere. In the upper part there is a minigolf area, and a tennis
On top of the mountain is a pool of 1.30m and a separate soft (rubber) child lagoon, approximately 40cm deep. Here's a long lazy river for tires. You can go to the upper part by train, but it stops only at 3 places. We were halfway up the mountain, not near a train stop.
The lower pool at the amphitheater consists of 3 deep pools (1.30-1.70 m) a very small baby pool and 2 short slides for tires and a long slide. Here you can participate in aqua gym every day and idrobike. For idrobike you must register
Around all the pools are sun loungers. There are a few parasols for € 4 per day.
At the bottom pool is the fitness (register for 30 min), whirlpool (20 min) and sauna (15min.) free until 2 PM. After 2.30PM it costs € 3. The sauna is split into male and female.In the women's section there is a Turkish bath with little steam and a very hot Finnish sauna and 2 showers.
The location of Norcenni is very good, not too far from the highway. Nearby Greve, Siëna, Florence, Pisa are beautiful cities. Toscane is so beautiful!
Some small problems:
-For a family with small children it can be a problem that the shower water temperature is not properly set, it varies greatly in temperature ...
-Oddly enough,you can feel the other people in the caravan move, walk and turn in bed ...
-You can access the Internet by buying a ticket in a shop (the bazaar). For € 6 you buy for 6 hours of internet. It is unfortunate that it almost never works. In our cabin we could read our mail but could not reply, because the connection was bad. The next day we got nowhere while the signal was good ...
-It would be a convenient solution when parasols and parasol stands could be provided by Norcenni, possibly against a deposit.Now the few places in the shade were the first to be occupied. Take your own parasol along with something so you can attach it to your seat.
-Take care: the train to Florence went to a suburb, so we had to take an other train to Florence. When we went back to Figline, the trains were delayed, it was very dark,there was no map of the stations, nobody said what the next stop was. So we didn't know when we had to leave the train. That was the last time we took the train in Toscane, everywhere else we went by car.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank avmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Bungalow was first class. On site facility's and tours were all first class. Paulo and Claudia and all the staff were fantastic as always. After many visits we shall defiantly be returning as service and price cannot be beaten !!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

if you want a place where nothing works, this is a perfect 10. We booked a chalet online but were horrified to see how small it was. Then we upgraded to a suite. The suite was almost a kilometer away from the entrance/reception on a hilly terrain. Reaching the suite we realized there is no power. And there is no phone, so there is no way to contact reception other than calling from cellphone on international roaming. We decided to drive to reception, but guess what - most routes get closed down at night and there are no signs to help hapless visitors. after a long ordeal we managed to reach reception and we were told that the someone will be there soon. Didnt realize soon means a couple of hours.

Also, you are expected to collect bedsheets and towels from reception. forget making the bed they are not even provided in the room. This means another trip back to reception.

Then internet does not work (the signal is too weak), Rooms have AC, but remote is not provided by default - another trip to reception.

Room Tip: just avoid them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mayank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Our fifth year at Norcenni and once again it proves to be the benchmark. Clean, wonderfully equipped and laid out all of us, me, wife, two kids under five and grandad can't wait for next year. We stay with key camp who have great pitches.

After five years I can say the facilities and quality have remained consistent. We go to other keycamp sites during the year as well, but feel like norcenni is always the one we look forward to most.

Tips - park for free at figline station and a thw train to get into the heart of Florence etc. and the new coop supermarket in town is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClanClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had such a memorable time at the Norcenni Girasole Club in Tuscany. It was the first time we'd been on a family holiday of this nature and we weren't sure what to expect.

Our mobile home was well equipped and I was really pleased with the layout. We went with Kelair and Marguerite, our rep was brilliant, she was very helpful in getting our children's beds and high chairs organised (as was Alison in the booking office before we left). So many times I arrive somewhere to find that things aren't as I booked them, this time it was all as ordered. We have two little ones - aged 1 and 2 so it was really important that after a long journey it was easy to get settled.

Our children loved the little train that takes you up to the top pool, the animals in the fields and played endlessly on the decking. They had mixed feelings about the pools, preferring to play by the edge as they aren't heated and we went at the end of the season. They were ok once you got in but my son was adamant that he was better off on the sidelines. The kids club was still open at the end of September and was a great place to go when it rained - it was also free which was a bonus.

I would recommend booking a mobile home with a covered terrace, air con, microwave and electric BBQ as we did, especially if you have kids - not all of the accommodation had these and they made our stay very comfortable.

The scenery is amazing and we even managed a very easy trip to Florence - half an hour away by train. The hills are steep but very manageable if you are of average fitness. Actually, I lost weight on the holiday despite eating lots of lovely Italian food, maybe it was because of the hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whynotgiveitago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a late-season offer-you-can't-refuse from Eurocamp, so duly drove to Figline. The first impression is...impressive, and the drive down to the bottom of the camp where the Eurocamp mobiles were located showed that when a campsite is located in the Chianti hills...there is walking to be done. If you just want to use the chalet as a base and drive out every morning and back after dinner, fine for all levels of fitness, but otherwise it is a bit of a hike up to the top where you'll find the restuarants, pools, shops and gelateria. And, believe me, they are worth finding...If you are booking direct with the campsite and you have mobility issues then make sure you can get something on one of the upper terraces.
Chalet was basic with fan rather than aircon, but with good sized fridge and a small freezer. Shower in need of replacement but it worked. That's an issue for Eurocamp not the campsite.
By the way, the weather was lovely by day but very chilly at night, and when the wind dropped, as it did on the third day of our stay, out came the mosquitoes or gnats. Whatever they were, they saw us as a michelin-starred restaurant and tucked in accordingly. This may be because, in the weak before our arrival, there had been a lot of rain after a long dry spell.
We only ever had time for the top pools, and they were very good and clean - we used the one for lane swimming, And, NO HATS required!! So swimming was a lovely experience. We ate at the Norcenni and had some memorable meals. I will single out the linguine in saffron sauce with prawns, and my husband raved over the pizza with truffle oil. Portions were, however, far too big for us. I would have preferred smaller portions so I could have two courses. As it was, I often struggled to finish one. They were good value for the quality, wine reasonably priced, though they have some 100Euro-plus bottles if you have a boat you want to push out. The gelateria is divine - the only marginally better one we found was at San Giminiano - and not to be missed. We didn't take advantage of the trips as we had our car and they are quite expensive when there are two or more of you. But if you don't drive they would be very worthwhile.
Travelling to Florence - park at Figline, but get to the station before 0800 at the very, very latest or all the spaces are gone. Free parking. by the way. Check it still runs, but we founf the 0809 ideal as it is a veloce that takes only about 20 mins. Other trains stop more often. The price was 9.20E for a return...excellent value and the trains are always on time.
Other places: well, Siena and San Gimignano are, i guess, must-sees, but I lost my heart to Arezzo which was quieter and a real town. Go and see the Piero frescoes at St Francescom then walk right up to the top. You can get a coffee on the Piazza Grande for astly less than in Florence. And while on the square visit the pottery studio of Arete.
If you want some hairy driving, cool forests, lovely little towns, head over the motorway into the Casentino. We much preferred it to the Chianti hills (though we got some nice wine at Castello di Radda). The little town of Poppi with its castle, the woods of Vallombrosa and the delightful Loro Ciuffenna that perches on a gorge and has an ancient watermill where you can buy flour, were our favourites. The roads are hairy in places but the views are fabulous.
Shopping: the old centre of Figline is great but we only got there once, for the Tuesday market. I bought juicy peaches and nectarines at ridiculously cheap prices, huge green-red misshapen tomatoes that tasted and cooked like something from heaven. Otherwise, head towards Incisa and look for the signs to the huge Coop. Very good, but the tomatoes were boring.
We loved our stay at Norcenni Girasole and might well go back, but it is a huge site and I would not do so in high summer. Nothing against families with children, but it would make the place too noisy and crowded. Early or late season are quieter and the weather better for visiting the towns and cities.

Room Tip: Find accommodation on upper levels if you don't want to walk up and down the steep terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank frigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Figline e Incisa Valdarno hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
893 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
Villa la Borghetta Spa Resort
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Sandy
Bed & Breakfast Sandy
#10 of 11 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Le Vecchie Mura
B&B Le Vecchie Mura
#4 of 11 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norcenni Girasole Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norcenni Girasole Club

Address: Via di Norcenni 7, 50063, Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
Price Range: $53 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Norcenni Girasole Club 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Norcenni Girasole Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norcenni Girasole Club Hotel Figline Valdarno
Norcenni Girasole Club Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing