We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie's Inn

Charlie's Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

After all the good comments I heard about Charlie's Inn going for lunch was a must.
I was not let down. The food was fantastic, creative combinations of flavours on the a la carte menu as well as perfectly executed traditional dishes.
The service was very pleasant, and not overly friendly as that does tend to annoy me usually.
The prices were very reasonable considering the amount of too we had. We we were a table of 15 adults some of which are fussy nonetheless all of us were satisfied.

I will definitely be going again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodsterJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Best Maltese cuisine with a fine dining twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited Charlie's Inn many times and each time I walk away full and happy.

To debunk some of the criticism left by other commentators, I find the portions being just right. I always take a starter and a main course and sometimes even a wonderful dessert.

Charlie's Inn is also well priced. People tend to forget that it is not just a rabbit house, but much much more. I dare to call it a fine dining experience in an authentic setting. Last time we went in a group of three. All of us had a three-course meal with a bottle of wine and the bill came to just a bit over a 100 Euro. That adds up to a bit over 30 Euro per person, which I believe is a great deal!

Most importantly, what people forget to mention is that all food is delicious, fresh and local. The presentation is immaculate and up to par with Micheline restaurants in other EU countries. I make it a point to visit Charlie's Inn every time I come to Malta.

Pavel

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PavelJakovlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il Gzira, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must if you're in Malta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Been to Charlie's Inn many time, never a disappointment.... Always threated exceptionally well by the owner and his family and food was always top notch!

A must when dining at Charlie's Inn - the snails and 'aglioli'/bigilla antipasto, the home made ravioli (to die for!) and most of all the Rabbit as a main course! This is one of the landmarks when having foreign reps in Malta and everyone simple loves it!

Oh i almost forget - they also server the BEST [homemade] Cassata Siciliana I ever tasted!

10/10 :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kikkinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Rabbit on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visit Charlie's Rabbit house quite often, and have grown very much accustomed to their hospitality and warmth, whatever the season. The restaurant has been run by the same family since I can remember and the only thing that tops their cordiality and good service is the food. I seriously cannot say that anyone can cook rabbit like they do at Charlie's Inn.

Further to it becoming a renowned rabbit house across Malta, a taste of gastro and fine dining is being introduced by one of the cooks. I believe that this is only the beginning (or for lack of a better word; continuation) of a legacy that started with a humble rabbit house which is now also venturing into new territory, a venture which will surely pay-off. My last visit was in June and we are already organizing the next get together for July

In the end, If you are looking for some good rabbit, great atmosphere and a taste of the unexpected, I would recommend Charlie's Rabbit House wholeheartedly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A little oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went with a group of friends at their recommendation. We were not disappointed. It was a warm evening and the outside dining area was just beautiful. The service was first class. We were advised not to order a starter as the main courses were enormous. My wife had salmon and I had the biggest, best steak I have ever experienced. There were more than enough fresh vegetables and even more was offered. I would thoroughly recommend a visit despite the fact that there have been a few adverse reports on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buttonhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Inn also viewed

Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Mgarr, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 
Mgarr, Island of Malta
 

Been to Charlie's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing