We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! 5 stars -- peaceful, luxurious, outstanding customer service!”
Review of Nestlewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nestlewood Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This is a very high quality B & B for a very reasonable price! The customer service is superb!!! The homecooked breakfast is fantastic, the host is like a personal concierge at a 5-star hotel (with a more laid-back Maine attitude), and the inn is beautiful, in a quiet wooded setting, tastefully decorated with really comfortable beds and high quality linens. It is located just a few minutes from Sugarloaf, just next to the crosscountry/ snowshowing ski center, and literally just across the street from a very good Italian restaurant, which is handy if you feel like drinking a lot of wine with dinner and then walking home. I cannot emphasize enough how impressed we were with the level of luxury and high customer service. I've traveled extensively and this place belongs on the Conde Nast Traveler Gold List!!! I recommend the Hickory Room--lovely rustic wood furniture, a view of the snowy woods in the back from the second floor, and a super comfy king size bed and great shower. Even the resident dog is quiet and well-behaved! It's also eco-conscious with low-flush tolilets and a "re-use your towels if you want to" policy. It's just the right combination of luxurious and laid back, perfect for a skiing /sledding/ snowmobiling/ tubing/ snowshowing weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaineGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2010

This place is by far the nicest, cleanest, most gorgeous hotel/inn I have ever stayed at. The owners were very pleasant and friendly and always helped make our stay more enjoyable. They were also always available if we needed anything no matter what time of day or night. The place is very large and spacious. The rooms are also very large and cozy. The beds are more comfortable than anything I've ever slept on. The breakfast is amazing, homemade everything from blueberry parfaits to delicious pancakes. Also very close to the mountain, a very short 2-3 minute drive. Would highly recommend this place to anyone, the prices per night are very fair considering what you receive. Thanks again, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnowForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nestlewoodinn, Manager at Nestlewood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We have stayed here twice during the ski season 09/10. It's just a few minutes drive from the slopes. There is also a real nice Italian restaurant just 200 meters away, it's like 3 minutes by foot, so no need for a designated driver, if you are in a mood for some wine.
Absolutely the nicest log house. Rooms are super clean and really nicely decorated, high ceilings in a living room and breakfast room. The owners, young-ish couple, are really friendly and easy to deal with. Breakfast was good: fresh fruits with yogurt to start, and then eggs, ham on an english muffin with home fries, coffee, tea and juice. Their menu changes daily.
There are also lockers for your skis or golf equipments, and a fridge for guests, and Wi-Fi.
We loved it, and as soon as there is snow, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Just got back from 3 nights at the Nestlewood. It is clean, quiet and friendly! And it is a 3 minute drive to the Sugarloaf parking lot. We had room #2 which was huge and completely handicapped accessible, including the bathroom. We didn't need the handicapped but if you do then it's fantastic with all the right bars, seat in the shower and hand held shower head if you want it. I highly recommend the Nestlewood!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canadian_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I stayed at the Nestlewood Inn for one night with my wife. We chose this place because we wanted to avoid the Sugarloaf resort hotels since we were XC skiing and not downhill at the mountain. It is located on a road right between the Sugarloaf Outdoor Center road and the road that leads right to Sugarloaf Downhill resort, so it's right in the middle of everything. We liked that for going out at night because it's pretty dark and remote in the Carrabassett/Kingfield/Stratton area. There is also a shuttle that can take you to places in the area - you just tell the innkeeper and he will arrange it for you.

Anyway, the place - it's a newly built log cabin structure with about 8 rooms on two floors. When you walk inside, there's a common room with an HD TV with the Dish Network, a fireplace and a table laid with snacks and cocoa. There is WiFi too. The owner gave us a tour - he lives with his family up the road in Stratton, but there is an innkeeper on duty at all times. In the basement is a common area with lockers for ski equipment so you don't have to put it in your room or leave it in the car. Our room was on the 2nd floor - we had no complaints. The bed was nice and big, the linens and towels were great, and the furniture and decor were spare and nice. There's a thermostat to adjust the heat, too.

In the morning we had breakfast (included), which consisted of a strawberry, kiwi and banana fruit salad, followed by blueberry pancakes with sausage. When we sat down to our meal there was a chocolate-covered strawberry on each of our plates for Valentines Day.

Summing up - great place if you are looking for comfort without having to deal with gross slopeslide accommodations or quaint (but sometimes annoying) mom and pop places. That said, it is not as cheap as motels or inns in the area, but you get good prices during the week and outside of school vacations. And you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smr260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susann_Hannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack1234QuebecCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrabassett Valley
1.9 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrabassett Valley
139 reviews
11.2 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kingfield
230 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sugarloaf Inn
Sugarloaf Inn
#2 of 2 in Carrabassett Valley
26 reviews
11 mi away
The Inn on Winter' Hill
The Inn on Winter' Hill
#1 of 2 in Kingfield
30 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain Village Farm B&B
Mountain Village Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Kingfield
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nestlewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nestlewood Inn

Address: 3004 Town Line Rd, Sugarloaf, Carrabassett Valley, ME 04947-5851
Location: United States > Maine > Carrabassett Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carrabassett Valley
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nestlewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make memories that will last a lifetime this winter in the Western Mountains of Maine! The Nestlewood Inn is newly constructed in the style of a traditional log cabin, where guests can enjoy pristine forest views in the unmatched privacy of our sunny and spacious rooms. Close to the action and fun of Sugarloaf Mountain, guests can return from a day of skiing and relax next to our fieldstone fireplace or read a book from our library while enjoying complimentary hot tea and homemade baked goods. Beer and Wine are also available for purchase. Guests can begin the day with our chef's choice breakfast before embarking on the day's adventure. A true Maine style mountain B & B, it is an ideal destination for the best romantic getaway or family get together with the cozy ambiance of Nestlewood Inn sets us apart. The luxurious guest rooms have either a king or queen bed, one with 2 queens and each with private baths. Our hospitality,close attention to detail and unique lodging with the combination of traditional Maine decor and modern amenities makes the Nestlewood Inn the perfect choice for your winter getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing