We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Multisensory delights”
Review of Spaans Dak

Spaans Dak
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Oud-Heverlee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $74
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Multisensory delights”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was probably one of the 5 best meals I've ever had. Every dish innovative, delicious and a delightful surprise for the palate, the eyes and the mind. Excellent, attentive and knowledgeable service as well as extremely reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AHeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    61
    16
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The resto has always one of my favorits, but I have been very disappointed about service and food last Saturday. Maybe the crew was tired of the new year parties. With the apero, my husband took champaign while the others took the house suggestion. He received an empty glas. After 10 minutes waiting we asked the waiter if the glass please could be filled. We felt notlooked after. The food was mediocre (gourmet). The cheese platter was very disappointing. The tastes did not match well and there was no seperate wine for the the 2 people who had taking the menu with wines. We always needed to call the waiter for things, had to wait 15 minutes for 2 bottle of water and had to ask again. This was my 10th in the resto, so if i did not know the team can do better, i would never go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grez-Doiceau, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haute cuisine at acceptable price”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been twice already to Spaans Dak, very nice restaurant with very good service and very interesting food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our absolute number one pick”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you are staying in the Leuven area and want to experience something special, make your way to De Zoete Waters (Oud-Heverlee) and book a table at this restaurant. The chef combines a lot of tastes in a unique and very innovative way, and the serve is friendly and correct. And last but not least, the pricing is very correct, particularly if you go for the market menu. An absolutely recommended venue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WimVds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the finest meals I've ever had”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

There's no need to pile on the many positive reviews of this restaurant. But we had the gourmet menu, and it certainly lived up to that label. Besides the multiple courses listed, there was a collection of amuse bouche that would have made the whole evening, and a set of delicate cakes to accompany tea. It was an extra-ordinary meal and the white-on-beige room worked for me. While it does seem like 70's mod meeting a Brabantine ducal pond setting, it wasn't like anything else, and you could see your food and companions.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spaans Dak also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Heverlee, Leuven
 
Oud-Heverlee, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Spaans Dak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing