We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage Plaza Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harar
California USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad but don't expect too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was told that this was the most suitable hotel in town for foreign standards. With that said, I do think that you need to remember where you are and adjust your standards accordingly. The room was large but sparse. There was a chair to sit in, a small tv that worked, a mosquito net, a double bed, and a rug in the middle of the tile floor. The rooms were clean enough and although the bed looked old and worn, I didn't wake up with a sore back or neck like I thought I might. It was comfortable enough. The guy at the reception desk, the only staff I encountered, was really nice.

My hot and cold faucet knobs were backwards but once I called for help and got it straightened out, the shower was fine. The hotel is located a bit away from the walled city, but we were able to reach it after walking for about 20-30 minutes. My single room cost about 35 USD in July (low season).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
6
27
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Plaza Hotel for 2 nights in May while sightseeing in Harar. The hotel had a clean, comfortably firm bed with a mosquito net (though there weren't many mosquitoes); a hot shower; and a good breakfast on the rear patio. The hotel also offered a discount for residents of Ethiopia (including diplomats). The location is outside, but within walking distance, of the old walled city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
594 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

For the area, it was relatively fine, although at 50 USD, it's a expensive for what it is.  Beds are slightly worn but passable.  Hot water works.  Room is fairly clean.  Location is slightly outside the city center.  No breakfast included, but available and fairly inexpensive.  Water in shower didn't drain very well and wi-fi rarely worked.  Mosquito nets not long enough to wrap around the beds; luckily we didn't see any mosquitoes.  Basically,  if you must stay in Harar, this is probably the best option, or at least much better than the rooms at the Ras Hotel, but I agree with other reviewers, your best bet would be to drive to Dire Dawa (about 1 hour away) and stay at the Samrat Hotel, which offers absolute excellence for the same price.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few different rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirled_Traveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Ought to be the best pick in town. In that case, it is better to spend the night in Dire Dawa and travel to Harar by car/minibus. It takes approx. 1 hour to get there.

The staff was really friendly and we appreciated their supportive attitude. The rooms were quite ok for Ethiopian standards (but only when you have also visited hotels in less touristy areas) but the price that you pay for what you get is not good. For approx. 350 Birr (double room) you will get an old hotel that does not include breakfast. Too much in my opinion, and the excellent staff does not really compensate for the lack of quality you get when paying this price for the room.

Harar is a nice town to visit but if we knew that this is the best you can stay at, we might have opted to sleep in Dire Dawa only.

Other options are Ras Hotel (cannot compare it) and apparently the Rewda Guesthouse. The latter was fully booked when we arrived. We were "lucky" enough to visit it to see a traditional Harari House (for an entrance payment of 10 Birr). We asked for room rates there to see if we made the best choice. Apparently you have to share the toilet and shower with other guests. The only thing you get is a bedroom. There is on room available that does include shower and toilet but it appears to be booked all the time. Indeed the rooms in Rewda Guesthouse are nice but if you are not comfortable to share toilet and shower, you might better spend the 350 Birr at Heritage Plaza where you do get your own (hot) shower and toilet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greets05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

When I read the positive comments about this hotel I was a little bit confused. It was real awfull!!! I pillows were dirty. The water was not enough to take a shower. Shower place was rusty. There was humidity in teh room. The owner was not welcomming. There is a new hotel under contruction. If you are not in a hurry to see Harar, I suggest you to wait for 2 more years. It was awfull......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank figoltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I can't compare with other hotels in Harar, we were placed here by our tour company. For the amount of money we paid for the tour, this hotel didn't provide any value to us. This hotel is in dire need of some renovations, for example, you can't close the windows in the bathroom because the power cables for the water heater (placed right above the toilet) run THROUGH the open window. Come mosquito time, going to the bathroom is a risky experience! The room and furnishings are dated somewhere around 1930, the miniature cathode tv is a little more recent. the only saving grace was the food here. We had a good plate of pasta for dinner and the breakfast offerings were reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

My stay at the Heritage Plaza Hotel was a mixed bag of emotions - on the one hand the staff was very friendly and supportive, on the other hand the rooms need some urgent renovation (painting the walls, updates of the Bathroom, Change of the carpets) and cleaning.

A la carte breakfast is good (pancakes to recommend) but Internet is only available at owner's gesture in the lobby - so if you are blond, British and female you have better chances then if you are brown, Austrian and male.

Room Tip: Suite 209 works was quite ok - I checked several rooms and this was one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harar
0.0 mi away
Goha Hotel
Goha Hotel
#1 of 14 in Gonder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic View Hotel
Panoramic View Hotel
#3 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Addissinia Hotel
Addissinia Hotel
#1 of 117 in Addis Ababa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Hotel
Mountain View Hotel
#4 of 11 in Lalibela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#12 of 16 in Bahar Dar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Winta Hotel
Winta Hotel
#3 of 7 in Harar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Plaza Hotel

Property: Heritage Plaza Hotel
Address: PO BOX 423, Harar, Ethiopia
Location: Ethiopia > Harari Region > Harar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing