We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lingayen
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed there for one night, the place is okay however it not much to do there, we planned to stay for four nights but in the end we just stayed for one night as the location is almost deserted. We headed to Lucap/alaminos the next day day instead.
The Fillipino Breakfast was excellent.
We stayed in Bungalow 1 and it was okay and basic but just outside runs a few roosters that woke up my wife at 4am... So if you not are used to farm animals don't choose the bungalows if you wants a non disturbed sleep.
The bungalow was not very clean and bugs and a gecko kept us company, but that is what you expect a top of a fish pound.
Bed and blankets did not match the price paid, the same goes the location.
Surf board rental is crazy expensive compared to other places, but we did know that before we head off. Internet is avaliable at the restaurant and the bar but not at the bungalows.
The pool is much smaller than it looks on the homepage.
If you like good breakfast and don't mind a pretty booring location it is okay a night or two.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Bungalows if you are easily awaken by roosters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    31
    18
    14
See reviews for
65
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived at El Puerto Marina Resort in North Lingayen, Pangasinan after a 2-hour trip from Baguio. The cold, crisp air in the resort was a surprise since the Pangasinan that we know of has always been humid and damp. El Puerto is beautiful with cogon-roofed accommodation, spacious grounds, nice swimming pools, and a clean fish pond. We ate at their restaurant upon arrival and the food was delicious. Unlike other resorts where the accommodation cost is cheap but food is expensive, El Puerto Marina’s food per serving is plenty and reasonably priced. For example, a plate of noodles for 2-3 persons is only about P200 and coffee is only P35. We were also happy with our accommodation. Our room was good for 4 persons, with 2 double beds and 1 bunk bed. The bathroom was clean, with hot water. The resort has a spa with dry sauna. Too bad we were not able to try the massage because we were already sleepy. The rate of P450 for a 1-hour massage is comparable to Manila. Surfers will enjoy the big waves of El Puerto’s beach. But we dared not swim because there was a strong undercurrent. We just enjoyed walking along the beach where the gray sand was very fine. El Puerto has nice cottages along their shores where one can just watch the sun rise. But more than the nice facilities of El Puerto, I really admire their excellent service. I accidentally left two bags in the resort but their staff, Jel Tamayo, patiently sent the bags to me through a local courier. El Puerto truly went beyond our expectations. I will definitely refer El Puerto Marina to my friends. By the way, you can make a side trip to Surato’s restaurant in the town of Binmaley which is only about 30-40 minutes from El Puerto. You should try their oysters, grilled milk fish, shrimps and crabs at a very low price.

Room Tip: The Family room near the garden is the best for families with kids since it is near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louie_Sebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Traveled on October 2011.

We stayed in the bungalows and rooms are more than what we expected. It has this "probinsya" atmosphere and you will feel that life here is slower, more relaxed, and carefree. We went here off-peak so there were few people around and that's how we like it.

The bungalows are built on top of the fish pond which is quite a different experience for me. And before you get to the bungalows you have to cross the fish pond via the wooden bridge. It all adds to the overall experience.

The lobby and resto is charming and elegant with those wooden art pieces and decoration. The giant fish in the small pond adds exocticness. But the TV can spoil the mood for some people who to want an "escape" vacation.

The food. Everything we ordered was GREAT. The food is not cheap. But it is very worth it. From bangus to squid to carbonara to breakfast, it seems they have an amazing chef as part of their manpower. When you get to Pangasinan, aside from matutina, you have to try the food here. Especially the grilled squid. We didn't have a chance for beer at the time we were here, but I imagine that it would REALLY be nice to have a bottle or two here at night with this ambience and windy atmosphere.

The beach has black sand. But very FINE black sand. Not a stony beach. I actually like the beach with those little huts and "umbrellas?". The sunset is breathtaking! Very romantic. Especially when you have the beach all to yourselves.

The location has its pros and cons. It is very hard to get here. We got here with our own car and also with GPS and it still gave us a headache. I can only imagine getting here by public transport would be hell. Also, one of the many roads leading here will have you pass through a public cemetery. Not really a bad thing, but it scared me to pieces when I have to drive by at night, and alone. The good thing is that because the place is somewhat remote, it is far from all the lights and noise of the urban areas.

Overall, we will definitely be back here again! Maybe we can try the rooms with the oceanview next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

For me and my fiancee, this is way better place than any other resort we've ever been. For those that had a negative input in their review, i have to say... too bad and so sad!!! It's all in a matter of perspective. If one is looking for a comfort of a five star hotel, stay in freaking Manila... if one couldn't find the place, then you should have brought a gps. For us, the staff are very nice and cheerful. The food is grade A, fresh vegis and seafood from probably catch of the day. If someone would ask me what resort i would recommend, i would tell them... EL PUERTO MARINA in Lingayen.

Room Tip: Second floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eneg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguio
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

we were a group of 6, 4 adults and 2 kids ages 10 and 6. we arrived at the resort past 3 pm and it was hot, maybe that was why the people in reception could hardly smile.

check in was quick; the family room we booked through their site was clean enough but not too spacious. the room had 4 single beds and a double deck, vanity, night table with lamp. the amenities listed for the room were all there, except the aircon was rather noisy.

we left for a while to buy some supplies at the nearby mall (5 mins away), and when we got back past four pm, the temperature was more bearable, and it was easier to appreciate the resort. there was a free shuttle to and from the beach which is about 3 minutes away. the sand was very fine, the beach clean, the sunset view beautiful.

the younger kids had a lot of fun at the resort's mini playground, and at their kid's pool which doubled as jacuzzi which i and the older kids enjoyed later that night.

during dinner, we expected bigger servings for the prices on their menu. their inihaw na bangus was quite yummy.

we were all set to stay another night, the resort facilities were that enjoyable in spite of the basic room and noisy aircon. but, while the others slept soundly, three of us kept waking up because of pain and discomfort. the beds we slept on had lumps and the springs poked our backs. we decided to go back home the very next morning..

at breakfast the next day, we were given the wrong time for the buffet, so we missed it. they did give us breakfast but our meal took a long time to be ready since they were preparing for a wedding that afternoon. still, as paying guests, we should have been attended to more promptly..

el puerto marina has the potential to be a great resort, but it will have to improve staff services, food servings, as well as change their lumpy beds into comfortable ones. one more pool would also be a plus..

Room Tip: check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angeladelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

My family had the times of our lives when we had our stay in June 2010 at El Puerto Marina Beach Resort. The highlight of our stay is the place's ambiance, the beach and the food. The rooms are comfortable, its just a place to sleep anyway. Most of our stay is outdoors anyway. The breakfast is superb and we are always full. My daughters had the a fun time taking the photos and enjoyed the sand and the sceneries. They also liked the domestic animals in the area and the aviary.

Another highlight of our stay is the day tour to Hundred Islands Tourist Spot which is proximate to the resort. The boat ride and the island tour are one unforgettable experience for the family.

The best bonding moment for the family!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeDeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Hard to find through the backstreets of a scruffy area, the resort itself looks nice and the staff really are some of the best I've come across in the Philippines. There seems to be some truth in the suggestion that they are actually students (what a good idea - cheap and willing labour!). The food is quite good and not at all expensive. The pool is nice, but the beach doesn't look to be anything special although it wasn't really accessible when we were there due to flooding. But the disappointment was the room. Cramped, with poor furniture and dirty sheets, everything seemed worn out and uninviting. You certainly wouldn't feel relaxed. It smelt bad too(despite the overpowering use of deoderant blocks in the loo) and the facilities are poor when you consider this is not a cheap place to stay. The broadband was so incredibly slow it was useless. We won't be staying there again. Maybe it's just that it's seen better days. A refurb could change that.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter_Nikolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lingayen hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lingayen
33.6 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
34.6 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
104 reviews
39.9 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#2 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Star Plaza Hotel
Star Plaza Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dagupan
70 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#2 of 5 in Dagupan
89 reviews
39.5 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Don Martin Domingo St., Lingayen, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > Pangasinan Province > Lingayen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lingayen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming beach resort so quiet,with clean and comfortable rooms, nice and friendly staff, good local and fresh sea foods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Puerto Marina Beach Resort And Spa
El Puerto Marina Beach Hotel Lingayen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing