We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #6 of 58 Restaurants in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sunday, Monday& Thursday Special only £10.95.Free home delivery on orders over £15.00 (3 mile radius) 10% Discount on orders over £15.00 collection only.Booked a table for 4 or more and get bottle of wine. Booked 24 hour in advance to qualify.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

India gate looks nothing from outside but inside is a nice dining area and air conditioned
The food is very good the service is first class and in my opinion is by far the best Indian in the area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank junkie775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    49
    14
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my 70th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to this lovely Indian restaurant on 23rd June this year and I have to say it was one of the best Indian meals I've ever had - here or abroad. It was not expensive but was quite delicious - the staff were absolutely charming and made you feel as if it was only you that mattered. Wonderful ambience - beautifully clean with discreet background music. So good we are going again this Sunday. Can't rate it highly enough.

Vivienne Brimson

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VIVIENNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
846 reviews
534 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Old school Indian, good stuff, good staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nothing from the modern contemporary era here (hooray) old favourites abound on the menu and they come just as they have always done. I ate here twice and both meals spot on, nothing fancy, nothing unexpected, just good solid old style "Indian" staples. Never going to be cutting edge, but why should it be? Leave that to others. Good solid performer at decent prices with very friendly staff, a winner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brianthelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Food was excellent, and the prices very reasonable. service was friendly but a bit slow, but it was a busy Saturday night. Mid week and Sunday deals available, bottle of wine for table of 4. All in all an enjoyable evening will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Abedrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Indian restaurant is an absolute find! The food was excellent ~ better than many curry houses that we have tried in London and other towns and cities. The staff were helpful and charming. I can't wait to visit it again and look forward to eating their delicious curries!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lizholden60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Gate also viewed

 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing