We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST WE HAVE STAYED IN”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheatacre Hall Barns
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST WE HAVE STAYED IN”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the Wheatacre hall barns in March 2012 for a short break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The barn we stayed in was The Partridge for 2 people, it was so charming and everything you could possible want was there, even a tv at the end of the whirlpool bath so that you don't miss the soaps when your getting ready to go out lol! The area around the farm is so relaxing. The owners have thought of everything for families aswell with all the facilities they provide, and what a treat it was to go and watch the cows being milked and seeing the new calves. There is lots to do in the area and you can even swim for free.
Joanna is very welcoming. We will definately visit again.

Jo & Pete Madeley Derby

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMadeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I work overseas and visit the UK to visit family often, renting accommodation for the weeks at home. Since I found Wheatacre Barns I stay no were else. I researched holiday rentals in the area and have found no better accommodation, trust me, I am in the hotel business. This would be the equivalent to Leading Hotels or Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I was tired of renting accom and be disappointed.This is quality, very very clean, pet friendly, great amenities, a fantastic games room, jacuzzi, even shop with your basic farm fresh items, eggs, diary etc from the owners own herd. Joanna is there to take care of your every need. They even have a fantastic meal service were you can order in freshly prepared meals. Call ahead before you arrive and it's there. It really is excellent food! we had double baked smoked salmon souffles & fresh fish pie! amazing! I've stayed in Mallard, great with friends/family, Woodcock and recently Partridge and looking to return in the summer & winter. Relaxing, peaceful, regenerating. Wheatacre has got it right and they deserve success. It's location is excellent, on the Norfolk/Suffolk border, in the country yet between the bustling city of Norwich, Norfolk Broads & Gt Yarmouth and the market town of Beccles. Forget the rest, this is the best!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I spent the recent half term break in one of the 6 person barns and we had a fantastic time. The barns have been converted to an immaculate standard and although the shower heads could do with a descaling, it was a perfect location.

We arrived late one evening to find essentials like milk and tea already supplied as well as a nice selection of locally made biscuits - yum!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they even encouraged you to get involved with farm life like seeing new calves bein born or milking at the diary!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallymenaBazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We hired Teal Barn for 3 nights inbetween Xmas and New Year and weren't disappointed. We were greeted warmly by Joanna the owner who is always in her office on site. The barn itself is well equipped warm and comfortable. There were 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms so perfect for 3 couples to share. We enjoyed the hot tub at the end of the day and the games room is a great facility for all to share. You can buy diary essentials from the office shop which is really handy. You do need a car as the local pub is a decent walk away and on a dark night wouldn't be very appealing but Beccles, Lowestoft and Southwold all close by with lovely villages inbetween. Don't miss out - book now!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugbabe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed in Partridge barn which is for 2 people , the accomodation is outstanding with everything you could need and more, radio and ipod in lounge and bedroom which can be turned on in either room or both , tv in the bathroom, cows and pheasant 10 yards from your back door. The location is excellent for short trips to little villages and a short drive from Great Yarmouth.There are plenty of good pubs for meals or just enjoying a beer in front of roaring log fires, an excellent location supported by superb accomodation, great for couples and families alike

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moggie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Myself, my husband and our fourth month old baby stayed here for a week. We had a great time. Joanna the owner was so helpful and couldn't do more for us.
The area was great and right in the middle of lots of attractions.
The barn we stayed in was lovely and had everything we needed including a dishwasher, washing machine, fridge, freezer, iron and ironing board and lots more.
The bed was massive and really comfy and we all really enjoyed the spa bath with tv at the end of it!
I have probably missed things out but to sum up we will definitely go back and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Widgeon. My wife and I, my Mother, 2 young children and black lab. Accommodation is very roomy and finished to a high standard. Open plan downstairs makes for a nice family holiday environment. My 4 year old son loved his visit to see the cows being milked. And we had a great day out on a day boat on the Broads from the River Waveney Centre just 5 mins drive away.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
3.5 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
429 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
673 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatacre Hall Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatacre Hall Barns

Property: Wheatacre Hall Barns
Address: Wheatacre Hall Station Road | Wheatacre, Beccles NR34 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Beccles
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatacre Hall Barns 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star self- catering converted barns on a working dairy and arable farm. Located in South Norfolk in the Waveney Valley close the the North Suffolk boarder surrounded by the Southern Norfolk Broads. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheatacre Hall Barns Hotel Beccles
Wheatacre Hall Barns Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing