We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to go for a drink, meal or overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waveney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely place to go for a drink, meal or overnight stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Stayed overnight at the Waveney House Hotel. Have to say the staff are really accommodating and friendly. We arrived early evening and had dinner in the bar area which has a really warm atmosphere. Im a fussy eater but there were plenty of options for me on the menu and the chef was happy to cook to my specifications.
Would not hesitate to return as we were made to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debicooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    79
    44
    15
    27
See reviews for
66
107
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beccles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I have just been for a dinner date with my relations who have come from away.
We had drinks and dinner i found what i had was very nice the staff were very nice and helpful too and i would go there again.
Thank You

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul3166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

arranged to meet 6 friends for sunday lunch on the 5th of september. we couldnt book so we decided to arrive at 12 to make sure we could get a table togeather. now for the price. im sorry to say you have to get your own cutlery your own sauces and have to pay every time you go to the bar for drinks or food . why cant you pay at the end of the meal? for 8 people the main courses came to £75 not too bad but £47 for desserts A RIP OFF !!! even charged an extra pound for ice cream instead of cream , on average £5 .25 each. if you ordered apple tart you would expect a nice pastry case filled with apple oh no you wouldnt this resembled a vol-a-vent filled with apple and it was £5.25 . the staff were un helpfull looked as if they couldnt be bothered. would we go back ? a big definete NO.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terry1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We dropped into the Waveney House hotel for afternoon tea whilst on our summer break. We have visted before and enjoyed the location so decided to pay a return visit. Unfortunately it was raining a little but we were determined to stay out on the terrace by the riverside and keep the wasps company. They were somewhat numerous but they are a feature of English summers so I sat back and tried to relax despite the frantic flailing of my childrens arms as they sought to defend themselves from attack. My increasing sense of irritation was somewhat heightened by the sight of my wife hoveing into view with a tray less than creaking under the weight of tea and scones. I was about to raise some serious complaint about the lone piece of chocolate brownie sitting forlornley on a plate until I heard that it had cost £4.00! I wasn't quite sure at that point if we were intended to eat it or just sit and admire it. At least i am happy to confirm that it provided 4 mouthfulls, one for each of us. In summary, great location shame about the wasps and the high prices! We have not been totally put off but on a future visit we shall endeavour to make sure we have had something to eat before setting out and will make our capuccinos last that much longer. I have the feeling that this is another case of the turnover/customer costing formula which seems to be gaining in popularity.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlanddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Lovely hotel in a stunning location. Rooms are very nice although the beds are very soft & the walls are thin!
Staff were very friendly, had a very nice meal in the bar/conservatory, highly recommend the lasange but side order of chips covered in salt!
Great place to stay, would definately visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy_chappy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles Suffolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

My 60th birthday was to be enjoyed by my wife, mother, and sister at your restaurant.

After doing research on the available restaurants in the Beccles area we were impressed by your menu and spacious restaurant as depicted on your website; where we could enjoy a meal in relative peace and quiet.

After my wife spoke to reception on the phone as to the arrangement to book the restaurant for Saturday evening; she was advised it wasn't necessary; also enquired about the 'daily special board' and she was told this would be available to view on the night as it changes daily.

On arrival we were told the restaurant was no longer in use although at the entrance the permanent signeage clearly indicates a restaurant and seperate bar were available.

We were directed to the bar area; not what was expected as there was a lot of noise and dim lighting; we were told to order at the bar from the menu; we enquired what was available on the 'daily special board' only to be told that the menu was new and the chef was 'getting used to it' and there wasn't any 'special board' available, although this is clearly stated on the menu e-mailed to us by reception.

We ordered drinks at the bar; there wasn't any waiter/ waitress available which considering the pricey menu one would expect this service (as in a restaurant); the bar was sticky to the touch and we were then told the drinks would have to be paid for seperately and not added to the table bill which we found unusual practice.

Returning to the table which was also decidly sticky we decided we would finish our drinks and leave.

To sum up this was an awful experience considering what you promote and what is actually available. I believe this to contravene the Trades Description Act and will be taking advise from them and the Council.

This long awaited evening out with my immediate family was an absolute disaster and thank you for spoiling my birthday celebration.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robBecclesSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waveney1, Manager at Waveney House Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
We refer to your email letter of 22 November 2009, regarding your experience at the Hotel on the evening of Friday 20th November.

It is regrettable to learn that you feel the hotel responsible for ruining your 60th birthday, but here at the Waveney we pride ourselves on the welcome we extend to all our clients and your party would be no exception. The essence of this problem seems to be one of communication. As we no longer use the restaurant on a daily basis, the bar area is the only public dining area, for which we do not take reservations.

You state in your letter that you researched the available restaurants and were impressed by our menu, but then you go on to criticise the price and lack of ‘specials’. As far as we are aware the restaurant has not been ‘depicted on our website’ for some considerable time but the entire menu, including prices, has been the subject of an extensive advertising campaign in the last month in the local press.

Regarding your comments about the ‘noise and dim lighting’, this is something that other clients would refer to as ‘atmosphere’ within the bar. We are fortunate that a great deal of business is repeat custom and we have to say that the new menu has been particularly well received, so it is a great pity that you didn’t stay to at least sample to the food available.

In conclusion we repeat that it is our intention to ensure that all our clients enjoy their visit to the hotel, be it for lunch, dinner, accommodation or just a drink, but it appears from your comments that it is just not possible to satisfy all of the people all of the time – but we can assure you that we will not stop trying.

I thank you for your correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

A great small hotel in a charming little town. Our room was spacious, with a huge well equipped bathroom, and a great view of the river.
The town is only five minutes walk away and there is a good selection of shops and restaurants
The staff were helpful, breakfast was lovely and kept us full all day!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank out_and_about_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
9.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney House Hotel

Property: Waveney House Hotel
Address: Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waveney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waveney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney Hotel Beccles
Waveney House Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing