We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waveney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just called in for a couple of pints on the terrace, so cannot comment about the quality of food or rooms - all I can say is that the beer was good and so was the service. Dining area looks a bit too modern/sterile for me, and not very inviting, but I would give it a go if I was there at lunchtime. Will go back

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    84
    46
    16
    28
See reviews for
68
116
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights while attending a wedding and reception - the latter held within the hotels function suite.

This is a nice hotel in a great location overlooking the river with a pleasant outside terrace. It has 12 rooms, 7 of which I saw inside. All were well furnished and individual in style with some original features such as exposed beams. Two featured four poster beds and river views - others look out over the car park or towards the town centre.

Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. All had en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms lack showers - they have a shower attachment over the bath but no shower curtain or screen meaning that the shower attachment is not suitable for stand up use. Rooms were very hot at night but fans are provided in the rooms. Rooms also had a digital radio alarm clock which is a nice touch.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - on the first morning of our stay the service was prompt and efficient. The hot food order is taken at the table and food arrived quickly and was very nice. This was not the case on the second morning - service was very slow and some of our party were unimpressed with their breakfast.

Some of the staff are very pleasant and helpful - though others appeared disinterested - a more of a focus on consistent customer service is probably needed. All food and drink from the bar has to be paid for at the time of ordering - you cannot set up a tab, again a bit frustrating.

The function room itself for the wedding reception was well appointed, tables nicely decorated and the quality of the food was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 overlook the river and have four poster beds and large bathrooms. Rooms 3, 8 and 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snape, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

On Saturday 26th July 2014 my husband and I stopped at the Waveney Hotel for a drink. We have stopped for a drink several times before. The hotel is well presented with pleasant staff and an idyllic view of the broads. I had a glass of wine and my husband had a pint of Wherry which was very nice so we decided to have lunch. We both ordered grilled chicken which came with chips, mushroom, tomato, onion rings and salad and cost £11 each. I must say I was surprised when the meal arrived with a streak knife on the side of the plate. However, I soon discovered why, the chicken was so over cooked it was like leather. Unfortunately it got worse, the onion rings and chips were just swimming in grease and the mushroom was uncooked. I gave my chicken to my dogs as that was all it was fit for. I cannot understand how a hotel can employ a chef who is incapable of cooking the most basic meals. The food is on a par with an 80s basket meal from a pub not what you would expect from a well presented hotel and at restaurant prices. We will definitely not be eating there again, such a shame!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford le hope
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely river view and beautiful room overlooking. Clean hotel and there welcoming, when talking to staff and asking for places to visit and go. Nice atmosphere when sat in the bar, pleasant staff.

Food and drink well priced and the Breakfast was very filling.

Looking forward to going back again, will book longer next time.

Prices are not cheap but well worth it if you pay a little extra.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeeRSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

If a well-loved family member dies who is the last of their generation and a large, far-flung and warm-hearted family gather for their passing, the event may turn into a rather special reunion. And the Waveney was well up to the task. The late-lunchtime buffet for the wake was terrific - if anything there was too much food, which we hope didn't go to waste. At the last minute I was able to stay on overnight and the only room still left was the Riverside, facing right over the river and looking out over the beginning of the Norfolk Broads. The four-poster bed and the room itself were wonderful. Though I had paid quite a bit extra, I could see why. The smaller family dinner in the evening was excellent; we all enjoyed it and my roast belly pork was beautifully cooked and quite lean - certainly not too greasy. The next morning the range of cereals for breakfast was not that huge, but they are a small hotel with only 12 bedrooms so they don't have huge numbers of guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a small hotel, with a busy restaurant, in a nice location – on the river and just a short walk from the town centre.
We had an attic room (& en-suite) with a very sloping ceiling, so you need to mind your head! But the old beams in the room, and the slightly sloping and creaky floors gave it plenty of character. The room was quite small, but nicely decorated and furnished, well equipped (including a safe and tea/coffee making facilities) and clean. The en-suite was also very clean, and some nice toiletries were provided. There was a notice saying the shower wasn’t a stand-up shower (which was fairly obvious from the fact that it was a fairly short handheld attachment and there was no shower screen or curtain), so we had baths instead. … Fine for our one-night stay. We were warned that the wi-fi may not work in the room, but I couldn’t get it to connect in the restaurant either.
There is a pleasant riverside restaurant with seating inside and out. Ordering is from the bar rather than table service. We had the Adnams beer battered fish, which was excellent – the fillets of fish were huge – and crushed minted peas & pea shoots made a delicious accompaniment; however, the chips were disappointing - a bit soggy and too salty for my taste.
Breakfast offered a small selection of cereals and some fruit (mandarin & grapefruit segments) as well as the cooked breakfast options and tea/coffee, juices and toast/preserves. (I think you could also request other things from the breakfast menu.)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel bank holiday weekend attending a function and found the hotel and restaurant to be excellent , the service and staff were wonderful and the food and menu to be very good indeed , I would certainly recommend the food and we'll done everyone

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
508 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
34 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
430 reviews
9.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
323 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney House Hotel

Property: Waveney House Hotel
Address: Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waveney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waveney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney Hotel Beccles
Waveney House Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing