We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super location, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waveney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The public areas of this hotel are just that, public. The bar has lots of dining tables in, and a lovely conservatory area opens up to tables and chairs outside by the river waveney.
Very popular with us locals, as the food is not cheap but consistently good and the young staff are very agreeable. I recommend this to anyone and enjoy meeting up with friends here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 324 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had some friends over and we went for alight lunch, got a lovely table overlooking the river( we did go early). Havent been for quite a while and not sure but think that the menu had expanded since then
The specials looked good too.
Had the sea bass which was delicious. You dont get served to collect you order you make it at the bar which is ok. Good ambience, good company, good service. food was lovely, price ok.
Felt as if you had been out

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PEGGYPUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just recently had my wedding at this hotel. It was amazing from start to finish. From the moment we booked the wedding we had all the help we could ask for. The hotel is so clean and well run. The rooms are amazing and the honeymoon suite is huge. Great if you have a huge dress. Abbey who runs the weddings is amazing. Friendly and incredibly helpful. Puts you at ease immediately. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziefletcherking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A wonderful wekend was had in a relaxing setting. The quaint and Individual bedroom was very comfortable with a large clean en-suite. Room had excellent quality furnishings.
All the staff were extremely obliging, had great sense of humor and nothing was to much trouble, including coping with changing of food orders and putting more wood on the open fire for us to sit by in the evening! The food was of high quality and reasonably priced.
Great to see local draft beer and cider on tap. Watching the river on a bright Febuary morning was blissful ,following a wonderful family wedding and reception held at the hotel.
Thank you to all who work at the Waveney in providing a great weekend break.

Room Tip: First floor room was over main reception area, so could be a bit noisy. Side view of river could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A big thank you to Michael and his team especially Abbey, who made our sons wedding a fantastic occasion. The staff could not be more polite or helpful, nothing was any trouble to them, the food was plentiful and tasty and the rooms were well presented and each had its own character. They even made a special effort with breakfast where the set up for 20 of us to set together and have breakfast served all at once. Once again a huge thank you for making Matt & Lizzie's day so special we will certainly be recommending this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank June K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was cold , we couldn't stand in the shower because of the ceiling height and the room sloped down and you felt like you were on a boat in fact i think one side of the building was sloping down.

Breakfast ok but nothing to shout about!

Room Tip: ask about the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have been going to the Waveney House Hotel for lunch, a pint or coffee for a number of years and had no hesitation in choosing them for our Wedding reception meal and we are so glad that we did. The food was delicious and the staff were excellent and professional, they even picked up some soya ice cream at short notice.

A special thanks goes to Glenn the Food and Beverage Manager. Thank you for the coffee's and laughs while we set up the room the night before, for your patience while we were waiting for some guests to arrive and thank you for making our special day even more special.

We will be back soon :-)

Adele & Jonathan

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeleC1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
537 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
480 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
42 reviews
9.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney House Hotel

Address: Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range: $129 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waveney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waveney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney Hotel Beccles
Waveney House Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing