We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waveney House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Kings Head Hotel(Beccles)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waveney Inn(Burgh St Peter)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wherry Hotel(Oulton Broad)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winelodge Hotel(Lowestoft)
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
153
98
56
19
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
98
56
19
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverfour poster bedfish and chipslovely hotelfunction roommy wifeslarge bathroombirthday meallovely riversidestand up showerspecials boardsit outsidehome townwatch the boatslovely eveninghotel is situatedcar park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here just the one night on a recent cycling tour. Very efficient welcome, all ready to store bikes and welcome us. We ate both evening and breakfast in the hotel bar/restaurant. Two young guys served , were really professional but friendly and helpful too.
Room was great. I will visit again. Sitting in the concervatory bar/restaurant for a drink and meal was a pleasure. Great view out to the river and boats there on.

Room Tip: I was in room 2. A tad awkward to get through a small lobby to access the room. Small price to pay for a great standard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furtherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place should be a gem, but instead struggles to cope with any volume of customers. On this occasion they 'kindly' opened the restaurant but it was freezing. Food was better than on previous visits but not outstanding.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed in this charming hotel for one night while attending a wedding locally. The staff could not do enough for us and were very attentive. We had a large clean room with a huge bathroom. It is decorated nicely, but obviously a very old building with the beams; and you go downhill as you walk across the bathroom, which all adds to the charm. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on the food. But breakfast was lovely in the morning and we sat in the conservatory overlooking the river with the sun shining which was really nice. I left my phone charger in the room and they kindly sent it on for me. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderingmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The hotel room was modern and spacious yet you knew it was in an old building as the floor wasn't true and felt like it was moving when you walked on it. All of that just added to the charm of the building. Breakfast was excellent and the service was good (polite and professional). It's in a very picturesque location by the river. Pack the wellies for a morning walk along the public footpath by the river. Would stay again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mick189932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited this hotel with 5 other members of my family and had a very enjoyable time.

We found the hotel charming, with an excellent location on the river.It is very close to the Town- about two minutes walk, but is tucked away. The rooms were very attractive and clean and the food and service was very good. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant /bar was located in the conservatory directly overlooking the river and it had a patio.

Car parking was very easy. I could heartily recommend the hotel to others as a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay with a nice atmosphere.

It was also a good base for us to visit Southwold and other Suffolk towns.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hay56, General Manager at Waveney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and hopefully we shall see you all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews