We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good indeed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waveney House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waveney House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed here on several occasions on business an old house converted to a hotel on the river but close enough to the town and main road very enjoyable

Room Tip: The best room is the honeymoon suite but it is exra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    77
    42
    13
    27
See reviews for
65
104
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having just visited for a family lunch, ages 85 to 15 months, I have to say the food was absolutely great! It was a very busy lunchtime, as can be expected in the school holidays ,with all the tables full, both inside and outside.The summer menu had something to suit all tastes the presentation beautiful, I can thoroughly recommend the seared Tuna steak....delicious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janalderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have stayed at the Waveney Hotel twice and on both occasions I think it was overpriced . The room are clean (one has a sloping floor and a shower 3 foot up the wall), but thats about it. The receptionist is a bit hit and miss, meals are expensive, the few staff present that I dealt with were not very good, and the manager not much better. Service isn't very good, breakfast was farcical one morning, with initially lack of service which developed into slow and poor service.

It is in a nice setting but there are better hotels in the area which I now use. I wouldn't go back it isn't worth it.

Room Tip: View room before you accept your paying a decent price make sure you get a room that reflects this c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurgoland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Odered food from the bar...... and waited. Place was busy, but no food after 40 mins so it was time to ask a waitress what was happening. We watched her go over to the manager, who looked concerned and disappeared into the kitchen.......

...... but didn't reappear. 5 mins passed and then nearly 10, but no sign of him or our food. Just about to demand refund when young lad appears with food, which he puts on the table in a perfectly reasonable way..... but says nothing.

"Er, weren't you told to say anything?" says I. "Oh. Er, do you want any sauces?", says he. Poor kid. He was only about 16, and it just wouldn't have been fair to take it out on him. I wonder how many people would have, though. Lamb to the slaughter, or what? Evidently, aforementioned manager wasn't paying attention when he did his 'how to look after your staff' training. I asked for him to be summoned.

You won't be surprised, dear reader, that we got a bumbling, mumbling apology of the sort that did little to impress. Clearly out of his depth, he proposed that he would come back once we had eaten out food.

Yes, we did eat it...... well, it was getting late and we were off to an event afterwards so had no time left to find somewhere else. I had battered haddock, which was not bad at all...... but it was huge, just like , many of the other meals we had seen brought out. But, the fish was so big (and the plate correspondingly small) that it was sat on top of what might have been nice chips, but which rapidly went soggy though being covered. The small bowl of salad was already limp for much the same reasons. I ended up leaving a lot of my meal. Most uncharacteristic.

Time to go.... we were late already. No sign of the manager.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank silverkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I called The Waveney midweek to try and book a table in the Restaurant for my family including my Godmother who is 91 but got the answer phone, so I left a message with my request and my telephone number for them to call me back. I called again the next day having received no return call and was advised that the Restaurant was now fully booked, but that it would be possible to eat in the bar restaurant.
Arriving at the Hotel we ordered drinks at the bar but were told that we could not put them on our tab but had to pay for them there and then. We sat down and looked at the menu which was offering 2 courses for £10 which comprised of a starter and a main. We all selected our preferences but my Godmother said she would rather have a pudding than a starter. We went to the bar to order but were told that this was not possible as puddings were not part of the deal. OK fair enough but we still had to pay £10 for the main course on its own. I have to say that the female bar Tender was uninterested in any form of welcome or customer service so did not create a good initial impression. We then had to pay for the meals (this was the second payment we had made at the bar) and select our cutlery wrapped in paper napkins from a side table. Things went from bad to worse as the service was the most dreadful I have ever experienced. The waitress constantly dropped cutlery and forgot to collect half the crockery once we had finished our meal. She also seemed completely uninterested in her job and the people she was serving. The food was very average although nicely presented but to be honest the irritation factor had already spoilt the meal for me. We then made a third journey to the bar to order puddings (again a seperate payment) My Aunt asked for some cream with her pudding as it looked a little dry and the waitress arrived with a thimble full of cream in a tiny container! Just astonishing! At no time were we asked if we needed anything else or if everything was alright so needless to say we did not leave a tip and I would never return to this venue even though my Aunt lives in Beccles and it is in a very handy and lovely location next to the River.
Such a shame as our lunch party was completely spoilt and I am considering callling the Manager to complain directly as I feel like I have been treated so badly.
Avoid it at all costs as there are btter places to go believe me!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulsmith5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

Stayed overnight at the Waveney House Hotel. Have to say the staff are really accommodating and friendly. We arrived early evening and had dinner in the bar area which has a really warm atmosphere. Im a fussy eater but there were plenty of options for me on the menu and the chef was happy to cook to my specifications.
Would not hesitate to return as we were made to feel really welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debicooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

I have just been for a dinner date with my relations who have come from away.
We had drinks and dinner i found what i had was very nice the staff were very nice and helpful too and i would go there again.
Thank You

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul3166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waveney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waveney House Hotel

Property: Waveney House Hotel
Address: Puddingmoor, Beccles NR34 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waveney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waveney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waveney Hotel Beccles
Waveney House Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing