We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best meal out for a very long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satis Cafe - CLOSED

Satis Cafe
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal out for a very long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took my mother to one of the first bistro nights. She is a very very fussy eater. She cannot stand garlic, or herbs, or any fancy stuff. They were more than happy to accommodate and served up a fantastic looking dinner with all the fancy bits removed, and she loved it. We on the other hand prefer all the trimmings and got them. This was easily one of the best meals I have ever had. A good combination of items on the menu, great quality ingredients, and fantastic taste.

So not only have we got a local restaurant that serves up great food, we also have somewhere to take my mother.

The staff and friendly, professional, and attentive.

All in all a perfect night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    17
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't you just hate it when there's nothing to complain about?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Bistro evening at The Satis cafe. EVERYTHING was just wonderful. The quality of the perfectly cooked food was exceptional, the price was unbelievable and the level of service was beyond reproach. This is a much needed cure for the dreadful food served up else where, you really get what you pay for and in this case you get much much more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant ambiance...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I met a friend here having read the reviews and we were not disappointed. The menu was fine with an interesting and diverse specials menu board. We chose the salmon (it had a pesto crust but was cooked for me without; thank you), green veg and new pots and my friend had the home made burger served with skinny fries and a pot of home made coleslaw. They were both delicious and beautifully presented. The staff serving were efficient, friendly and well informed. We then went for a wander round the garden centre and came back for a pot of tea and then settled the bill. Although we didn't partake (for calorie reasons....) the selection of cakes was quite frankly awesome and the sponges were the deepest and most delicious looking home made cakes I have seen in some time. I would definitely eat here again whether I wished to look for plants of not! Well done and thank you for a very pleasant lunch. If I wanted to make one tiny criticism the ladies loo could do with an upgrade... clean but very dated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went for lunch here purely on reviews on trip advisor. We were not dissapointed. Ok, its not the cheapest nor the most expensive. Superbly attentive staff , excellent food, low wait times. Dont waste your money at the crazily overpriced twyfords in beccles, come here for some real value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ramble82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Inevitable cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We returned after a few months gap to find that further improvements had been made with outdoor seating and a bar. Summer evening meals are promised. Great choices of light bites (which didn't look that light!) and full meals.
My wife had a new spaghetti dish with anchovy, tuna, capers and olives. I was allowed a miniscule taste and it was outstanding. My barbecued ribs were great - you cannot go wrong with pork in Suffolk. I thought I would have a cake instead of a dessert and chose the smallest, a date slice. I like bakers' date slices; this was from a different world - rich and smooth. Also, I was assured that it was totally calorie-free!
Service was friendly and the food came quickly. As Satis House Hotel, there is nothing to fault.
And the inevitable cost? After lunch we walked around the garden centre that sells many specialised plants - we found that we could squeeze a gingko tree into the car to take home. I'm developing a shade area in the garden and had to have it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Satis Cafe also viewed

Beccles, Suffolk
Beccles, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing