We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Right in the centre of Beccles, we were very happy with this hotel. Comfortable, friendly, well equipped and convenient. Mind your head if tall like us and in an upper room and look out for the short cuts to the rooms but the beams and corridors add to the feel of this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthlincsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights 18th to 20th August. Really quaint, comfortable and clean room, shower/wet room well designed, towels lush. Bed comfy, Staff attentive, meals excellent value for money. Right in the middle of Beccles with plenty of outside garden space. Very close to several beaches, lovely area. Look forward to returning,

Room Tip: Although room 2008 is lovely, there is an extractor fan on the roof which can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What a lovely meal, very well cooked, well done wetherspoons, the menu is loads better and the service here was amazing as the restaurant was sooo busy. We all really enjoyed our meals and a lovely atmosphere for families and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherineDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The refurbishment of the previous buildings has been carried out with sensitivity and style. The vast public areas are an interesting hodge podge of different sizes and styles. The bar has a wide selection of excellent real ales. Food is very good, standard JDW fare. Well presented, tasty and for the price, a real steal.

The room we had was large and very well furnished. Bathroom fittings for example are not the cheapest (Grohl) and all the refurb work has been carried out to a high standard.

It is worth remembering when booking a JDW hotel that they are extremely popular places and popular with those who like a beer or two. Hence - expect some noise till the bar shuts (12:00 midnight). The vacuuming and furniture moving has to happen some time. If you sleep lightly, you'll notice this happens about 0300.

I would easily come back here and would urge anyone thinking about it to book up and go. Beccles is a lovely town with a lot to see if you like stately, impressive houses and buildings or walking by the river.

The only thing I urge JDW to sort out Is the availability of Gluten Free bread products. There was nothing available at breakfast on our first morning and as (eg) Tesco sell (GF) wraps, rolls, seeded cobs, brown loaves, pitta breads, sliced loaves, ciabatta breads, nan breads, muffins and crumpets, there really is no excuse for having nothing available.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher than 1st floor to avoid noise from bars below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently spent a second weekend at this hotel. A derelict old hotel has been wonderfully restored by Wetherspoons. Wheres Beccles you ask, its about fifteen miles from Norwich Yarmouth even nearer to Lowestoft and Southwold. The Norfolk Broads are a ten minute walk from the hotel. Beccles is a lovely old market town.
We had a corner room facing the market square,a good size and very comfortable, food in the hotel is normal Wetherspoon fayre plus a good selection of drinks and twelve real ales.The staff are all very efficient and friendly and we look forward to another short break very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room at weekend,the back rooms overlook the courtyard and is very popular with drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldpostieipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the local attrections that are near to our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights avd have to say I was very impressed

The room we stayed in ( slightly more expensive one I think comparatively ?) was just fantastic and well exceeded expectations. It was imaginatively furnished and managed to combine the feeling of being light and airy with a certain coziness too

Shower wasn't very powerful but was still lovely

We were facing the main entrance rather than the beer garden and I've never had such a peaceful nights sleep - no noise from the pub at all! Not sure if it would be different on the other side or not.

Excellent having spoons just below for a decent breakfast too!
Good location in centre of town and cheap parking near by was a bonus too

All in all I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon100123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just returned for a short break at The Kings Head Hotel in Beccles with my husband and two boys 7 and 2. Such a lovely hotel, staff were extremely helpful and friendly and room was amazing in every way. I was a bit concerned it being above a pub, we were directly above the courtyard and could hear some chatter but it certainly did not bother us or my children or prevent us from getting a great nights sleep. Stunning location, parking £3 for 24 hours just a street away. Weather spoons have done an excellent job and we would have stayed another night however on enquiring they were fully booked boo hoo! Probably one of the nicest places I have stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexhumphrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee U, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Kings Head Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.2 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
338 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Hatfield
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
Travelodge Lowestoft Hotel
#5 of 10 in Lowestoft
365 reviews
6.3 mi away
Wherry Hotel
Wherry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oulton Broad
514 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: 4 - 6 New Market, Beccles NR34 9HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beccles
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head Hotel in Beccles is a 17th century coaching hotel which has just been fully refurbished and is situated in the centre of this lovely market town of Beccles in Suffolk. All 20 rooms are en-suite and include tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning, hair dryer and flat screen TV. The Kings Head Hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the river and Beccles quay. The perfect meeting place in the centre of the bustling market town of Beccles where you can enjoy a drink and simply watch the world go by. Due to our central location we do not have any parking spaces available, we advise that you use a local car park on Newgate, which is about a 5 minure walk from us.FREE WIFI AVALIBLE. 24 Hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing