We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and stylish boutique hotel”
Review of The Swan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swan House
Ranked #5 of 10 Beccles B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Exceptional attention to detail and exquisite furnishings make the rooms a delight to stay in. We enjoyed a relaxing three day break with a wonderful three course breakfast each morning. We did not venture far although the surrounding area is interesting and varied. We ate in the restaurant every night where there is a good choice from the a la carte or house menu. We are planning to return and will definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thanks JA, I can never hear it enough' that the year's torment in creating what we have, means so much to so many, in the short time we been offering our beautiful rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Wow! What a hotel, the rooms were fantastic, clean, spacious, cosy! Not a thing out of place! The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much to ask for! Such a fantastic meal and a wonderful breakfast!! We sat cosy by the open fire drinking lovely wine being looked after by the staff. This hotel made our short overnight stay a night to remember. We will definitely be going back here! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your generous comments, which means so much to our staff, as well as Carmel and myself

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from a visit to Suffolk staying one night at the Swan House Inn. We also had dinner on the evening and the whole experience was really lovely, especially the service. The food was great and reasonable, and the rooms beautifully finished off and very unique.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you David, the staff really appreciated your comments regarding their service and we are very please to have given you a fine time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were spending Christmas visiting friends in Suffolk and Norfolk and needed somewhere to stay in a central location. We selected The Swan House at Beccles from our research on the web and what a good decision we made. Just the place to spend a few days in the winter - and I am sure - the summer too.

The bar and restaurant area were warm and welcoming, the staff could not be faulted, the food was just what we wanted - and the bedroom (Eln) was lovely - comfortable, interesting and slightly quirky - and so quiet we overslept on our second night.

Congratulations to Rol& and his team - we need more small hotels like this around the country.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldfinch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your supportive words of our new small hotel. Much appreciated by all at Swan House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After enjoying our Christmas meal at the Swan House for the past 2 years, we decided this year to treat ourselves to a night's stay too in one of the newly completed rooms. We stayed in the Eln room and were treated to chocolate brownies, a fire and guided tour from Roland on arrival. The room was tastefully decorated with great attention to detail and a luxurious feel. A perfect meal in the restaurant was followed by a short walk back to our room and a great night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was to die for. Continental and Full English along with fresh OJ and freshly ground coffee all included. It was the personal touches I appreciated most: lighting the fire in our room, a free filter coffee brought to the room as the sachets had finished, our choice of newspaper brought to the breakfast table to read over breakfast etc. and NOTHING being too much trouble. This place comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roli505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Sorry for not responding sooner to your excellent review of Swan House. I'm very pleased we made your visit so worth while

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

As local people we visit Swan House for the delicious food and comfortable ambiance on a regular basis. The experience is always a pleasure and we feel lucky to be able to walk and enjoy a superb meal in the locality. Much to our surprise we recently won a prize which allowed us to stay for the night with breakfast included. The experience was amazing. We have stayed in several first class hotels around Europe and can honestly say this hotel on our doorstep is equally as good. The room felt homely and was very comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean and well presented. The breakfast was excellent. We now recommend Swan House as a hotel of high quality and individuality to all our friends and relatives. If it was not in our home town we would be booking a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland B, Owner at The Swan House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

I'm pleased Zoe you found our food great, and obviously disappointed you thought we were disorganised. However I shall explain that your pre-order, unbeknown to us, went into a 'spam filter' and as soon as you pointed out you had emailed us your order, we searched and found it within minutes. I think you have misunderstood my point regarding child portions. You asked for a reduction for your son, who I believe you said was twelve. I pointed out to you that in my experience most twelve year old lads will 'out eat' most adult woman! However, my solution was less a case of 'backing down', more of finding a 'Soloman's solution', by offering you a reduction if your son only wanted two courses. You thanked me for the offer and that is why we didn't offer a third course to your lad. As you know, and as I suggested, he ate all three! The one point I agree with and sincerely apologise for, concerned your deposit. Once again, I am pleased you really enjoyed your lunch, however I do feel your score of 3 stars is unreasonable for the quality of food, table service, ambiance and price paid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Swan House with my partner recently and we were completely delighted with every aspect of our visit.

The ancient building itself is absolutely beautiful and the interior has been decorated to combine a sympathetically traditional feel with modern and luxurious touches.

After an amazing dinner, we entered our room to find that there was a blazing fire in the grate and a nightcap awaiting us. The bed was so comfortable and we snuggled up to watch a film on Netflicks which was installed in the large TV over the fireplace. It felt truly idyllic.

The breakfast in the morning was the most delicious I think I have ever tasted. We started with fresh orange juice, tea and coffee and a platter of fruit, cheeses, parma ham, muesli, croissants and jam and (although we were pretty full by that point) we then went on to a cooked breakfast of sausages, bacon, eggs, hash browns and tomatoes. It was all fabulous and completely set us up for the cold winters day. Best of all, it was all included in the price of the room.

I would say that the Swan House is quite simply the best place to stay for miles and miles around. The friendly welcome and attention to detail is outstanding and leaves you feeling that you've been truly spoilt!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was the Eln Room, but we did get a guided tour of the other rooms and they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beccles hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swan Motel
The Swan Motel
#1 of 10 in Beccles
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dawn Chorus Holidays - The Pines
2.9 mi away
The Stables
The Stables
#6 of 10 in Beccles
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan House

Address: 34 New Market | (Near the Church Tower), Beccles NR34 9HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Price Range: $96 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the bustling, traditional market town of Beccles, the Swan House offers beautiful and idiosyncratic room-only accommodation. Our distinctive rooms provide the perfect, cozy base from which to explore the Suffolk heritage coast, the Norfolk Broads and beyond. East Anglia at her most beautiful and varied is literally on the doorstep. After an intrepid day of exploring, come back to a delicious meal in our characterful restaurant, and a good night's sleep in a room designed to provide every comfort. Indulge in fully sprung mattresses, crisp white bedding and flat screen TV's. And all of this in a convivial setting, with open fires to warm you in the depths of winter, and al fresco dining throughout the warmer months. PLEASE NOTE: The Swan House Restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment and will re-open in April 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing