We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Return”
Review of The Plough Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Plough Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Beccles B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Happy Return”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our 3rd visit but several months since last occasion.2 nights with Tickles voucher.Dan and his staff have maintained the quality of their welcome and service.Comfortable rooms and these are clean as is the bar and restaurant. We ate both evenings at The Plough and had delicious meals.
Breakfast is also very good.Much of the food is locally sourced well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
26
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Plough. Ample space in the room and bathroom, with a great power shower. Lovely friendly ambience inside the pub itself, excellent friendly staff and service. Food could not be faulted. Very generous breakfast with good quality ingredients and excellent evening meals (although a limited menu).Recommended.

Room Tip: Phone direct for best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at the plough to have lunch with my 3 and 1 year old. Lovely looking pub inside and out with a brand new play area outside. Once inside it was unclear who the staff were, no greeting or anything! The 1 member of staff who was on was wearing flip flops and no clear uniform, not a very warm welcome. Bar was not very well stocked up. The food was lovely and seemed home cooked as described, although no high hair or small cutlery offered for the kids I had to get up lots and ask! Will not hurry back much friendlier and welcoming pubs in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Publoving84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Saw the plough and it looked great from the outside, as did the restaurant inside.
We both ordered the steak pie, how we wished we had not. All it was, was a heated up pie out of a foil container that consisted of a very small amount of very very tough meat. The saute potatoes were crushed new potatoes pushed into a ring. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent Easter Saturday night there, as we were unable to get into Southwold, and I have to say, we were very pleased with our stay. We didn't eat in the resteraunt that night, but lots of people were. Lovely atmosphere in the bar with Hank the dog as entertainment. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom a little tired in places, but the power shower more than made up for it. And an excellent breakfast in he morning. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We headed to the plough for motherlaws 70th birthday.When we walked in the door we realised there was a party with children in restaurant. First thoughts oh no noisy kids.But what a surprise: a table of about 14 for a16th birthday and how wonderful to see such polite people and children.The meal we had was absolutely wonderful. The staff (henry &Chloe) were very attentive to all our needs.The food was well above our expectations for a pub and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just spent 3 days and 3 nights at the Plough Inn. We have stayed in many B&Bs in the past and consider that we are giving a fair and balanced opinion here. We found Dan to be a superb landlord, his manner and flair would be hard to match, his easy going nature does not detract from his obvious professionalism and goal of making you feel looked after.

Our room had a couple of minor problems (I found the bed and pillows to be too soft, but that is personal to me). The Plough is on the A12 road, but we were not bothered by road noise (we stayed in Room 4).

The entrance hall was great for coats, shoes, bags etc....the bedroom was huge with one double and one single bed, and a couple of chairs. The bathroom had a double power shower and a bath....the whole place was well heated.

We had the best breakfasts ever, the bacon was particularly good no water in this quality produce.

We ate dinner on 2 out of the 3 nights at the Plough and again the meals were first class.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Plough and we will stay again if we are in the area.

There is a superb log burning fire in the bar and once you sit down you really are loathe to move.

We must finally mention 'Hank', Dan's dog,he is just a few months old and is a real character. He is around the bar area, but Dan will ask if you mind, and if you do Hank will be taken elsewhere.

We understand from talking with some of the locals, that Dan has been in charge since October, so early days really, but we sincerely wish him all the best for the future.

The Wilbys
GOSPORT
Hampshire

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms so we would think any would be fine...we had Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWILBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
7.5 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: High Street | Wangford, Beccles NR34 8AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
The Plough Inn Wangford Hotel Beccles
The Plough Inn Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing