We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently excellent: warm and welcoming”
Review of Saltgate House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beccles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltgate House
Ranked #1 of 10 Beccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We're regular visitors to both Beccles and Saltgate House and the excellent accommodation on offer at Saltgate House makes a massive difference to our stay. A beautiful listed building in the heart of the town, there's a nice lounge with a big selection of DVDs should you not fancy going out. The rooms are all a good size, clean and comfortable, and the en-suite bathrooms are all modern with a power shower. Breakfast is always excellent, with a good choice of both times and food options - if you want it, they'll try their best to provide it!
Carol and Steve could not be more helpful; nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, even going so far as to help you plan your stay outside the B&B as much as they can. In the last year, they've kindly kept us tickets for both Beccles Ghost and History Walks (both of which are also recommended!).
We always look forward to going to Beccles, and the opportunity to stay with Carol and Steve again is a large part of that.

Room Tip: One of the rooms at the front has a four-poster bed should you be feeling extravagant - rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 130 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

Easy to find, once you've negotiated the Beccles one way system anyway, Saltgate House is a handsome blue-painted town house in the heart of the Suffolk town. We were greeted warmly by Carol and taken up stairs to our cosy twin room overlooking the pretty garden. The beds were gloriously comfortable, a benefit we appreciated particularly on rolling into them after a late night wedding party nearby. The room was so quiet and the thick curtains so good at keeping out the morning light I was quite resentful at having to get up for 9.30 breakfast - why do B and Bs never allow lie-ins??! The bathroom was a bit small, too small in fact to accomodate a towel rail! The shower was wonderfully powerful but had a mind of its own and drenched the entire room as soon as you turned it on. Breakfast was very tasty with fruit and cereals followed by a well cooked full English.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The excellent service my Dad Pete and I received at Saltgate House B & B was so good that I felt compelled to let others know!
We arrived and were greeted by Carol who offered to carry my Dad's case, shown into the comfy living room and shortly after Steve presented us with a tray of tea and biscuits and a handy map of Becccles. This was such a pleasant surprise and just what we needed that it put us in a good mood straight away.
After mentioning to Carol that we would be walking alot during our stay she brought us a couple books to help us out, it was this thoughtfulness ( just one example of many ) that really stood out for us, as well as the great location, comfy room for three nights and excellent breakfasts.
I am not given over to gushy sentiments but credit where credit is due they really do care about their guests.
As for our map reading skills and sense of direction no amount of books is going to cure that I'm afraid but it did give us all a good laugh.
Thanks Carol and Steve.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Have just returned from a short break to Beccles in the Waveney Valley where we stayed with Carol & Steve at Saltgate House. Cannot praise them enough for their hospitality, friendliness and willingness to accomodate us. Nothing was too much trouble as they made every effort to make us as comfortable as possible during our short break.

As an escape from London this is a haven only a few hours away with a comfy bed and fabulous breakfast to set you up for a day exploring the tranquil countryside...I think Carol & Steve even organised the gorgeous weather...though they said they didn't!!!

See you again soon - Claire & David Mitchell

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banjyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Ideally situated right in Beccles, our room was a tad small and so was shower, felt the place could do with a vacuum. Hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzlightyearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

All I needed was a cheap and cheerful bed for the night. What I got was an en suite 4-poster double bedroom and a fantastic full english breakfast all for the bargain price of £45!

Located riht in the centre of the lovely market town of Beccles, a short drive from the lovely East Anglian coast and Norwich.

Perfect base for visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveholdenmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend at Saltgate, situated in the heart of Beccles. Lovely B and B. Rooms clean, beds comfortable, great location and easy to park. Breakfast was tasty, freshly cooked to orderand plenty of it. But the nicest part of the stay was the welcome we recieved from Carol and Steve, what a lovely couple, nothing was too much trouble and they really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Have already booked to return again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beccles
0.1 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
323 reviews
9.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
925 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
741 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltgate House

Address: 5 Saltgate, Beccles NR34 9AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Beccles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Beccles
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Saltgate House Beccles, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing